BUY TICKETS

Our Tea House Theatre programme, Standard Chartered Tea House Theatre Experience, is specially designed to introduce new audiences to Chinese traditional theatre. The 90-minute performance, presented by our very own Tea House Rising Stars Troupe, showcases a selection of short excerpts demonstrating a range of vocal and music styles. It also includes narration by an expert moderator to help newcomers gain insight into the history of the art form.

To recreate the warm, authentic atmosphere of Hong Kong’s early 20th century tea houses, audiences are served traditional tea and dim sum during the performance – a delicious way to learn about the heritage of Chinese traditional theatre.

However much you know about xiqu, Cantonese opera, Chinese culture, history or literature, the Tea House Theatre offers a new kind of experience – join us and discover for yourself!

Artistic Team:

Law Ka-ying Artistic Curator and Director
Naomi Chung Producer
Cheng Wing-mui Rehearsal Curator
Janet Wong Music Arranger, Actor
Lee Tik-lun Ensemble Leader
Mai Jiawei Percussion Ensemble Leader (Invited)
Man Lai-ha Actor
Christie To Wing-sum Actor
Chan Kei-ting Actor
Yuen Sin-ting Actor
Chan Hei-yu Actor
Chan Chak-lui Actor
Leung Fei-tung Actor
Mo Huamin Actor
Wong Ho-yau Actor
Vong Seng-pan Actor
Juliana Kwan Actor
Doris Kwan Actor
Alan Tam Wing-lun Actor
John Ho Chun-hei Musician
Yue Kin-long Musician
Yuen Ka-yi Musician
Liu Chun-hei Musician
So Hong-ting Musician

Programme Type:
Wind and Percussion Music
Music Ensemble Performance
Cantonese Narrative Singing
Cantonese Operatic Singing Excerpt
Excerpt Performance

Programme details

Date and time:
From 23 January 2019
Every Wednesday to Sunday: 7:30pm
Every Saturday and Sunday: 3:00pm

Venue:
Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre

Language:
Performed and narrated in Cantonese with Chinese and English surtitles

Tickets:
$368, $318 (Price includes performance, tea and dim sum)

Concession details

Ticketing Enquiries:
(852) 2200 0022, ticketinfo@wkcda.hk

Opening Season Programme Sponsor:

Tickets now on sale

From now until 31 March 2019, Standard Chartered / MANHATTAN credit cardholders can enjoy 20% off standard priced tickets for the Standard Chartered Tea House Theatre Experience.

Remarks:

  • Online and telephone booking is not available for Standard Chartered UnionPay Dual Currency Credit Cards or Standard Chartered WorldMiles Cards. Please visit the Xiqu Centre Ticket Office for ticketing.
  • This offer cannot be used in conjunction with any other promotional offers or concessions on Standard Chartered Tea House Theatre Experience tickets.
  • The Promotion is available on a first-come-first-served basis while seats last.
  • Any change of the Promotion will be subject to the availability at the time of patronage. The promotion is subject to relevant terms and conditions.

Student matinees and programmes for tour groups with narration in English or Mandarin are also available on request. 

Tickets

  • Friday, 8 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 9 February 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 9 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 10 February 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 10 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Wednesday, 13 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Thursday, 14 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Friday, 15 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 16 February 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 16 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 17 February 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 17 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Wednesday, 20 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Thursday, 21 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Friday, 22 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 23 February 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 23 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 24 February 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 24 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Wednesday, 27 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Thursday, 28 February 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Friday, 1 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 2 March 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 2 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 3 March 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 3 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Wednesday, 6 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Thursday, 7 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Friday, 8 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 9 March 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 9 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 10 March 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 10 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Wednesday, 13 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Thursday, 14 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Friday, 15 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 16 March 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 16 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 17 March 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 17 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Wednesday, 20 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Thursday, 21 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Friday, 22 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 23 March 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 23 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 24 March 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 24 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Wednesday, 27 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Thursday, 28 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Friday, 29 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 30 March 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Saturday, 30 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 31 March 2019
    3:00PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre
  • Sunday, 31 March 2019
    7:30PM
    Tea House Theatre, Xiqu Centre

See more

See also