Experimental Cantonese Opera “The Imperial Decree” (Preview)

Freespace The Box


A thought-provoking and inclusive new work about predetermination and freewill


The third experimental Cantonese opera production by the Xiqu Centre’s award-winning team, The Imperial Decree looks at how individual lives are shaped by predetermination and freewill.


When the imperial eunuch collapses after delivering just two words of the Emperor’s decree – “The throne” – a state of intrigue and infighting ensues, triggering a battle for the seat of power among the Emperor’s brother, Concubine Wen and Prince Dunhua as they struggle to determine the possible meaning behind the unspoken pronouncement.


Produced and directed by Naomi Chung, written, directed and performed by Keith Lai, Janet Wong, and Ng Lap-hei – the award-winning creative team behind Experimental Cantonese Opera Farewell My Concubine (New Adaptation) and Wenguang Explores the ValleyThe Imperial Decree combines traditional performance techniques with contemporary music and stage design.


The Imperial Decree marks the Xiqu Centre’s first cooperation with the Deaf community, and features Deaf artist Jason Wong among the cast and theatrical interpretation at each performance.


Title Sponsor:

Friends of Hong Kong Association Ltd


Produced by:

Xiqu Centre


Artistic and Production Team:
Producer / Director: Naomi Chung*
Playwrights / Directors / Music Arrangers:  Keith Lai, Janet Wong
Technical Director: Rae Wu*
Set Designer: Wong Yat-kwan
Lighting Designer: Leo Siu
Sound Designer: Wan San-hong
Video Designer: Dan Fong
Assistant Producer: Peter Lee*
Production Managers: Fanny Lo*, Katrina Chan*
Producer’s assistants: Novia Chong*, Hazel Yau*


Keith Lai as Emperor’s brother Wu
Janet Wong as Concubine Wen
Ng Lap-hei as Prince Dunhua
Shum Pak-chuen as Rongqian
Jason Wong as Rongfu


Ensemble Leader:  Mao Yijun
Percussion Ensemble Leader:  Chan Ting-pong 
Musicians: (In alphabetical order): Chen Yifan, He Zhuotao, Ho Cheuk-chun, Lai Ka-wai, Leung Shuk-in, Ko Wing-hei, So Siu-fun, Wong Yuen-ling, Zhong Shi-ling


*Staff of West Kowloon Cultural District


See also