Programme for February – July 2020

Matinee Performances

In light of the current situation,  Matinee Performance from 20 February to 5 March 2020 has been cancelled.

Date:
20 February 2020 (Thursday) - Cancelled
26 February 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
28 February 2020 (Friday) - Cancelled
4 March 2020 (Wednesday) - Cancelled
5 March 2020 (Thursday) - Cancelled
15 May 2020 (Friday)
20 May 2020 (Wednesday)
22 May 2020 (Friday)
27 May 2020 (Wednesday)
29 May 2020 (Friday)
24 June 2020 (Wednesday)
26 June 2020 (Friday)
2 July 2020 (Thursday)
3 July 2020 (Friday)

Time:
Session 1: 1:30pm – 4:15pm
Session 2: 2:30pm – 5:15pm
(Participants attend one session only. Each session lasts approximately 2 hours 45 minutes.) 

Venue:
Xiqu Centre

Programme:

February 2020
Wind and Percussion Music – Menglong
Cantonese Operatic Singing – Taking the Head from Gaoping Pass (Selected Verses)
Music Ensemble Performance – Dabbling in the Water
Excerpt Performances 

  • “The Fragrant Sacrifice” from Princess Cheung Ping
  • “Pursuing Her Husband” from Di Qing and Princess Shuangyang

March - July 2020
Wind and Percussion Music – The Song of Victory
Cantonese Operatic Singing – Taking the Head from Gaoping Pass (Selected Verses)
Music Ensemble Performance – The Sound of Thunder During Drought
Excerpt Performances 

  • “The Fragrant Sacrifice” from Princess Cheung Ping
  • Muk Kwai-ying Proposes Marriage

Application Deadline:
23 January 2020 (Thursday) 


Teacher Training Workshops

In light of the current situation, the teacher training workshop on 8 February 2020 (Saturday) has been cancelled.

Date:
8 February 2020 (Saturday)

Time:
12:00nn – 2:30pm

Venue:
Studio, 2/F, Xiqu Centre

Language:
Cantonese 

Target Participants:
Secondary school teachers

Speaker:
Lum Man-yee, Deputy chief editor of Annals of Chinese Opera, Anthology of Chinese Opera Music, Hong Kong Volume.

Demonstrating Artists:
Tanya Fong, Cantonese opera young artist
Mo Huamin, Cantonese opera young artist

Application Deadline:
23 January 2020 (Thursday)

Application forms and learning packs are available in Chinese only.

 

Remarks:

  • West Kowloon reserves the right to amend the content, dates and times of the programme.

Enquiries:
(852) 2200 0872 / learning@wkcda.hk 

Adverse Weather Arrangements:

  • Matinee Performances: Please refer to the latest guidelines issued by the Education Bureau.
  • Teacher Training Workshops: The workshop will be cancelled if a black rainstorm warning or a typhoon signal no. 8 or above is in force three hours before the start of the event.
 

Downloads