Here Is Where Home Becomes a Movie
Yung Ma

The history of the home movie is relatively short. But how they are made has evolved rapidly with time, from film to tape and now digital. And thanks to modern technology, its popularity has been on the rise; we just need to take a look at various social media platforms, where there are millions of clips of babies’ first steps, dancing toddlers, and birthday celebrations available for streaming.

From the very beginning, it has never been my intention to tackle the history of the home movie or to unearth hidden treasures from attics around the world. Instead, I am interested in artists and filmmakers who employ various approaches to capture the utterly personal, and more often than not, touch upon something greater.

Since the home movie is a method numerous professionals as well as amateurs have explored, the selection for this programme is of course far from comprehensive. These selected films and videos, hailing from diverse geographies and eras, represent some of the best examples I have encountered in recent years. As a whole, they illustrate how (re)traced, (re)interpreted, (re)constructed, or (re)imagined personal histories can reflect our collective past and present, as well as our increasingly complex relationships to the world at large.

The programme opens with the documentary No Home Movie, Chantal Akerman’s last film, an intensely personal and intimate portrayal of the filmmaker’s mother, Natalia, a Holocaust survivor. The film is not a radical departure from the home movie genre; it records the last moments of Natalia’s life within her apartment. Akerman intercuts shots of mundane activities and a bourgeois interior with in-person and Skype conversations between her mother and herself. Slowly, a sense of melancholy seeps through, and it becomes painfully apparent that the filmmaker is desperate to capture (or reconstruct) her mother’s memories.

This theme continues through the short video 0116643225059 by Apichatpong Weerasethakul, which is a visual ode to the artist’s mother. His other experimental short, Meteorites, layers real and surreal images to pay homage to the daily life of his hometown. Both Melchor Bacani III’s Minsan Isang Panahon (Once Upon a Time) and Class Picture by the Filipino artist collective Tito & Tita reappropriate old images of personal significance to evoke the impression of fading memory. While stylistically disparate, Yau Ching’s Is There Anything Specific You Want Me to Tell You About? and Video Letters 1-2 are both visual letters by a wanderer, attempting to reconnect with a distant place called home.

In Embracing, told mostly from the director’s first person viewpoint against a backdrop of a highly patriarchal culture, Naomi Kawase’s search for an autonomous identity is shadowed by her longing for her absent father. Meanwhile, Fiona Tan’s multicultural background serves as the basis of her documentary May You Live in Interesting Times. The film narrates her globe-trotting effort to map the stories and histories of her family, bringing forth a poignant tale that resonates with the shared reality of the diaspora. In Shape of a Right Statement, Wu Tsang performs a monologue re-enacting a speech by the American blogger Amanda Baggs, complicating the line between private and public. In Flora Lau’s Start from Zero, the act of imagining is pivotal. The film weaves together real and fictional histories, including a song by the late megastar Leslie Cheung, to present a nostalgic yet hopeful version of Hong Kong. 

La Ciénaga by Lucrecia Martel is a cinematic tour-de-force that hints at the familial tension brewing under a perfect façade. Kao Chung-li takes Chris Marker’s La Jetée as a point of departure for Belated Punctum: La Jetée 2, a moving image collage that draws links between personal history and historical events. Singing Chen’s feature film Bundled uses a found videotape of home movies to examine larger social issues, such as mental illness and homelessness. While in a decidedly more dramatic fashion, and perhaps as a commentary on the role of family in modern society, Yorgos Lanthimos has crafted a disturbing (dis)utopia in Dogtooth. The history and contested sovereignty of a disputed state is illuminated through songs and music by Jumana Manna in her film A Magical Substance Flows into Me. Things take a much darker turn in Kim Kyung-mook’s Stateless Things where personal destinies clash violently in a deeply divided Korea.

It is important that this programme goes beyond the personal, covering different ground to position the home movie as a catalyst for new ideas. And the notion of home and family has evolved in tandem with advances in technology, which is why I selected John Akomfrah’s The Stuart Hall Project as the closing film. The work is a tribute to the life and achievements of the late cultural theorist Stuart Hall. It charts his existence in a world ravaged by conflicts as well as racial and cultural tension. I also believe it expands on the meaning of family: it is a film made by one friend for another, an intimate reflection of Hall through the eyes of someone close to him. To me, it is an ideal closing note that encapsulates the place of the home movie.

把家庭带进电影
马容元

从菲林到录影带,再到现今的数码拍摄,家庭电影的历史虽说不上悠久,却乘着这些变化而在短时间内有急速的演进。婴儿学步、孩童跳舞、生日庆祝的片段充斥于不同社交媒体平台上,足以证明科技的发展造就了家庭电影普及化。

我并没有意图去追溯家庭电影的历史,或是去发掘散落世界各地的影视宝藏。由始至终,我感兴趣的都是艺术家和导演如何透过不同方法和语言来阐述自身的故事,并以此为出发点,探触更宽阔的议题。

相较于众多专家和业余者对家庭电影的探讨,本次放映所挑选的作品也许谈不上全面或深入,却都是近年来我看过的最佳作品。这些电影和录像来自不同的国家,展示个人历史如何被(再)追溯、(再)阐释、(再)建构以及(再)想像,并折射于我们过去与当下的集体历史中。当然,这也反映了我们身处的世界内日益复杂的关系。

放映以桑堤艾格曼的遗作《不是家庭电影》为开首,影片以极为个人和私密的视角描绘了导演的母亲Natalia,一位纳粹大屠杀幸存者。沉重的人物背景没有使作品偏离家庭电影的类别。电影记录了Natalia 在住所里度过最后的时光,穿插着她与艾格曼的生活点滴,以及两人面对面的沟通和视像对话。愁绪随着画面的交替渗透于电影当中,揭示了导演想要极力捕捉(或重构)母亲记忆的沉痛思绪。

Apichatpong Weerasethakul 的短片《0116643225059》宛如一首視覺短詩,延續我們對母親這個題材的探索。他的另一部實驗短片《隕石》則以虛實交疊的日常生活影像對家鄉人民致敬。另一邊廂,Melchor Bacani III 的《往事》和菲律賓藝術組合 Tito & Tita 的《班級照片》均挪用了導演珍藏的舊照片,藉此呼喚褪色的回憶。與之迥異的,有游靜的《你有甚麼特別的事要我告訴你?》和《錄像書簡1-2》,兩片意圖以「視信」式的家書重新連繫起遠方的家。

河濑直美在父权文化极为浓厚的时代背景下,以自身故事为题材拍摄了《拥抱》这部作品。父亲在生命中的长时间缺席,使河濑在寻找自主和自我身份的过程中一直受到牵制。与此同时,Fiona Tan 多元的文化背景成为其纪录片《愿妳生活多姿多彩》的根基,细诉她如何辗转各地以连系家族故事和历史;娓娓道来的忧伤神话,与现实中的离散互相呼应。艺术家曾吴的《一篇权利宣言的形状》则重新演绎了一段由美国博客Amanda Baggs发表的演讲独白,使私人与公众之间的界线变得更加模糊。刘韵文的《由零开始》以想像为骨干,交织真实与虚构的历史,并凭歌寄意,借张国荣的歌声呈现拥抱过去、展望将来的香港。

同时,Lucrecia Martel 的《沼泽》为我们带来一场影像之旅,引领我们掀开一个完美家庭的布幕,一窥他们的真面目。高重黎的《延迟的刺点──堤II》取材自Chris Marker 执导的《堤》,史诗式的影像经过拼贴,勾勒出个人经历与历史事件之间的关系。陈芯宜的剧情片《我叫阿铭啦》围绕一盒拾回来的家庭电影录像带,借此审视精神病及露宿者等宏观社会议题。尤格蓝西莫的《狗牙》,则以更为戏剧化的方式,透过一个令人不安的(反)乌托邦设定,批判家庭在现代社会中扮演的角色。此外,Jumana Manna 的《灵感泉涌》借歌曲和音乐谱写了一篇历史和主权皆备受争议的国家的乐章。金敬穆的《啐啄同机》探讨了个人遭遇如何于分裂的韩国社会中产生猛烈的碰撞。

超越个人故事的层面,以不同的视野拉阔家庭电影的概念,将其视为新意念的催化剂,是这次放映重要的理念。家与家庭的概念与科技发展息息相关,思及此,我特意将John Akomfrah 的《霍尔计划》作为闭幕电影。此作品无疑是对晚期文化理论家霍尔的生活及成就的诚挚敬礼,刻划了他如何在一个被种族和文化拉扯、被冲突所淹没的世界中昂首阔步的动人意志。这部纪录片是导演对友人的致敬,我相信这不仅反映了霍尔与Akomfrah的亲密关系,也扩阔了家庭的定义,为我所希望阐释的家庭电影落下了最完美的注脚。