BUY TICKETS

In a story, someone had a dream. In that dream, someone told a story.

The story begins with a recently graduated doctor and her terminally ill “Patient No. 5”, whose tale encompasses complicated relationships and emotions. The plot unfolds across time and space, alternating between reality and dreamscape. After a journey through a life, the story returns to where it all began.

A Dream Like A Dream is one of the most talked about Chinese-language theatrical innovations. Conceived by acclaimed theatre director Stan Lai, the play creates a dreamlike experience with a four-sided stage, revolving seating design and an eight-hour performance duration.

In 2002, HKRep presented this epic production in a sold-out run that was recognised with three accolades at the 12th Hong Kong Drama Awards: Best Overall Performance, Best Costume Design and Best Supporting Actor (Tragedy/Drama).

Since then, A Dream Like a Dream has touched the hearts of theatre fans in Beijing, Shanghai, Taipei and Singapore and many cities.

A Dream Like a Dream is presented by HKRep and co-presented by Freespace.

Artistic Team
Playwright, Director: Stan Lai
Co-director: Fung Wai-hang
Guest Leading Cast: Louisa So, Poon Chan-leung, Cecilia Choi
Main Cast: Chris Sun, Ko Hon-man, Lui Si-lan, ManMan Kwok, Wong Ching-yan Birdy, Kiki Cheung, Eddy Au Yeung, Lau Shau-ching
Co-set Designers: Alex Tam*, Eddie Lam
Lighting Designer: Michael Chien Lee-zen
Costume Designer: Edmond Wong
Music & Sound Designer: Jaycee Kwok
Movement Designer: Yuri Ng 

*With kind permission of Theatre Ronin

Programme Details

Date & Time:
28 July–8 September 2019 (Except Mondays)
Approximately 8 hours with Part I and Part II
Part I: Approximately 3 hours 35 minutes with 15 minutes intermission
Part II: Approximately 4 hours with 15 minutes intermission

  Part I Part II
Performance 1 28 July 2019 (Sunday) 1:30pm 28 July 2019 (Sunday) 7:15pm
Performance 2 30 July 2019 (Tuesday) 7:15pm 31 July 2019 (Wednesday) 7:15pm
Performance 3 1 August 2019 (Thursday) 7:15pm 2 August 2019 (Friday) 7:15pm
Performance 4 3 August 2019 (Saturday) 1:30pm 3 August 2019 (Saturday) 7:15pm
Performance 5 4 August 2019 (Sunday) 1:30pm 4 August 2019 (Sunday) 7:15pm
Performance 6 6 August 2019 (Tuesday) 7:15pm 7 August 2019 (Wednesday) 7:15pm
Performance 7 8 August 2019 (Thursday) 7:15pm 9 August 2019 (Friday) 7:15pm
Performance 8 10 August 2019 (Sataurday) 1:30pm 10 August 2019 (Saturday) 7:15pm
Performance 9 11 August 2019 (Sunday) 1:30pm 11 August 2019 (Sunday) 7:15pm
Performance 10 13 August 2019 (Tuesday) 7:15pm 14 August 2019 (Wednesday) 7:15pm
Performance 11 15 August 2019 (Thursday) 7:15pm 16 August 2019 (Friday) 7:15pm
Performance 12 17 August 2019 (Sataurday) 1:30pm 17 August 2019 (Saturday) 7:15pm
Performance 13 18 August 2019 (Sunday) 1:30pm 18 August 2019 (Sunday) 7:15pm
Performance 14 20 August 2019 (Tuesday) 7:15pm 21 August 2019 (Wednesday) 7:15pm
Performance 15 22 August 2019 (Thursday) 7:15pm 23 August 2019 (Friday) 7:15pm
Performance 16 24 August 2019 (Saturday) 1:30pm 24 August 2019 (Saturday) 7:15pm
Performance 17 25 August 2019 (Sunday) 1:30pm 25 August 2019 (Sunday) 7:15pm
Performance 18* 27 August 2019 (Tuesday) 7:15pm 28 August 2019 (Wednesday) 7:15pm
Performance 19* 29 August 2019 (Thursday) 7:15pm 30 August 2019 (Friday) 7:15pm
Performance 20* 31 August 2019 (Sataurday) 1:30pm 31 August 2019 (Saturday) 7:15pm
Performance 21* 1 September 2019 (Sunday) 1:30pm 1 September 2019 (Sunday) 7:15pm
Performance 22* 3 September 2019 (Tuesday) 7:15pm 4 September 2019 (Wednesday) 7:15pm
Performance 23* 5 September 2019 (Thursday) 7:15pm 6 September 2019 (Friday) 7:15pm
Performance 24* 7 September 2019 (Saturday) 1:30pm 7 September 2019 (Saturday) 7:15pm
Performance 25* 8 September 2019 (Sunday) 1:30pm 8 September 2019 (Sunday) 7:15pm

*Additional Performances

Venue:
The Box, Freespace, Art Park, West Kowloon Cultural District (Getting to Freespace)

Language:
Performed in Cantonese, with Chinese and English surtitles

Tickets:
Tuesdays to Fridays: $1,280、$950、$680
Saturdays and Sundays: $1,450、$1,050、$750

Concessions:
Half price for senior citizens aged 60 or above, people with disabilities and a companion and full-time students. Concessionary tickets are available on a first come, first served basis. Ticket holders must present proof of eligibility on admission.

Other Discounts:
Discounts only apply to standard ticket and available at designated outlets upon presentation of valid membership / staff cards:
HKRep Pals (15%off)
Zuni's Friends (10% off)
Members of CCDC Dance Inspirations (10% off)
CCDC Student Dance Inspirations Members (10% off)
Club Bravo members of Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra (10% off)
Friends of The Hong Kong Ballet (10% off)
Friends of Hong Kong Dance Company (10% off)
Friends of Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra (10% off)
Chung Ying Theatre "Energy Fun Club plus" (10% off, max 2 tickets)
Members of HKAPA Alumni Association (10% off)
Members of Hong Kong Chinese Civil Servant's Association (10% off)
FANCL Club Members (10% off)
Staff of Shun Hing Group (10% off)
Bookaholic Members of The Commercial Press (10% off)
Members of Hong Kong Arts Administrators Association (10% off)
Members or Staff of Broadway Photo Supply Limited (10% off)
Staff of WKCDA (10% off) 

Please refer to the HKRep website for details of discounts

Tickets available from 31 May 2019 at URBTIX and West Kowloon Cultural District

Notice to Ticket Buyers:

  • A Dream Like a Dream is performed in two parts (Part I & Part II) according to the performance schedule. Patrons must purchase both parts of a designated performance. Only performance date and time of Part I will be displayed for selection on the ticketing page.
  • Revolving seats priced $1,450 ($1,280) are located in the middle of the stage.
  • In view of meeting the venue safety requirements, the actual seating of $1450 ($1280) price zone may differ from the seat plan shown.
  • Patrons who need to read surtitles during the performance are encouraged to purchase tickets in the seating areas of $1,050 ($950) or $750 ($680). Please note that sightlines for these seats are partially blocked.
  • Latecomers will be admitted only at intermission.
  • For wheelchair user tickets, please contact our Ticketing Hotline at (852) 2200 0022 or designated West Kowloon Cultural District Ticket Outlets.
  • This Programme contains strong language.

URBTIX 
Credit Card Telephone Booking: (852) 2111 5999
Internet Booking: www.urbtix.hk
Ticketing Enquiries: (852) 3761 6661

Programme Enquiries:
(852) 3103 5900 

Presented by:

Co-presented by Freespace

The performance rights of A Dream Like a Dream is granted by Performance Workshop

Tickets

See more