The West Kowloon Cultural District Authority Welcomes Appointments to the Board

The West Kowloon Cultural District Authority (WKCDA) welcomes the appointments and reappointments to the WKCDA Board by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) for a term of two years with effect from 23 October 2022.


In addition to reappointing nine incumbent members (non-public officers) to the Board, the HKSAR Government announced today the appointment of Mr Bernard Charnwut Chan as Vice-Chairman of the WKCDA Board and four new Board members. They are:


  • Dr Roy CHUNG Chi-ping, GBS, JP
  • Mr JAT Sew-tong, SBS, SC, JP
  • Mr Paulo PONG Kin-yee, JP
  • Ms Catherine YEN


Mr Henry Tang Ying-yen, Chairman of the WKCDA Board said, ‘It is my pleasure to extend a warm welcome to the four new members of the WKCDA Board who will bring a diverse range of expertise and experience to the Board and help steer the further development of the West Kowloon Cultural District (WKCD) project. With the successful opening of two world-class museums, M+ and the Hong Kong Palace Museum, within eight months, together with the highly popular performing arts facilities and Art Park, we are excited to enter into a new chapter that will afford enormous opportunities for not just WKCD but also the arts and cultural sector in Hong Kong. It is my firm belief that with the dedication and concerted efforts of all WKCDA board members and staff, WKCD will continue to flourish as a world-class integrated cultural hub for the arts practitioners, Hong Kong people, as well as visitors from around the world.’


Mr Tang also expresses his sincere gratitude to the outgoing members, namely, Mr Ronald Arculli, Mr Benjamin Cha Yiu-chung, Mr Wilson Fung Ying-wai and Mr Wan Man-yee for their invaluable advice to the WKCDA Board and significant contributions to the WKCD project over the years.


The WKCDA Board consists of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Members who are non-officials, as well as three public officers and the Chief Executive Officer of WKCDA as ex-officio member. A full list of the WKCDA Board membership effective from 23 October 2022 can be found in the annex.




About the West Kowloon Cultural District
The West Kowloon Cultural District is one of the largest and most ambitious cultural projects in the world. Its vision is to create a vibrant new cultural quarter for Hong Kong on forty hectares of reclaimed land located alongside Victoria Harbour. With a varied mix of theatres, performance spaces, and museums, the West Kowloon Cultural District will produce and host world-class exhibitions, performances and cultural events, providing twenty-three hectares of public open space, including a two-kilometre waterfront promenade.




List of Members of the WKCDA Board (effective from 23 October 2022)


The Honourable Henry TANG Ying-yen, GBM, GBS, JP


The Honourable Bernard Charnwut CHAN, GBM, GBS, JP


Members (Non-Public Officers)
Dr Roy CHUNG Chi-ping, GBS, JP*
Mr Henry FAN Hung-ling, SBS, JP
Mr Glenn FOK
The Honourable Kenneth FOK Kai-kong, JP
Mr Andy HEI Kao-chiang
Ms Tennessy HUI Mei-sheung, MH, JP
Mr JAT Sew-tong, SBS, SC, JP*
Ms Rose LEE Wai-mun, JP
Ms Yolanda NG Yuen-ting, MH
Mr Paulo PONG Kin-yee, JP*
Ms Dee POON Chu-ying
Ms Winnie TAM Wan-chi, SBS, SC, JP
Ms Catherine YEN*

* New appointees


Members (Public Officers)
Secretary for Culture, Sports and Tourism or alternate representative
Secretary for Development or alternate representative
Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury or alternate representative


Ex-Officio Member
Chief Executive Officer of WKCDA