The West Kowloon Cultural District Authority is presenting a eight week exhibition at the City Gallery to introduce the Hong Kong Palace Museum project to the public as part of a public consultation process. Among other things, the public consultation will collect public views on the design, operation, programming, and the learning and interpretation opportunities of the Hong Kong Palace Museum.

The building of a new world class museum that is dedicated to the display and interpretation of artefacts from the renowned Palace Museum is a significant addition to the cultural fabric of the West Kowloon Cultural District (WKCD).

Located on the harbourfront next to the Art Park at the western end of the District, the Hong Kong Palace Museum will join the M+ museum of visual culture, the Freespace, the Lyric Theatre Complex and the Xiqu Centre to provide local and international visitors to the District a diverse range of cultural facilities and experience.

The development of a Hong Kong Palace Museum is the result of a unique collaborative arrangement between the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority and the Palace Museum under which the latter’s exquisite collection can be loaned to the Museum on a long-term basis. The Hong Kong Palace Museum is not a branch museum of the Palace Museum, and will be operated and managed by the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority with its own professional staff and as an art and cultural facility of the District.

This project has been made possible thanks to a generous donation of $3.5 billion by the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust which will be used to fund the costs of design and construction of the Hong Kong Palace Museum.

The signing of the Memorandum of Understanding between the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority and the Palace Museum on 23 December 2016 signifies the first steps as well as a commitment from both sides to take forward the Hong Kong Palace Museum project in WKCD. There is still a lot to be done: the Design Consultant will have to refine his design ideas and come up with a design for the Museum. Going forward, we will need to work out the internal design of the exhibition galleries, map out the themes and programmes for the long term and thematic exhibitions and plan learning and interpretation activities to be held in the Museum.

We welcome your comments and suggestions on what you would like to see, covering both hardware and software, in the Hong Kong Palace Museum.

西九文化區管理局於中環展城館舉辦為期六星期的展覽,為公眾介紹博物館構思,以及收集公眾對博物館設計、營運、節目和教學及詮釋活動的意見。

在香港興建一座全新的世界級博物館,專門展示和詮釋故宮博物院聞名遐邇的稀世珍寶,將進一步豐富西九文化區的文化底蘊。

香港故宮文化博物館位處文化區西端毗鄰藝術公園的臨海優越地段。區內設施還包括M+視覺文化博物館、自由空間、演藝綜合劇場和戲曲中心,為到訪文化區的市民及遊客提供多元的文化設施和體驗。

香港故宮文化博物館的創建,是西九文化區管理局與故宮博物院一項獨特合作安排的成果,根據合作安排,香港故宮文化博物館可長期借用故宮的珍貴藏品。香港故宮文化博物館不是故宮博物院的分館,它將由西九文化區管理局全權負責營運和管理,並有其獨立的專業團隊,是文化區內的一項藝術文化設施。

管理局能推展此項目,全賴香港賽馬會慈善信託基金慷慨捐贈35億元,捐款將用以承擔香港故宮文化博物館的設計及興建等資本成本。

西九文化區管理局與故宮博物院在2016年12月23日簽署合作備忘錄,標誌著雙方推展香港故宮文化博物館項目的第一步及承諾。需要進行的工作仍有很多:設計顧問將優化其概念設計以得出博物館的設計;接下來,我們亦需計劃博物館展廳的內部設計、長期展覽和專題展覽的主題和節目,以及教學和詮釋活動。

歡迎你就香港故宮文化博物館在硬件和軟件的發展提出意見和建議。