The Sigg Prize, a programme established by M+ in 2018 and awarded biennially, was formerly the Chinese Contemporary Art Award (CCAA), founded by Uli Sigg in China in 1998. Open to artists born or working in the Greater China region and its diasporas, the Sigg Prize highlights and promotes on an international scale the important artistic practices and discussions taking place here. For each edition of the prize, a jury comprised of leading international art professionals selects six artists based on the past two years of work. The shortlisted artists are invited to participate in the Sigg Prize exhibition before the winner is selected. The winner is awarded HKD 500,000, and each of the other shortlisted artists receives HKD 100,000.

The members of the jury for the inaugural edition of the Sigg Prize are Maria Balshaw (Director, Tate, United Kingdom), Bernard Blistène (Director, Musée national d’art moderne, Centre Pompidou, Paris), Gong Yan (Director, Power Station of Art, Shanghai), Lai Hsiangling (curator, Taipei), Suhanya Raffel (Museum Director, M+, Hong Kong), Uli Sigg (collector and member of the M+ Board, Switzerland), and Xu Bing (artist, Beijing).