The Weight of Lightness: The Boundless Potential of Ink Art

Ink, the principle medium in Asian visual art and the hallmark of Asian cultural identity, has remained an active source of inspiration in contemporary art practice. Since the mid-twentieth century, many Asian artists have examined the content, practices, and concepts of traditional ink art—most commonly represented by calligraphy and landscape painting—to develop new expressions and techniques suitable for their time and personal experiences. Throughout this process, they often incorporated artistic tendencies and materials from outside of their own cultures. At the same time, artists from outside Asia also looked to traditional ink art for their experimentations. In short, ink art, a discipline with its own system of training, technique, vocabulary, philosophy, and circulation has entered into transnational dialogues. These cross-disciplinary and intercultural connections have kept ink art constantly evolving and are central to M+’s strategy for collecting and exhibiting ink art.

The Weight of Lightness: Ink Art at M+, the museum’s first presentation of ink art from the collection, highlights the diverse explorations that have taken place over the past sixty years. It defines ink art not only through its materials, but also as an aesthetic that inspires a wide range of applications and interpretations. The Weight of Lightness illustrates the tension at the core of ink art—between the material and the spiritual. This relationship permeates the thematic sections of the exhibition, organised based on the heritage and conventions that have shaped the philosophies and trajectories of ink art.

The exhibition begins with Wurzel aus (1961), Korean-American artist Nam June Paik’s provocative and playful homage to the ink tradition, which encapsulates his philosophy of art in his early career. Using a permanent marker to hurriedly draw on a hanging scroll a radical sign (a sign which indicates the square root of a number), Paik points to the endless possibilities of art through a koan-like expression. His openness to making references across cultures and disciplines fittingly reflects the ideas behind The Weight of Lightness.

The first section, ‘Scripts, Symbols, Strokes’, looks at the artistic impulse to communicate through writing, drawing, and mark-making. It begins with an examination of ink art’s relationship with the written script, Tong Yang-Tze’s large scale calligraphy Spirited, like a far-journeying steed; Floating, like a duck on water (2002). The work shows her loyalty to the Chinese written word while pushing it towards abstraction. Her virtuosic, expressive strokes are contrasted by a string of delicate points and lines in Untitled (1960), an enigmatic work by Li Yuan-chia that makes no reference to any written characters, instead forming a poetic language of its own. In the 1950s and 1960s, Morita Shiryū and Hidai Nankoku revolutionised calligraphy in postwar Japan by obscuring the form of characters and moving away from a reliance on pictographic reference. Decades later, Xu Bing’s invented Chinese characters in Book from the Sky (1989) subvert the raison d’être of the written language by maintaining the components and form of the script yet denying its possibility to make meaning.

The other thread in this section considers calligraphic points and lines as fundamental modes of expression and proposes a common ground between artists from the East and the West. Chuang Che and Leung Kui Ting, key participants in the modern painting movements of 1960s Taipei and Hong Kong, respectively, explored the utility of lines in the compositional structures of their abstract paintings. Their interest in materiality and texture was shared by Lee Ufan and Park Seo-Bo, working in Tokyo and Seoul respectively, two leading members of Dansaekhwa, a Korean modern painting movement of the 1960s and 1970s. By referencing their training and knowledge in ink painting and at the same time challenging it, these four artists brought the perspective of ink into the discourse of postwar abstract painting. The tactile quality of Lee and Park’s strokes can be compared to two watercolours from the mid-1960s by Indian artist Krishna Reddy, another important contributor to postwar abstraction. The calligraphic lines and blots in the drawings act as records of the artist’s hand movements. They also strike an affinity with young American artist Nick Mauss’ assortment of solid and ethereal strokes and washes of glazes on a ceramic surface in Untitled (2012) that recall the effects of watercolours. The explorative nature of these drawings is in dialogue with Chinese artist Qiu Deshu’s Seal (1982), a work that lets vermilion seal patterns overwhelm the picture, and with Lebanese-American artist Etel Adnan’s jubilant brushstrokes in Point Reyes n°2 California (1989), which encapsulates her response to the Northern Californian landscape. These marks of a strong personal and tactile nature highlight the immediacy of conveying artistic intention through line-drawing and mark-making across cultures and continents.

‘Desire for Landscape’, the exhibition’s second section, points to the enduring appeal of landscape painting in contemporary artmaking by sampling a range of artistic imaginations that have spawned from this traditional genre. Liu Kuo-sung, Wucius Wong, and Qiu Shihua deliberately chose landscape painting, the pinnacle art form of Chinese literati culture, to express their personal and cultural identity in Cold War Taiwan, colonial Hong Kong, and post-Cultural Revolution mainland China. They each explore a variety of materials, techniques, and compositional strategies, informed by Western abstraction, to convey the awe-inspiring feeling prevalent in traditional landscape painting without reliance on well-worn methods. Yang Jiechang and Peng Wei both use landscape painting—executed in almost orthodox ways—to deliver alternative narratives. Yang’s ominous clouds, hovering over a scene of persecution unfolding in the landscape, mark his critique of the painful history of the Cultural Revolution; Peng’s landscape, inscribed with Lord Byron’s love letter to Countess Teresa, provides a romantic bent, challenging the typical restraint found in traditional landscape painting. Liang Quan’s interpretation of Hidden Fish in a Clear Stream by Song dynasty painter Li Tang (1066–1150) is inspired by the geometrically rendered landscapes of American painter Richard Diebenkorn (1922–93) and repurposes the traditional Chinese paper mounting technique. The layering effect in Liang’s collage is echoed in the juxtaposition of notations and colours in Spanish artist José María Sicilia’s The Instant (2013), a meditation on the relationship between nature and life inspired by his study of bird songs. These contemporary works show how through the notions of depicting, recording, and borrowing from landscape (painting), artists are contemplating the meanings of human life in the context of history, tradition, and the forces of nature.

Plants literally offer artists a down-to-earth perspective when thinking about the natural environment. Shan Fan and Koon Wai Bong each took a motif from traditional painting—bamboo and pine—and added their own interpretations beyond the typical metaphors. In Shan’s Painting the Moment (Malerei des Augenblicks) (No. 1–12) (2007–13), bamboo, symbolising integrity in Chinese literati culture, is presented as broken, intertwined, and arranged in unconventional ways. In Dancing in Shadows (2014), Koon brings to life a well-known verse by Song poet Su Shi (1037–1101). Koon’s pine trees, enveloped in impenetrable splashed ink, allude to the abstraction heralded by the early Qing master Shi Tao (1642–1707) and by the twentieth-century master Chang Dai-chien (1899–1983). In Fair and Clear II (2006) by Yuan Jai, bundles of fabric and swirls of ribbon, which usually play supporting roles in Chinese figurative painting, are adapted into her pink peonies, a traditional symbol of prosperity in Chinese visual culture. Tseng Yuho uses collages of fabrics like gauze and tapa cloth—readily available in Hawaii where she lived—in Song of the Roots (1962) to mimic the sinuous form and fibrous texture of roots. With detailed depictions of the ingredients of a Chinese medicinal prescription, Heavenly King’s Heart-tonifying Pills, for symptoms of stress and imbalances caused by the hectic contemporary lifestyle, Zhang Yanzi makes plants even more personal in Tianwang Buxin Dan (2014–15). This album of paintings conveys a hope and desire for restoring vitality and comfort through organic sources.

For ink artists, rocks and stones, basic pictorial components in Chinese landscape painting and common features in cultivated Chinese and Japanese gardens, lead to nuanced artistic understandings of the interaction between culture and nature. Using rocks as motif, Kan Tai-keung and Hung Fai both take on emulation and repetition, a rite of passage for painters, as their subject. Kan borrows geometric structures from design theories to turn a classical mountain pattern into a ‘readymade’ in Cliffs Beyond (1977), while Hung plays with the asymmetrical power found in pedagogy and filial obedience by inviting his father and respected ink painter Hung Hoi to paint together in The Six Principles of Chinese PaintingTransmission IV (2015). Both artists visualise—and arguably neutralise—an uneven power dynamic that often prohibits innovation. Li Huayi takes inspiration from Northern Song landscape masterpieces and from the compositional strategy of mid-twentieth-century American abstract painting to create his fantastical scenery in Pine Crest (2011), where pine trees precariously perch on steep, majestic cliffs. The intensity, movement, and drama in Li’s painting is counterbalanced by the tranquillity in the Katsura Imperial Villa in Kyoto—particularly in the close-ups of the texture of stone arrangements in the Villa—captured in the photography of Ishimoto Yasuhiro in the 1950s. The intersection of the natural and the man-made—and the conflicts that come with it—is aptly rendered in Qiu Anxiong’s videos Jiang Nan Poem and In the Sky (both 2005). The former is a poetic meditation on nature and time, and the latter reflects upon the disruption and consequences caused by the rapid growth of human societies. This perennial fascination with landscape painting, and by extension, nature, manifested through multiple points of reference—from the art historical, literary, philosophical, material, to the sonic, design, and medicinal cultures—not only illustrates the significance of landscape painting in contemporary art but also reminds us of the innate universal impulse to contemplate our relationship with nature.

The last section of the exhibition, ‘Beyond Material’, turns to matters beyond the physical and the earthly world. Abstraction, supported by the expressive potential of ink, becomes an intuitive method to explore complex emotions, spiritual aspirations, and temporal concerns and meditations. The artists mobilise their skilfulness in commanding the brush and manipulating ink to achieve a plethora of effects on paper. Li Huasheng’s hand-drawn ink grids in 9902 (1999) serve as transcriptions of his mind and testaments to his determination to abandon representation. Qiu Deshu’s indecipherable seal marks among impenetrable ink washes in Red Mark Jumping between Black and White (1981) were used as a healing mechanism after a decade of painting propaganda. Irene Chou’s defiant swirl of red rising from a turbulent sea of black in Movement II (c. 1985)—in an entirely different way from Qiu’s—demonstrates how she channels her desires and subjectivity through ink and abstraction, especially significant during a time when the field of modern ink painting was dominated by her male counterparts.

The philosophical pursuits of literati painting remain a strong focus of exploration in contemporary artmaking; many artists consider it the foundational basis of Asian art and visual culture. An idea frequently returned to is the process of transformation embodied in the Taoist tenet of ‘Stillness in Movement, Movement in Stillness’. It has fuelled Frog King Kwok’s performative as well as paper works from the 1970s, such as his burnt paper collages with ink depicting a butterfly, a creature that defines its life through metamorphosis. Kwok’s interest in the transitional stages of material beings is echoed by Zheng Chongbin’s Another State of Man (1988), a series of paintings (here showing only two) where he blends the materials of East and West—ink and acrylic—to explore the in-between states of the figurative and the abstract. Kwon Young-woo, a Dansaekhwa artist trained as an ink painter, conducted an inquiry about medium throughout his career exclusively through Korean paper—the loyal companion of ink. Untitled (c. 1982), a work with repeated vertical tears of paper, hovers between painting and sculpture—yet another ambiguous state. It brings to the forefront the illusion of space and questions whether abstract ink painting requires ink at all.

This interest in the potential of Taoist and Buddhist philosophy—ideas that have shaped the East Asian worldview—as well as exploring abstraction to reach a revelatory state of mind is further illustrated in this exhibition through the works of several pioneers of Asian abstraction, including: Hsiao Chin’s early painting Huen-Tuen (1962), which depicts a controlled state of chaos at the beginning of the universe, and Qi 311 (1981), a later work communicating his mental flow of energy; Wucius Wong’s Thoughts Across the Lands (1970), where feelings of homesickness are rendered into a symmetrical composition; Fong Chung-Ray’s collage

1417 (2014), which integrates texts from the Diamond Sutra and illustrates his meditative process; and Lui Shou-kwan’s towering painting, Zen (1970), which strikes an epiphanic flash above a layered, saturated darkness.

In contrast to these expressive paintings, some artists employ more reductive means to capture introspective moments, inviting their viewers to settle into a different contemplative pace. Richard Lin—who embraced a minimalist strategy for his painting after his immersion in London’s conceptual art milieu in the 1960s—executed the near-white canvases of Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter (1972­–74) with a careful precision that captures the subtle changes of the seasons. They demonstrate the possibility of conveying Taoist philosophy through an extremely efficient allocation of material. Hsu Yu-Jen’s equally subdued painting Sea Flowing Unstopping…Forms Floating Sinking… (2006) transforms an ever-changing seascape into sparsely sprinkled dashes of lines, accompanied by his poem, which laments the futility of human actions against the tide of time. The fleeting moment is preciously preserved and reconstructed in Ni Youyu’s installation, Galaxy (2010–11). The constellation of ‘stars’ made up of flattened coins, carrying meticulously painted landscapes and objects, simulates the sensory experience of floating through suspended space and time—which is yu and zhou, or ‘the universe’, in Chinese—and allows us to savour sights and scenes that define the transience of human existence. The work, the finale of the exhibition and located in the heart of the exhibition space, illuminates the core concept behind The Weight of Lightness: that the inherent tension rooted in the aesthetic of ink—between the material and the spiritual, the physical and the intangible—can be articulated through a range of poetic, metaphorical, and sensorial interpretations. Whether it is an intuitive line or a purposefully written character; musings about mountains and rocks, flowers and trees, and everything in between; or representations of the internal hopes and fears towards matters in this world and beyond, ink art—endowed with the weight of traditions yet invigorated by the lightness of its material and the experimental vision of artists—possesses boundless potential.

 

Lesley Ma
Curator, Ink Art, M+

* All works in this exhibition are in the M+ Collection.
* In accordance with Chinese, Japanese, and Korean practice, artist and composer names are written surname first. Exceptions are made for individuals who have adopted the Western order of surname last or have been known professionally for their Western names (such as Nam June Paik, Irene Chou, Toshio Hosokawa, Lei Liang and Yeung-ping Chen).

Downloads

似重若轻:变化无垠的水墨

水墨是亚洲视觉艺术的主要媒材,更是亚洲文化的标志,为代代艺术家带来源源不绝的灵感。自二十世纪中叶以来,许多亚洲艺术家重新审视并革新以书法和山水为主流的传统水墨内容、技法和概念,从而创造出切合其时代和个人经历的表达手法与技巧。在此过程中,艺术家时常融会外来文化的艺术风潮与媒材。同时,不少亚洲境外的艺术家也从传统水墨中找寻灵感。简言之,水墨这个向来自成一套教学体系、技法、语言、理念和流通的领域,早已参与国际交流与对话。此跨领域、跨文化的接触和演进,是M+收藏和展示水墨的根本思维。

「似重若轻:M+ 水墨藏品」是M+首次水墨藏品展,呈现过去六十年丰富多元的创作。展品不限水墨媒材,视水墨为兼容并包的美学。本展的架构依照传统水墨书画的形式和哲学底蕴,分成三个部分。而展名「似重若轻」,道出水墨物质和精神层面的张力,贯透全展。

展览由韩裔美籍艺术家白南准的《平方根》(1961年)拉开序幕,他以戏谑玩笑向水墨传统致敬,不乏挑逗意味,充分体现其早年的艺术理念。白南准用箱头笔在立轴上草草画下平方根符号,犹如禅宗公案的手法,表现艺术的无限可能。他自如地运用各种文化和领域给他的灵感,充分体现「似重若轻」的展览理念。

展览首个部分「字迹、符号、笔划」,主要呈现通过书写和笔迹传递艺术思想的作品。本部分从董阳孜的巨幅书法作品《昂昂若千里之驹 泛泛若水中之凫》(2002年)开始,检视水墨与书写之间的关系。此作既忠于汉字形式,又渐趋于抽象。她笔走龙蛇,雄浑奔放,与李元佳的《无题》(1960年)中细小的点线笔迹形成鲜明对比。李元佳的作品并无任何可辨识的字词,令人费解,完全谱出他个人的诗性语言。在日本战后的五、六十年代,艺术家森田子龙和比田井南谷颠覆书法,模糊字的形态,摆脱对象形的依凭。数十载后,徐冰亦在作品《天书》(1989年)中自创无意义的汉字,一方面保持了文字某些部首和形态,另一方面则颠覆了文字的根本意义。

此外,此部分还呈现以点与线为本的艺术表达手法,指出东西方艺术家理念相通之处。庄喆和梁巨廷分别是六十年代台湾和香港现代绘画运动的重要成员,他们各自在抽象领域探讨线条于构图中的作用。同样对材质和肌理感兴趣的还有李禹焕和朴栖甫,他们是六、七十年代韩国「单色画」现代绘画运动的健将,分别在东京和首尔从事艺术创作。四位艺术家不约而同地引用传统水墨的训练和知识,并刻意挑战它,把水墨的观点带入战后抽象画的范畴。李禹焕和朴栖甫的笔触都富于质感,与另一位对战后抽象艺术有重大贡献的印度艺术家Krishna Reddy的水彩画,异曲同工。这两幅六十年代的作品,线条和墨迹皆有书法韵味,亦是艺术家运笔手势的纪录。年轻美国​​艺术家Nick Mauss的作品《无题》(2012年)也殊途同归,他于陶瓷表面勾画釉彩的线条和渍痕,厚实而飘逸,犹如水彩。这些具有自我探索性质的作品,与中国艺术家仇德树的《心印》(1982年)和黎巴嫩裔美籍艺术家Etel Adnan的《加州雷斯岬二号》(1989年)对话。仇德树以朱红印章的图案占据画面,Etel Adnan则以轻快的笔触画出北加州的风景。这些作品中强烈的个人色彩和触感,显示不论文化背景或地域,艺术家均以线条和笔迹即时、直接地传递创作意图。

展览第二部分名为「山水的念头」。在当今艺术创作中,山水画的魅力长盛不衰,此部分展出从这个传统题材孕育出的作品。刘国松、王无邪与邱世华的创作背景,分别身处冷战时期的台湾、殖民地时期的香港和文化大革命后的中国大陆,他们都有意选择了最具中国文人情怀的山水画来表达个人身分和文化认同。他们探索材料、技巧和构图手法,融会西方抽象艺术,不囿于固有的技法,展现出传统山水画令人敬畏惊叹之貌。杨诘苍和彭薇的山水看似与传统技法无异,但描绘的场景却不寻常。杨诘苍画中有朵朵不祥的云彩,在空中徘徊不散,在其笼罩之下,山水之间正上演着一幕迫害情景,这是他对文化大革命惨痛历史的批判。彭薇则在自己的山水画中题上英国诗人拜伦致伯爵夫人泰丽莎的情书,以浪漫情怀挑战传统山水画中含蓄矜持的情感表达。梁铨重新演绎宋代画家李唐的作品《清溪渔隐图》,构图灵感来自传统国画的装裱技巧以及美国画家Richard Diebenkorn(1922-1993年)的几何抽象风景。梁铨画中拼贴的层叠效果,与西班牙艺术家José María Sicilia 作品《瞬间》(2013年)中交错的记号和色块不无相似之处,José María Sicilia 在研究鸟类歌声时获得灵感,透过作品表达对自然与生命关系的冥思。在这些当代作品中,艺术家透过对山水(画)的描绘、纪录和挪用,深思在历史、传统和大自然力量下人类生活的意义。

植物是艺术家思索自然环境的一个「平凡」的出发点。单凡与管伟邦从传统书画的题材中,分别选了竹和松来创作,并在两种植物固有的寓意上,加入自己的理解和诠释。竹子在中国文人传统中象征坚韧不折的气节,但单凡《瞬时之作》(2007-2013年)中的竹子造形异于寻常,或折断,或互相缠绕。管伟邦的《起舞弄清影》(2014年)中,泼洒的墨迹层层覆盖松林,回应清初画家石涛和二十世纪大师张大千的抽象画风韵,并让宋代词人苏轼《水调歌头》中描述的经典形象跃然纸上。布缎和丝带是中国人物画中常见的陪衬,但袁旃却在《好颜容II》(2006年)中将之化为中国视觉文化中象征富贵的艳丽牡丹。曾定居夏威夷的曾佑和利用纱布和当地常见的树皮布,拼贴制成作品《树根之歌》(1962年),模仿树根盘曲的造形和粗糙的纹理。 「天王补心丹」用于医治现今繁忙生活所引起的文明病,而章燕紫以此药帖为名的册页作品(2014-2015年)详细描绘了各种草药成分,植物亦因而更显个人化, 表达了人们盼能靠自然资源恢复元气与安舒的渴求。

石头,常见于中国园林和日本庭园,也是中国山水画的基本元素。它代表的是艺术家深入观察文化与自然关系的媒介。靳埭强和熊辉均以石头作图象,并用「临摹」这条学画必经之路作文章。靳埭强应用设计理论中的几何结构,把经典的山峦图案转化为作品《重岩》(1977年)中的「现成物」;熊辉则以颠覆师生与父子间的绝对服从关系为出发点,邀请知名水墨画家的父亲熊海一同创作《绘画六法──传移摹写之四(熊海合作)》(2015年)。两件作品大方呈现、亦巧妙消解压抑的权力结构。李华弌的作品《松岭》(2011年)灵感既源于北宋山水经典,又来自二十世纪中叶美国抽象表现主义绘画的构图技法,画面如梦幻仙境,松树在陡峭险峻的悬崖挺拔而生,大气磅礴,动态十足,充满戏剧张力。对比之下,石元泰博镜头下五十年代的京都桂离宫则更显宁谧平静,这从特写的园中石组纹理可见一斑。人类与大自然的矛盾,在邱黯雄2005年的录像作品《江南错》及《空中的》中均有所羌墨。前者是对自然和生命的思考,后者让人思索人类社会急速发展所导致的破坏与种种恶果。艺术家对山水画乃至大自然历久不衰的兴趣,从艺术史、文学、哲学、材料、声音、设计和医药各方面,处处可见,不仅展现出山水画于当代艺术的重要性,更提醒我们,思索与自然的关系,是人人皆备的本能。

展览的最后一部分「物.外」,转向超越外在形体和真实世界之物。水墨自由奔放的表现力,运用在抽象画上,再适合不过。艺术家用之探索复杂的情感、精神追求以及尘世的苦恼和沉思。他们以精湛技巧笔法驾笔驭墨,在纸上谱出千变万化的效果。李华生的作品《9902》(1999年),密密麻麻的手绘墨线成格,既是思想的纪录,亦是他决意抛开形象画的印证。仇德树的作品《红印在黑和白之间跳动》(1981年)中,图样难辨的印章在浓稠的墨海上跳动,是他绘画了多年宣传画后的疗愈之道。迥异于仇德树作品中的朱红,周绿云的《旋律二》(约1985年),只见一片张扬的红色旋涡在汹涌混沌的黑色海洋中升起,表明了她以水墨和抽象手法表现欲望和主体思想,这在男性艺术家主导的现代水墨界里,别具意义。

文人画蕴含的哲理追求,依然是当代艺术创作的重点。许多艺术家都视其为亚洲艺术和视觉文化之本。 「动中有静,静中有动」这道家思想对「变」的体悟,激发了丰富多样的艺术创作。 「蛙王」郭孟浩于七十年代的行为艺术和纸本作品便属此类,例如拼贴烧焦的纸张加上水墨,描绘蝴蝶羽化。同样地,郑重宾《人的另一种状态》系列(1988年)(本次展出仅两幅),也体现模棱两可的微妙,水墨和塑胶彩,东西方两种绘画媒材并用,探讨具象和抽象的中间地带。韩国「单色画」画家权宁禹也是传统水墨画训练出身,专门研究与水墨密不可分的韩纸,其「抽象画」作品《无题》(约1982年)由垂直撕裂的纸条组成,营造出立体感,既似绘画,又像雕塑,难以名状,挑战「无笔无墨不成画」的铁律。

道家和佛家思想可谓奠定了东亚文化的世界观,本次展览也展出几位亚洲抽象艺术先驱的作品,借以进一步阐明艺术家对佛、道思想的兴趣,以及透过探讨抽象而达至有所参悟的心境。萧勤的早期作品《混沌》(1962年),描绘宇宙初开时乱中有序的混沌状态,而较后期的《炁之三一一》(1981年)则表达其涌动的思潮;王无邪的作品《遥思》(1970年)以对称的构图表现艺术家的思乡之情;冯钟睿的拼贴作品《二〇一四之十七》(2014年)融入《金刚经》经文,呈现其冥想过程;吕寿琨的直幅画作《禅》(1970年)则在层层晕染的墨黑中乍现了一道灵光。

这些恣意奔放的作品之外,还有一些艺术家选择以较蕴藉含蓄的手法来捕捉内省的瞬间,引领观者踏上另一种冥想的步调。林寿宇于六十年代浸淫于伦敦的概念艺术圈中,自此以极简风格进行创作,其作品《春》、《夏》、《秋》、《冬》(1972-1974年)的画面近乎纯白,精妙地记录不同季节的细微变化,表现了以精简的画材来表达道家思想的可能。许雨仁的画作《海海流流不断……》(2006年)同样柔和内敛,将无常的大海化为零星的线条,配上诗句,慨叹在时间洪流洗刷下,人类的作为终究是徒劳。倪有鱼的装置作品《银河》(2010-2011年)捕捉并重构了转瞬即逝之刻,眼前所见的「群星」由硬币组成,上面有精心绘制的山水和物件,让观者犹如漂浮在静止的空间与时间之中,细味世间短暂的景致。而空间与时间,就是中国人所说的宇宙─「上下四方曰宇,往古来今曰宙」。此为展览的压轴,置于展厅正中央,阐明「似重若轻」之中心思想:水墨美学强调的物质与精神、有形与无形的张力,可从诗意的、隐喻​​的、官能的各种角度表现。不论是凭直觉画出的线,或是有目的而写的字;不论是对山石、花草、和万物的抒发,还是表达对尘世内外的期望和恐惧,水墨虽负传统之重,但本身轻盈洒脱,让艺术家的想像和试验精神得以驰骋,其潜在力量实无穷尽。

 

马唯中
M+ 水墨策展人

*本展所有作品为M+藏品。

下载