Jennifer Altehenger |  Karl Gerth | Zheng Shengtian

Jennifer Altehenger

‘New China’s Showcase: The China Pavilion at the Leipzig Fairs in East Germany’

Throughout the 1950s, the People’s Republic of China was a regular participant at the international trade fairs held in the old city of Leipzig in the German Democratic Republic. In its own grand pavilion, designed by a team led by the artist Zhang Ding, China exhibited heavy machinery, construction and engineering equipment, electrical appliances, samples of raw materials, metals, agricultural products, textiles, silk, furs, tea, and luxury items such as jade, cloisonné, and ivory carvings. Second in size only to the pavilion of the Soviet Union, the China pavilion was one of the most popular attractions, with queues of people regularly waiting to be granted entry to the hall. But the story of China at Leipzig has not received much attention from historians. This presentation explores successive Chinese exhibitions at the pavilion over the years and shows why the export, exhibition, and consumption of things ‘made in socialist China’ are important parts of the larger story of goods ‘made in China’.

Jennifer Altehenger is Lecturer in Contemporary Chinese History at King’s College London. Her research explores the cultural, political, legal, and material history of modern China. She is the author of Legal Lessons: Popularizing Laws in the People's Republic of China, 1949–1989 (Harvard University Press, 2018), a study of law propaganda and the dissemination of legal knowledge in socialist China. She has also published on the history of propaganda production, information, lexicography, political satire, and on communist China’s links to other socialist countries before 1989. Funded by an Arts and Humanities Research Council Leadership Fellowship, her current work examines the history of industrial design in China after 1949, including China’s participation in international trade fairs and exchanges among designers, architects, and state officials.

Karl Gerth

‘Everyday Desirables: What Wristwatches, Sewing Machines, and Bicycles Can Tell Us about Mao-Era China’

What did Chinese people want in the Mao era, and what do the efforts of the Chinese state to control these desires explain about this era? After 1949, specific products, especially imported consumer goods, became harder to obtain. There were many things one might want but would not be able to acquire legally. The state tried to quash the desire for some products by defining them as ‘bourgeois’ or ‘feudal’, and to redirect desires—both new and pre-existing—towards products manufactured in China. This talk addresses the PRC efforts to shape consumer desire though a history of the ‘three big-ticket items’ (san da jian, or ‘three bigs’). A wristwatch, a sewing machine, and a bicycle were major consumer goods sought by urban and rural households across China during the Mao era, and were eventually manufactured in China. A history of the expanding production, circulation, and social lives of these products helps explain the spread of the ‘bourgeois’ consumerism that the Mao-era state attempted to replace. 

Karl Gerth is Professor of History and Hwei-chih and Julia Hsiu Endowed Chair in Chinese Studies at the University of California, San Diego. His most recent book, As China Goes, So Goes the World: How Chinese Consumers Are Transforming Everything (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2010) explores whether Chinese consumers can rescue the economy without creating even deeper global problems. He is also the author of China Made: Consumer Culture and the Creation of the Nation (Harvard University Press, 2003). Currently, he is completing a book that investigates the survival of consumerism in China’s urban centres following the establishment of the communist state in 1949. 

Zheng Shengtian

‘Crossing the Pacific: A Hidden History’

From the 1950s until the late 1970s, China chose to engage with the ‘Third World’—countries seen as developing—especially following the definition of its political stance at the Bandung Conference in 1955. China’s exchange with Mexican and Latin American artists is an important example of this engagement, but it has often been overlooked in the mainstream historical narrative.

Dialogues between Mexico and China can be documented as early as the beginning of the twentieth century. After the People’s Republic of China was established, cultural exchange with Latin American countries continued to develop. In the 1950s, Chilean artist José Venturelli lived in Beijing as a representative of the Asia-Pacific Peace Conference. Besides his political responsibility, he was very active in introducing Latin American art to Chinese artists. Mexican artists Xavier Guerrero, David Alfaro Siqueiros, Ignacio Aguirre, and Arturo García Bustos visited China in the following years. In 1956, two major exhibitions of Mexican paintings and prints toured to Beijing, Shanghai, and Guangzhou. The works in the exhibitions introduced entirely new styles and ideas, and left a great impact on Chinese artists in the second half of the twentieth century.

This presentation introduces relatively unexplored materials: documentation, research records, and works of art that reveal a fascinating yet hidden chapter of cross-cultural history.

Zheng Shengtian is an artist, scholar, and curator based in Vancouver. Before 1990, he worked at the China Academy of Art as Professor and Chair of the Oil Painting Department. He was a visiting professor at the University of Minnesota and San Diego State University, Secretary of the Annie Wong Art Foundation, and Founding Board Director of Centre A. Currently, he is the Managing Editor of Yishu: Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art, Adjunct Director of the Institute of Asian Art at the Vancouver Art Gallery, and a trustee of Asia Art Archive in America. Zheng has organised and curated numerous exhibitions and events, and has frequently contributed to periodicals and catalogues. In 2013, Zheng Shengtian: Selected Writing on Art was published in four volumes. In 2011, he was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for curatorial work by the Vancouver Biennale. He received an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from Emily Carr University of Art + Design in 2013.

李悦歆| 葛凯| 郑胜天

李悦歆

「新中国的陈列橱:东德莱比锡博览会上的中国馆」

五十年代,中华人民共和国定期参加德意志民主共和国莱比锡老城举办的国际贸易展。在艺术家张仃率领的团队所设计的宏伟展馆中,中国展示了其重工业、建筑和工程设备,另有电器、原材料样品、金属、农产品、纺织品、丝绸、皮裘、茶叶,更有玉器、景泰蓝制品和象牙雕等高级工艺品。规模仅次于苏联馆的中国馆,是最受欢迎的展区之一,经常有人排长队等候进入展馆。虽然如此,中国在莱比锡博览会的故事却未受历史学家重视。这场演讲将探讨中国历年在博览会的展览,并指出「社会主义中国制造」的出口、展览和消费乃「中国制造」大历史的重要部分。

李悦歆是伦敦国王学院当代中国史副教授,其研究方向为现代中国的文化、政治、法制和物质史。她着有《Legal Lessons: Popularizing Laws in the People's Republic of China, 1949–1989》(Harvard University Press,2018年),该书探讨社会主义中国的法律宣传和法制知识传播。她发表的论文主题包括政治宣传生产、资讯、词典编纂、政治讽刺的历史,以及关于1989年前中国与其他社会主义国家的联系。她目前获Arts and Humanities Research Council Leadership Fellowship资助其研究,探讨1949年后中国的工业设计历史,包括中国参与国际贸易展的概况,以及设计师、建筑师与政府官员之间的交流。

葛凯

「令人趋之若鹜的日常物品:从手表、缝纫机和自行车看毛泽东时代的中国」

毛泽东时代的中国人想要什么?而政府对人民消费欲望的控制,呈现了这个时代的哪些面貌? 1949年后,国内一些特定的产品,尤其是进口消费品,变得愈来愈难购买。当时有许多人们想要的东西,都无法通过合法渠道获得。政府尝试将某些产品定义为「资产阶级」或「封建主义」产物,从而压抑人民的消费渴望,并将新旧消费意欲转移到国货之上。本演讲讨论中国政府如何借着「三大件」来塑造人民的消费欲望。在毛泽东时代,手表、缝纫机、自行车是全中国城市和农村家庭都渴望拥有的主要消费品,而它们最终均在国内制造。这些产品的扩大生产、流通及其社会生命的历史,有助阐释在毛泽东时代国家所尝试遏止的「资产阶级」消费主义何以扩散。

葛凯是美国加州大学圣地牙哥分校历史系教授兼中国研究讲座教授。他的近作《中国消费的崛起》(Farrar, Straus and Giroux,2010年;中译本:中信出版社,2011年)探讨中国消费者能否挽救经济,而不会造成更深层次的全球问题。他亦着有《制造中国:消费文化与民族国家的创建》(哈佛大学出版社,2003年;中译本:北京大学出版社,2007年)。他目前正在撰写的著作,则研究1949年中共建国后中国各大城市的消费主义存续。

郑胜天

「跨越太平洋:一段隐没的历史」

从五十年代至七十年代末,中国开始与「第三世界」的发展中国家交流往来,尤其是1955年中国在万隆会议上确立此一政治立场之后。中国与墨西哥和拉丁美洲艺术家的交流,正是这种往来关系的明证,但却一直被主流历史叙述所忽略。

墨西哥和中国对话的最早纪录可追溯至二十世纪初。中华人民共和国成立后,中国与拉丁美洲的文化交流继续发展。在五十年代,智利艺术家何塞・万徒勒里(José Venturelli)作为亚洲太平洋区域和平会议代表常驻北京。除了身负政治责任,他亦积极向中国艺术家介绍拉丁美洲艺术。数年之后墨西哥艺术家Xavier Guerrero、David Alfaro Siqueiros、Ignacio Aguirre 和Arturo García Bustos亦相继访问中国。 1956年,两场墨西哥油画及版画展在北京、上海及广州巡回展出。展览的作品为国内带来前所未见的风格和概念,在二十世纪下半叶对中国艺术家影响深远。

本次演讲将介绍一些鲜为人知的材料,如文档、研究纪录和艺术作品,它们展现了跨文化史上一个引人入胜但一直被忽视的篇章。

居于温哥华的郑胜天身兼艺术家、学者及策展人。 1990年前,他担任中国美术学院教授及油画系主任,并曾是明尼苏达大学及圣地亚哥州立大学客座教授、梁洁华艺术基金会秘书长及温哥华当代亚洲艺术国际中心创会理事。他目前担任《Yishu: Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art》(典藏国际版)的总策划、温哥华美术馆亚洲馆兼任总监及亚洲艺术文献库(美国)理事。他策划过多场展览和活动,并常在期刊及图录发表论著。 2013年,他出版了四卷本的《郑胜天艺文选》。 2011年,温哥华双年展向他颁发「终身成就奖」,以表扬其策展成就。 2013年,郑胜天获加拿大Emily Carr 艺术和设计大学颁授荣誉博士学位。