Hamlet, An Enemy of the People, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Hedda Gabler, Richard III, A Doll’s House... These are some of the classic texts known and loved by audiences and theatre directors alike. But staging these classics poses challenges, not just for directors, but also for stage designers. 

While everyone is familiar with the texts, there is more than one way of interpreting the stories. In Shakespeare’s day, stages were bare platforms with the audience standing close around; at the time of Ibsen, stages were designed to create a distance between the actors and the viewers. But the concept of distance is very different now from what it was 400 years ago. With the rapid development of technology and contemporary art, ways of looking and seeing have long changed from “seeing what is” to “seeing what is conveyed”. 

How does an architect construct a stage that conveys more than “what is”? In other words, rather than creating a stage that follows the directions laid out in the script, what can set designers do to create space for imagination and bring new perspectives and ideas to these canonical works? 

For this year’s What is Stage, we have invited Jan Pappelbaum, an important and influential stage designer and former student of architecture from Germany. As a stage designer, Pappelbaum’s most important contributions have been the works he has produced since joining the Schaubühne Theatre in Berlin in 2001. Most of these works have been created in response to the special features of the three theatres inside the building, which can be merged or separated, with his designs creating infinite possibilities for different types of texts and performances within these spaces.

Joining us for a four-day intensive artist seminar, Pappelbaum will share how his work begins with the script, how he analyses and visualises the text, how he creates a model and deals with the materials and proportions of the set, and how the concept is finally presented to the audience.

Artistic Director of Edward Lam Dance Theatre
Edward Lam

About Scenography

Dating back to 20th century Eastern Europe, the term scenography embraces all elements of the theatrical space, approaching a production as an holistic experience. The role of the scenographer differs from a set designer or costumer designer, they are artists with specific skills and a unique aesthetic sense. The practice of scenography in theatre making has evolved over the years, especially within the contemporary theatre scene. More than just set design, scenography is also more than the sum of the set, props, costumes and lighting. It is a practice akin to the manipulation of space and time, and the scenographer, as such, is like a magician who determines what the audience is allowed to see and how they see it.

About the “Creation” Series

At its heart, West Kowloon’s artistic strategy is to create good works for our future venues, works that have a longer lifespan in order to reach larger audiences. These works will need a more rigorous creation pathway over a longer gestation period.

To this end, we are committed to providing more artists from Hong Kong and the region with access to a range of professional workshops, research and development programmes, collaboration opportunities and discourse that help to clarify their artistic practice and strengthen the pathways to making good work. Between 2015 and 2018, we have developed a number of initiatives such as the New Works Forum, the International Workshop Festival of Theatre and various seminars that have benefitted many artists and their practice. Such programmes have also helped build strong relationships with international artists and artistic institutions.

These initiatives are now rebranded under a district-wide platform called “Creation” that encompasses artist capacity building programmes, works development, artist residencies, and artist-led research and development. Creation is a workshop, a place to create and generate new ideas. A place where artists put things together, and where people gather to create together. Creation will exist in different forms across different artistic disciplines, and across our new venues, as Creation for Freespace, Creation for Lyric Theatre Complex and Creation for Xiqu Centre.

《哈姆雷特》、《人民公敌》、《仲夏夜之梦》、《海达‧盖伯诺》、《理察三世》和《娜拉》,每一部都是备受观众和戏剧导演欢迎的经典剧作。每一次搬上舞台除了考验导演的诠释功力,也是对舞台设计的一大挑战。

文本是家传户晓的,但不代表随着时间改变,同一个故事,它的意义就不能日新月异。莎士比亚的舞台是接近群众的;易卜生的舞台是要让观众通过距离来观看,但光是「接近」与「距离」的概念,对于400年前与400 年后已是大相径庭。尽管舞台仍是舞台,但由于当代艺术观念改变,加上科技急剧发展,观众对于如何看早就由实变虚,从「绝对写实」演变成「经过处理的现实」。

「什么是舞台」系列的第二年,请来曾修读建筑,再转业舞台设计的德籍舞台美学家杨・帕佩尔巴姆现身说法。

「经过处理的现实」需要怎样的建筑师?这个问题的实际意思是,相对于按照剧本设定重现各个场景的「绝对写实」的舞台建筑,怎样的舞台设计家,能用他对建筑的理念,给观众开拓更大的想像空间,为历史悠久的经典文本带来新的视角与对话?

帕佩尔巴姆将与参加者通过四天研讨会,分享他如何从剧本开始,怎样剖析和想像文本,落实到搭建模型、处理物料和比例,到最后把构思呈现在观众眼前。

非常林奕华艺术总监
林奕华

有关舞台美学
舞台美学(Scenography)一词源于20世纪东欧,它不是一个单一舞台元素,而是揉合多个舞台元素而产生的一个专业名词。于执行上,场景设计师(Scenographer)亦与剧场常见的布景设计、服装设计等针对性岗位不同,他是集合各种技能并持独特美学的艺术家。在当代剧场发展中,舞台美学历经演变,其意义超越了纯粹的舞台设计,涵盖内容甚至超出了布景、道具、服装及灯光等舞台元素加起来的总和。舞台美学可说是关于创造时空的艺术,犹如一位舞台的魔术师,决定观众「看什么」、引领观众「怎么看」。

有关西九「自由空间・创作」
创作优秀作品是西九文化区艺术发展策略的其中一个核心理念,让作品在更完善的制作生态下,接触更广大的观众群,为未来的场地做好准备。我们相信创作优秀作品往往需要长时间的酝酿及有利条件的配合,才能精益求精。

有见及此,西九一直致力为香港及亚洲区内艺术家提供机会,以专业工作坊、研究与开发项目、联合制作,以及交流研讨等活动,让艺术家完善创作,开拓不同路向。过去三年,西九推出了「新作论坛」及「国际剧场工作坊节」等一系列项目,一方面让艺术家提升个人造诣,另一方面协助他们建立与国际网络。

西九整合各个项目并推出名为「创作」的艺术发展平台,涵盖完善创作实践及钻研全新作品等范围,包括艺术家驻留、交流及研究等计划。 「创作」是一个孕育创意、刺激思考的平台,结集各路艺术家一同进行各种实验。

「创作」会以不同形式呈现,跨越不同表演艺术类型及场地,包括「自由空间・创作」、「演艺综合剧场・创作」及「戏曲中心・创作」。