In light of the current situation, Matinee Performances due to take place from 23 September to 16 December 2020 and Teacher Training Workshop due to take place on 12 September 2020 (Saturday) have been cancelled.


Programme for September - December 2020

Matinee Performances

Date:
23 September 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
25 September 2020 (Friday) - Cancelled 
30 September 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
7 October 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
9 October 2020 (Friday) - Cancelled
14 October 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
16 October 2020 (Friday) - Cancelled
21 October 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
28 October 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
4 November 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
6 November 2020 (Friday) - Cancelled
11 November 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
13 November 2020 (Friday) - Cancelled 
18 November 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
25 November 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
2 December 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
4 December 2020 (Friday) - Cancelled
16 December 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled

Time:
Session 1: 1:30pm–4:15pm
Session 2: 2:30pm–5:15pm
(Participants attend one session only. Each session lasts approximately 2 hours 45 minutes.) 

Venue:
Xiqu Centre

Programme:
Wind and Percussion Music–The Song of Victory
Cantonese Operatic Singing–Taking the Head from Gaoping Pass (Selected Verses)
Music Ensemble Performance–The Sound of Thunder During Drought
Excerpt Performances 

  • “The Fragrant Sacrifice” from Princess Cheung Ping
  • Muk Kwai-ying Proposes Marriage

Application Deadline:
24 August 2020 (Monday)


Teacher Training Workshop

Date:
12 September 2020 (Saturday)

Time:
10:30am–1:00pm

Venue:
Studio 3, 2/F, Xiqu Centre

Language:
Cantonese 

Target Participants:
Secondary school teachers

Speaker:
Lum Man-yee, Deputy chief editor of Annals of Chinese Opera, Anthology of Chinese Opera Music, Hong Kong Volume

Demonstrating Artists:
Ng Lap-Hei, Cantonese opera young artist
Tanya Fong, Cantonese opera young artist

Application Deadline:
24 August 2020 (Monday)

Application forms and learning packs are available in Chinese only.

 

Remarks:

Enquiries:
(852) 2200 0818, learning@wkcda.hk 

Adverse Weather Arrangements:

  • Matinee Performances: Please refer to the latest guidelines issued by the Education Bureau.
  • Teacher Training Workshop: The workshop will be cancelled if a black rainstorm warning or a typhoon signal no. 8 or above is in force three hours before the start of the event.

Downloads