Cao FeiChoi Jeong HwaJeremy DellerJiakun Architects / Liu JiakunPaul McCarthyTomás SaracenoTam Wai Ping

Cao Fei

House of Treasures; Photo by Nicholas Tse

Born 1978 in Guangzhou, China
Lives and works in Beijing

Cao Fei’s photography, video installations and new media works look at aspects of role play, fantasy and simulated reality within today’s media-saturated society. Attuned to the desires and fantasies of the young, Cao’s artistic practice poignantly captures the ways in which others imagine themselves amidst the hyper-transformative and often disillusioning context of contemporary China.

Cao received critical acclaim for COSPlayers (2004), a photographic series that focuses on the cult of “costume play”, in which young people dress up to inhabit the fantasy role of their favourite animated characters. Cao’s costumed teenagers are depicted in striking strident poses at construction sites, grassy meadows or simply lounging at home with their parents like alienated, displaced superheroes. Following her interest in simulated and parallel realities, Cao launched RMB City in 2008, a long-term project in which she uses the online platform of Second Life to create her own virtual utopia that she inhabits as both participant and observer through her own Second Life avatar, China Tracy. At once a comment on the hyper-capitalistic iterations of Chinese urban development and the vast virtual landscape of alter-egos, role-playing and dislocated desires, RMB City is also a platform that integrates art, design, architecture, literature, cinema, politics, economics and society to reveal the boundaries between virtual and physical existence.

Fascinated by places and moments in which people can bring their private imaginings to life and intersect with the public sphere, Cao has created House of Treasures (2013) — an outsize inflatable suckling pig that celebrates themes of prosperity and abundance. Part playful interactive attraction, part nod to Hong Kong’s food-obsessed culture, House of Treasures injects a space of leisure and pleasure into the West Kowloon site, while prompting visitors to ponder the meaning behind such enjoyment. Viewers accustomed to seeing this food item at a banquet table can now witness it transformed into a larger-than-life space of fantasy and adventure. As in many of Cao’s works, such transfiguration offers a way for audiences to retreat, momentarily, to a space of total imagination.

Choi Jeong Hwa

Emptiness is Form. Form is Emptiness; Photo by Nicholas Tse

Born 1961 in Seoul, South Korea
Lives and works in Seoul

Seoul-based Choi Jeong Hwa is an artist and designer whose work moves between the disciplines of visual art, graphic design, industrial design and architecture. Best known for his large-scale inflatable sculptures — notably lotus blossoms — Choi’s practice is marked by an irreverent take on cultural icons and materials that permeate our daily life. Large-scale outdoor sculptures crafted from diverse materials such as consumer goods, balloons, wires, as well as recycled and found objects are the hallmarks of Choi’s playful repertoire. But it is his lotus flowers — produced in bright red, green, metallic gold and black — which directly comment on the dichotomous relationships of what is real and synthetic, natural and artificial, landscape and urban.

Improbable in colour as they are in size, Choi’s lotus blossoms have been displayed in city squares and public parks around the world. Whether placed in grassy fields, floating on a body of water or mechanised to appear as though “breathing” or wafting in the wind, each presentation offers distinct ways for viewers to engage with the work, and for the work to respond to its given location. These are crucial factors for Choi since he views his sculptures as a form of intervention whereby their presence may interrupt, challenge or formally contrast with their immediate surroundings. Large-scale public installations such as 1000 Doors (千Doors) (2009), a building façade in Seoul fashioned out of thousands of used doors, and Hubble Bubble (2010), featuring stacked columns of neon-green kitchen colanders around structures in public spaces, demonstrate Choi’s fondness for found materials as well as his ongoing dialogue with the built environment of cities.

Choi’s recurring use of the lotus flower elicits multiple, overlapping readings. It may simultaneously speak to the flower’s rich spiritual connotations to Buddhist iconography and the quick disappearance of such beliefs in the face of rapid urban development. Blown up to larger-than-life proportions, rendered in synthetic colours and materials, and pulsating in a slow rhythm, Choi’s lotus flowers downgrade this sanctified symbol from a religious icon to an ornament of lighthearted visual pleasure. Departing from his usual cheery hues, Emptiness is Form. Form is Emptiness. (2013) re-casts this iconic symbol of purity as something seemingly dark, or solemn. By placing the work on the future site of the park of West Kowloon Cultural District — a plot of land which cannot be said to be either wholly natural or man-made — Choi also points to hazy relationships between nature and artifice, urban and non-urban space, and to the presence, or absence, of nature within Hong Kong’s increasingly urban, often consumer-frenzied environment.

Jeremy Deller

Sacrilege; Photo by Nicholas Tse

Born 1966 in London, UK
Lives and works in London

Over the past two decades, UK-based artist Jeremy Deller has been highly influential and instrumental in pioneering new methods of making art collaboratively. His interactions with artists, musicians, historians, collectors and performers have yielded multi-layered video and installation works that push our understanding of social and cultural phenomena, as well as transgress the divide between the artist (or artwork) and the audience. Known for forging innovative modes of public participation, Deller seeks to undermine the strict distinctions that exist between the “professional” and the “amateur” by embracing communal societies, underground groups and eccentricities in vernacular culture within his own native Britain. Encompassing music, film, ephemeral performances, archival research, public processions and disconnected gestures in public space, Deller’s work continually reinforces the power of community over the individual, and the social value of inclusion over isolation.

One of Deller’s signature practices involves overlapping improbable styles or media. An early example would be Acid Brass (1997), a musical collaboration with a brass band that fused traditional brass band compositions with acid house and Detroit techno. In 2001, Deller staged his breakthrough The Battle of Orgreave that brought together nearly one thousand people in a public reenactment of a violent confrontation from the 1984 Miners’ Strike in Orgreave, England. The widely celebrated work united a variety of Deller’s interests — from participation and self-organisation, to highly specialised (and localised) bodies of knowledge. The work also poignantly touched on strategies of reenactment, reproduction and re-performance, as well as the collective claim individuals have to the narration of history.

Sacrilege (2012) — a life-size bouncy castle in the shape of Stonehenge — encapsulates Deller’s interest in the generative spirit of public participation. By recasting one of the world’s most famous existing prehistoric monuments (closed to the public since 1977) as an interactive public sculpture, he allows audiences to reacquaint themselves with history in a high-spirited and entertaining manner. By titling it Sacrilege, Deller cleverly counteracts the work’s amusement-park qualities by alluding to the monument’s sacred origins head-on. Among the most well-recognised and oft-reproduced icons of the modern era, Stonehenge’s characteristic forms have been copied and replicated in a variety of materials, scales and styles across the globe from Europe to China. It is therefore fitting that this “monument of the world” should find a temporary home in Hong Kong — a “world city” with a complicated colonial past — and upon the endlessly evolving site of West Kowloon.

Jiakun Architects / Liu Jiakun

With the Wind; Photo by Nicholas Tse

Born 1956 in Chengdu, China
Lives and works in Chengdu

Liu Jiakun is founder and principal architect of JIAKUN ARCHITECTS. Liu’s architectural practice is characterised by an exploration of constraints — of materials, construction skills and building processes. Active in China since the mid-1990s, Liu embraces a stripped-down, rugged sensibility in his work as a way to counteract the high gloss of most commercially oriented structures. Among his earliest projects was He Duoling Villa, a studio-cum-residence designed for Sichuan painter He Duoling in 1996. Taking the traditional Chinese courtyard building as a departure point, the “villa” used a labyrinthine sequence of interior spaces to surround a central patio and walkways. The work established Liu as an advocate of an alternative form of architectural practice that stood out against China’s rapidly developing, architecture-as-object building boom.

The Luyeyuan Museum of Stone Sculpture (2002) in Xinmin, Sichuan province, epitomises the limits and challenges of working in rural China and JIAKUN ARCHITECTS’ ability to transform these constraints into opportunities. Faced with a limited budget and the rudimentary skills of rural builders, Liu settled on a design approach that embraced “rough” or informal techniques. These included using poured concrete and shale bricks to form both interior and exterior walls, which masked imperfections in fabrication while giving the walls the dramatic texture of a “stony” and “underground” space. As an active participant in producing temporary installations in artistic platforms, such as the perpendicular and intersecting walking platforms for “Crossroads – The First Chengdu Biennale” (2001) and the site-specific courtyard-like space Black Well at the 2002 Shanghai Biennale, Liu has critically employed architectural thinking on the level of conceptual speculation, material-spatial manipulation and public engagement.

Another of Liu’s public artworks is With the Wind, a project first created in 2002 on the occasion of a private gathering in Chengdu, and later reprised for the 2009 Shenzhen Hong Kong Bi-City Biennale for Architecture and Urbanism. In this work, the powerful vocabulary of modern forms employed in Liu’s built structures is replaced by a more fleeting and lighthearted approach. In Chengdu, the work featured a mesh canopy suspended by floating Chinese lantern-shaped balloons, with bamboo fans dangling from the edges of the screen for visitors to use while reclining in the shade. The version of With the Wind created for “Mobile M+: Inflation!” adheres closer to its Shenzhen counterpart — several round floating spheres hovering above an open-air space holding up a swath of black netting to create a shaded area for relaxation and respite from the outdoor elements. Repurposing readily found, inexpensive materials, and simultaneously inhabiting diaphanous and robust qualities, With the Wind merges Liu’s bucolic sensibility with the urban landscape of West Kowloon. 

Paul McCarthy

Complex Pile; Photo by Nicholas Tse

Born 1945 in Salt Lake City, USA
Lives and works in Los Angeles

Paul McCarthy is arguably one of the most celebrated and influential American visual artists working today. Known for his video-taped performances and provocative multimedia installations that lampoon polite society and ridicule authority, McCarthy’s name has become synonymous with nausea-inducing and taboo-breaking approaches to making art. As an educator, McCarthy has also been profoundly influential to multiple generations of artists through his more than two decades of teaching at the University of California, Los Angeles. His groundbreaking oeuvre combines cherished American icons of innocence or purity with sexually-tinged, violent imagery and messy outpourings of food, paint and body fluids. These experiments have not only been central to discourses on American performance and video art in the 1970s and 1980s, but have helped to pioneer the use of satire and sarcasm in the global language of contemporary art.

Early in his career, McCarthy sought to break out from the limitations of painting by using the body as a paintbrush or canvas — most notably in Face Painting – Floor, White Line (1972), a videotaped performance in which the artist drags his body in paint across the floor. Later, as witnessed in his seminal work Painter (1995), the commentary on artmaking devolved into a self-inflicted mess involving costumed figures, prosthetics, ketchup, mayonnaise and assorted body fluids. Walking the line between sensation and agitation, McCarthy’s psychosexual collisions centre on the body as both a container and producer of internal anxieties brought on by the ills of contemporary society.

Complex Pile is a 51-foot-high, 110-foot-long, inflatable sculpture of a twisted pile of excrement. Embodying his rare ability to leverage bad taste to infiltrate the well-mannered confines of the art world, Complex Pile mocks its picturesque surroundings and pokes fun at the prudent qualities of public sculpture. Following a long line of other large-scale inflatable sculptures by the artist — among them, Daddies Tomato Ketchup (2007) and Santa Butt Plug (2007) — Complex Pile also uses its massive size to disrupt perceptions of space, instilling a sense of uncertainty in the viewer and destabilising the pastoral setting of a public park. Despite its airy weightlessness, McCarthy’s work provokes a hefty scrutiny of fundamental beliefs, in particular assumptions of beauty and attractiveness in art. 

Tomás Saraceno

Poetic Cosmos of the Breath; Photo by Nicholas Tse

Born 1973 in Tucumán, Argentina
Lives and works in Frankfurt

Trained as an architect, Tomás Saraceno is an internationally recognised artist who creates inflatable structures and sculptural installations as speculative models of experiencing the built environment. Inspired by naturally occurring geometric patterns and forms, Saraceno’s experiments are both elegantly engineered and visually mesmerising. Made of various synthetic surfaces and structures, his carefully constructed webs, bubbles and spheres offer immersive spaces to walk, climb, play or recline on. Entering one of his floating cells or suspended habitats, people are led to imagine themselves as individual proponents acting within a vast networked system of organisms, materials and natural forces. Throughout Saraceno’s practice — from his frequent collaborations with scientists, engineers, chemists, botanists, astrophysicists and biologists, to his explorations with alternative energy and solar-powered technologies — lies a utopian sensibility.

Saraceno is perhaps most known for his ongoing Cloud Cities project, first installed on the rooftop of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York in 2012. Consisting of a large geodesic dome, the work’s sixteen interconnected modules outfitted with reflective and transparent glass components are designed to create dizzying spatial illusions as the audience enter the sculpture and view the city through a variety of distorted and unfamiliar perspectives. Similar interactive installations such as On Space Time Foam (2012) or Galaxies Forming along Filaments, like Droplets along the Strands of a Spider’s Web (2009), crafted from steel wires,mirrors, as well as transparent and translucent surfaces, have established Saraceno as an artist skilled at manipulating symmetrical forms to challenge notions of place, space and gravity.

Inspired by the work of Dominic Michaelis, an English architect and inventor who pioneered the technology for a solar-powered hot air balloon, Poetic Cosmos of the Breath is a time-based experimental solar dome that takes flight only under certain climatic conditions. It uses deceptively simple materials — a paper-thin foil membrane accompanied by a few sandbags and a handful of participants — to produce a startlingly ethereal, shimmering effect. Staged at dawn, as temperature conditions naturally shift, air inside the balloon is heated by a greenhouse effect and the lightweight material slowly lifts off the ground unaided by machines or electrical power. At the same time, sunlight cast through the material creates a vibrant rainbow-tinged iridescent glow. Conceived for “Mobile M+: Inflation!” as a temporary event occurring periodically during the show rather than as fixed structure, Poetic Cosmos of the Breath highlights not only the impermanence of public sculpture. It poses new possibilities for imagining humanity’s relationship with the natural world. 

Tam Wai Ping

Falling into the Mundane World; Photo by Nicholas Tse

Born 1967 in Hong Kong, China
Lives and works in Hong Kong

Tam Wai Ping works in a variety of media ranging from photography and video to outdoor installations that juxtapose notions of reality and fiction, home and identity. His measured process and embrace of elemental forms emerge from the artist’s interest to uncover new or unexpected relationships between land, environment and community.

One of Tam’s more ambitious works to date is Temple, a project that was initiated during a residency in Taipei in 2001 and completed nearly five years later in 2005. It began with Tam’s fascination with an important Taoist temple known as Temple of the City God that he came across in Dadaocheng, Taipei. Built in Taiwan in 1821, this temple was an offshoot of an original temple in Fujian province by the same name. Inspired by the notion of migrating cultures, Tam decided to produce an inflatable copy of this temple structure that would be manufactured in China and then shipped to Taiwan to be shown alongside the original. Encompassing multiple locales — the site of the historic building in Fujian; the physical site in Dadaocheng, Taiwan; and the production site in Mainland China — Temple also brought together the local Taiwanese community during its moment of inflation and brief “flight” above the original building. Another public installation by Tam, entitled Stairs (2006), used excavated dirt to sculpt two staircases in mirror image form. One emerged from the earth and reached upward, while the other descended from the ground into a cavernous hole. The work capitalises on formal aspects — namely, the use of positive and negative space — to comment on the natural occurrence of contrasting or opposing forces in society.

Falling into the Mundane World (2013), a new commission for “Mobile M+: Inflation!”, reflects Tam’s ongoing interest in working in the public realm and exploring myriad responses to specific sites and contexts. The oversized female legs and cockroach sculptures point to ubiquitous aspects of life in Hong Kong as well as underlying ills that plague contemporary society at large. Despite the gargantuan proportions and upturned positioning of the work, Tam does not intend to provoke feelings of desire and violence, but rather to critique our conditioned responses to these stimuli over time, and address increasing levels of desensitisation towards our everyday surroundings. Purposely containing an element of spectacle, Falling into the Mundane World is also an acknowledgement of how artworks today are made to function as mild forms of cultural entertainment.

曹斐崔正化Jeremy Deller家琨建筑设计事务所/刘家琨Paul McCarthyTomás Saraceno谭伟平

曹斐

《珠玉满堂》; 摄影:谢盛通

1978年生于中国广州
现于北京居住及工作

曹斐的摄影、录像装置和新媒体艺术作品,探讨现今媒体饱和的社会中角色扮演、梦幻空想和虚拟现实的一面。她的创作中融合年青人的欲望和幻想,尖锐地捕捉各人身处中国当代语境,历逢巨变、然后往往幻想破灭的情况之下对自身的想像。

曹斐2004年的摄影系列作品《角色》大获好评,系列集中于「角色扮演」(costume play)文化,年轻人盛装穿戴,投入梦幻角色,扮演其喜爱的动漫人物。艺术家的作品中,穿起漫画服饰的青少年或在建筑工地和杂草堆中装腔作势,或在家中跟父母百无聊赖,活像格格不入、流离失所的超级英雄。曹斐延续其对虚拟真实与平行世界的兴趣,于2008年开展一项长期计划︰《人民城寨》,运用网上游戏平台「第二人生」(Second Life)建设自己的虚拟乌托邦,并以线上游戏身份「中国翠西」身兼参与者和观察者的角色。 《人民城寨》当下旨在评论中国城市发展超资本主义的更迭,诉述一个有关改变自我、角色扮演和错位欲望的广阔虚拟空间,亦是一个结合艺术、设计、建筑、文学、电影、政治、经济与社会的平台,揭露虚实之间的种种界线。

艺术家著迷于能让人把私密想像带到现实生活、并与公共领域进行互动的时空,遂创作了《珠玉满堂》(2013)。作品是一只巨型的充气乳猪,象征对繁荣和丰裕的庆颂。一方面是一个带好玩互动的景点,同时向香港迷恋饮食的文化致敬,为西九龙选址注入一片休闲、愉悦的气氛之余,更让观众反思箇中的含义。习惯在宴席上才看到乳猪的观众,现在可以亲眼见证它变身成为一个梦想与历险的非凡空间。跟曹斐的众多作品一样,《珠玉满堂》里的这种「变身」元素让观众步向一个能让人躲避片刻、充满完全幻想的空间。

崔正化

《色即是空》;摄影:谢盛通

1961年生于南韩首尔
现于首尔居住及工作

崔正化是一位以首尔为根据地的艺术家和设计师,作品跨越艺术、平面设计、工业设计和建筑多个界别。艺术家以大型充气雕塑作品尤其是莲花最为人熟知,其作品特点在于一种对文化标志或日常生活素材的调侃。他以丰富多样的物料制造巨型户外雕塑,包括消费品、气球、电线,甚至回收物或现成物等,这都是艺术家富代表性、玩味十足的独特风格;但他的莲花充气雕塑—以鲜红、翠绿、闪金、纯黑制作—直接评论真实和合成、人工和自然、山水和城市之间的二分关系。

艺术家的莲花充气雕塑作品曾于世界各地的广场和公园展示,其色彩与体积均令人瞠目结舌。无论是放在茂密草地上、漂浮在水面、以机动呈现开合「呼吸」形态或是随风飘扬,每个独特的展示方式都让观众介入作品与其互动,并让作品回应所在地点。这两点对艺术家来说都是很重要的因素,因为他把自己的雕塑作品视为一种介入的形式,作品的存在会干扰、挑战周遭环境,或与之形成对比。他的巨型公共装置作品展示其对现成物的钟爱,以及艺术家与城市建筑环境的持续对话。例如于2009年的作品《千Doors》(千门),艺术家用上千扇废弃的门装饰首尔一幢建筑物的外墙;2010年《Hubble Bubble》则用一个个萤光绿色的筛子围绕公共空间的结构。

崔正化在作品中经常使用莲花,引起众多重叠的解读。这可以直接指向佛教符号学中莲花的丰富宗教含义,以及在城市急速发展中,这种信仰的急速消失。艺术家的莲花作品放大至一个不寻常及壮观的比例,以合成颜色和物料呈现,缓缓脉动,从而将莲花这个圣洁的象征从宗教图腾降至一个轻松愉悦的视觉装饰享受。有别于他一贯色调轻快的作品,艺术家2013年的作品《色即是空》(2013),重新把象征着纯洁的莲花变得阴沉或严肃。西九文化区M+的选址,是一片难以定义为纯天然或人工的土地。艺术家借着展示作品《色即是空》于此地,点出天然与人工、城市和非城市之间的朦胧关系,也点出了在香港这个日益城市化,及往往以消费狂热挂帅的环境中,大自然的存在或缺席。

Jeremy Deller

《占据圣地》;摄影:谢盛通

1966年生于英国伦敦
现于伦敦居住及工作

过去二十年,英国艺术家Jeremy Deller 致力探求新的创作艺术的合作方式,并对此有着极大的影响力。他与艺术家、音乐家、历史学家、收藏家及表演者的互动,制作出层次丰富的录像和装置作品,并进一步推动公众对社会及文化现象的了解并跨越艺术家(或艺术品)与观众之间的分界线。 Deller以创造崭新的公共参与方式而闻名,他跟英国本土不同的公共组织、地下团体及乡土文化另类兴趣小组合作,力求打破「专业」与「业余」之间的严格分类。他的作品蕴含音乐、电影、短暂的表演、资料档案的研究搜集、公众游行及在公共空间的一些不协调的举动,强调群体凌驾于个人的力量、包容多于孤立这等社会的价值。

重叠迥然有别的风格或媒介是艺术家其中一个最具特色的艺术表达方式。较早期例子可追溯至1997年的《Acid Brass》,是一个由一队小型铜管乐队集体创作的音乐作品,混合了传统铜管的曲风、迷幻浩室(acid house)和底特律数码音乐风(Detroit techno)。 2011年,Deller上演其突破性作品《The Battle of Orgreave》,集合差不多一千人,重演了1984年英国欧格里夫一次由罢工演变而成的暴力示威。这件广受好评的作品结合了艺术家广泛的兴趣,从个人参与和自发性组织,以至非常专业知识(和民间)的智慧。其作品亦带辛辣讽刺的意味,触及重演、复制及再现的种种策略,以及个人对历史叙述的集体诉求。

《占据圣地》(Sacrilege)(2012) 以英国的巨石阵为形态,是一个实物大小的充气城堡,蕴含了Deller对于公共参与所衍生的精神的一股兴趣。巨石阵是迄今世上其中一个最著名的史前纪念碑群,1977年开始不再开放予公众参观。艺术家通过重塑此巨石遗址,使之成为一件与公众互动的雕塑,让观众以兴奋玩乐的心情重新认识历史。作品名为《占据圣地》,巧妙地影射出巨石阵的神圣意味,借此抑压作品所蕴含的游乐场感觉。巨石阵是现代最广为人知和最常被复制的图象之一,其独特外型已在全球不同地方被复制,从欧洲到中国,各自采用不同的物料、大小和风格。香港是个有着复杂殖民历史的「国际都会」,而西九则是一片正在不断演化的土地。如此说来,巨石阵这个「世界的遗址」实在理应在香港、在西九,找个暂住的家。

家琨建筑设计事务所/刘家琨

《随风》;摄影:谢盛通

1956年生于中国成都
现于成都定居及工作

刘家琨是「家琨建筑设计事务所」创办人兼首席建筑师,其建筑作品的特点在于对制约因素的探索──如何克服物资短缺、施工技术不足,以及建筑流程的限制。刘家琨九十年代中期开始活跃于中国建筑界,他在作品中注入一种简约耐用的触觉,以抵制商业主导的华丽建筑设计。他的早期项目中,以1996年为四川画家何多苓设计、包含起居和工作空间的「何多苓设计工作室」为代表作。整幢建筑以中国传统庭园建筑为意念出发点,错落有致的室内空间环绕着中央庭园及通道小径。作品令刘家琨成为一种另类建筑模式的提倡者,使他在中国追求高速发展、只看重建筑为物品(architecture-as-object)的建筑热潮中鹤立鸡群。

成都郫县鹿野苑石刻艺术博物馆(2002)集中体现了在中国乡郊地区工作的限制和挑战,以及「家琨建筑设计事务所」转危为机的能力。面对有限资金和乡郊建筑工人的初级手艺,他最后采用一个以「粗糙」或非常规建筑技巧为主的设计方案,例如运用浇注混凝土与页岩砖去造内外墙,这样既可以掩饰因技术不足而来的瑕疵,同时又赋予墙壁一种「石纹状」或「地下岩洞」的戏剧质感。刘家琨亦活跃参与展览活动,在不同艺术平台创作临时装置作品,例如「第一届成都双年展」垂直交错的平台、2002年上海双年展专为该地设计的庭院空间《黑天井》等。作品尽显建筑师在概念思辩、物料与空间处理及公共参与的层面上,如何严格地应用建筑学。

刘家琨另一件公共艺术作品《随风》,于2002年为成都的一次私人聚会首次创造,后来于2009年的「深圳.香港城市/建筑双年展」重新创作。这件作品以更短促而随心的方式取代他在其建筑结构中强而有力的现代建筑语汇。作品在成都展出时,飘浮着的中国灯笼状气球悬挂着黑色遮阴网,幕布角落悬挂着竹扇子,让观众在阴凉处斜倚时使用。这次「M+进行:充气!」展出的《随风》,较接近深圳的版本:好些球体漂浮在半空,吊起长而宽的黑色织网用以遮阴挡雨。作品重新利用垂手可得、廉价、以及同时轻柔而坚韧实在的物料,把他的乡土意识和西九龙的城市景观结合起来。

Paul McCarthy

《复杂物堆》;摄影:谢盛通

1945年生于美国盐湖城
现于洛杉矶居住及工作

Paul McCarthy 毫无疑问是现今其中一位依然活跃、最具名气、最有影响力的美籍视觉艺术家。 McCarthy以其录像行为艺术作品以及挑衅嘲讽上流社会和权威的多媒体装置而闻名,其名字已跟令人恶心、打破禁忌的艺术创作方式划上等号。作为一位教育工作者,McCarthy于美国加洲大学(UCLA)任教超过二十年,对好几代艺术家有着深远的影响。他开创性的作品将美国人所珍视的纯洁标志结合性色彩、暴力图像,以及胡乱泼出的食物、油彩和各种体液。这些实验作品不但在七十至八十年代成为美国行为艺术和录像艺术论述的中心,更有助在全球当代艺术语言中率先使用讽刺和挖苦的元素。

在其早期创作生涯里,McCarthy试图突破绘画的局限性,使用身体作为画笔或画布—最显著的是录像行为艺术作品《Face Painting—Floor, White Line》(1972),艺术家身体涂上油漆,然后面伏于地拖拉着,画出一条白线。其后,从重要作品《Painter》(1995)中可见,艺术家对艺术创作的评述转化成一个自制的烂摊子,混杂着身穿戏装假人、假肢、蕃茄酱、蛋黄酱和各种体液。游走于煽情和激情之间,McCarthy的性心理冲突集中于检视身体如何盛载及制造受当代社会弊病所带动的内在焦虑。

充气雕塑作品《复杂物堆》(Complex Pile)是一堆51英尺高,110英尺长的扭纹状的排泄物。作品体现艺术家的罕有能耐:以差劲的品味渗透着看似彬彬有礼、疆界分明的艺术世界,并以讥讽的态度对待周遭如画景致和公共雕塑向来的审慎素质。跟艺术家的其他众多巨型充气雕塑一样—例如《Daddies Tomato Ketchup》(2007)和《Santa Butt Plug》(2007),《复杂物堆》运用其庞大的体积破坏空间的感觉,向观众灌输疑惑之感,并动摇大家对一个公园的园林景致的想法。虽然雕塑本身轻如无物,McCarthy的作品却招惹对基本信念—诸如艺术「美感」和「吸引力」等的特定假设—的沉重审查。

Tomás Saraceno

《一呼一吸一穹苍》;摄影:谢盛通

1973年生于阿根廷图库曼省
现于法兰克福居住及工作

建筑出身的Tomás Saraceno 是一位斐声国际的艺术家,其充气作品及雕塑装置均是对人如何体验建筑环境所作的不同思考模式。 Saraceno受大自然的几何图案所启发,其实验作品设计优雅,迷人悦目。他精心建构的网状物、气泡和球体,以各种合成物质制成,让人可身处其中,任意步行、攀爬、游玩或躺卧。走进其中一个飘浮细胞空间或悬空居所,让人能想像自己乃是一个庞大的生物、物质和自然力量的网络系统中的一份子。 Saraceno经常与科学家、工程师、化学家、植物学家、天体物理学家和生物学家合作,探索可替代能源和太阳能供电的科技,他的创作实践中包含着一种乌托邦式的感知。

Saraceno最著名的作品莫过于正在进行中的《Cloud Cities》计划,最初于2012年在纽约大都会艺术博物馆屋顶上装置。作品运用十六块互相紧扣的模板,组成一个大穹顶,模板上嵌有透明反射玻璃,观众走进雕塑之中,透过扭曲的陌生视角观看纽约市,作品旨在制造令人目炫的空间错觉。其他类似的互动装置作品,包括2012年的《On Space Time Foam》 和2009年的《Galaxies Forming along Filaments, like Droplets along the Strands of a Spider's Web》,均以钢线、镜子、透明与半透明的物料制成,作品显出Saraceno作为艺术家,如何善于操控摆弄对称形式,以挑战对地点、空间和重力的观念。

是次展出的作品《一呼一吸一穹苍》(Poetic Cosmos of the Breath),灵感来自一位英国建筑师及发明家Dominic Michaelis首创的太阳能热气球,是一个只在特定天气条件下才能起飞的实验性太阳能圆穹。作品只需要其薄如纸的箔膜和几个沙包,加上几位参与者。看似简单的物料,却产生一种令人惊异的空灵之感,波光粼粼。作品在黎明时分展演,温度因日出而自然转变,气球里的空气受温室效应加温,轻盈的物料无须任何机械或电力,开始慢慢离地升高。与此同时,阳光投射在作品表面,反映出活力充沛的七彩华光。 《一呼一吸一穹苍》这项短暂活动,将于展览期间定期发生,其不固定的结构,不仅强调公共雕塑的无常,同时为人类与大自然的关系的想像,带来新的可能性。

谭伟平

《坠入尘土》;摄影:谢盛通

1967年生于中国香港
现于香港居住及工作

谭伟平的作品横跨不同媒体,包括摄影、录像以及户外装置,其装置将现实与虚构、家庭与自我认知的概念并列对照。艺术家喜爱揭露土地、环境和社区之间出人意表的种种关系,由此衍生出其精准的创作过程,以及作品中融合不同元素形式的特色。

《庙》是近年其中一件具野心的作品,这个创作计划于2001年艺术家一次台北驻留时开始构思,创作为期近五年,于2005年完成。艺术家经过台北大稻埕,为当地一栋重要的道教庙宇一城隍庙而著迷,因而萌生创作念头。台北大稻埕城隍庙建于1821年,是福建省同名原庙的一个「分支」。谭伟平受迁徙文化的概念所启发,决定以该城隍庙的结构为蓝图,制作一个充气复制品,于中国内地生产,然后运到台湾,与真庙并列展出。福建原庙、大稻埕城隍庙、中国内地制作工场─《庙》将这些地方集合起来,亦在充气过程和在庙上飘时,把当地本土台湾社区联合起来。另一件公共装置作品《梯间》(2006),运用挖出来的泥土塑造了两条镜像倒转的「梯间」,一条从地面向上成梯,另一条则从地面往下成穴。作品充份运用正空间和负空间的形式,评价社会中相反相抗的力量的自然产生。

《坠入尘土》(2013)是艺术家为「M+进行: 充气!」创作的委约新作,反映艺术家一直对公共空间创作的兴趣,并探索种种对具体场地和语境的回应。作品中巨型的女性双腿及蟑螂塑像,以夸张的比例,指向香港无处不在的生活元素,以及大大困扰着当代社会的潜藏弊病。撇除作品庞大的比例和甚有启示的倒转摆放方式,艺术家无意挑起欲望或暴力,而是想批判人随着时间过去对这些刺激的条件反射,以及诉说人对周遭事物的渐渐麻木。艺术家于《坠入尘土》中特意包含一种富戏剧性奇观的元素,同时也坦承当今艺术品已被造就成不同温和形式的文化娱乐。