Back to "M+ Screenings: Genderfluid" overview

 

There Are No Others / Bight of the Twin

7 Apr (Fri), 8:10pm

There Are No Others (2016)
9 min, Digital, Australia

Shot in extreme slow motion, this majestic series of larger-than-life moving-image portraits features ascending and descending naked forms cascading against a celestial sky. Drawing on the well-established traditions of nude portraiture, the body is seen as a fluid form, free from the constraints of masculine and feminine binaries. The rhythmic entrancement is amplified by Oren Ambarchi’s sparse and unpredictable soundtrack, as well as the ever-changing cloudscape.

Amy Amos Gebhardt (Australian, b. 1976) has created award-winning works in drama, documentary and experimental film, while also exhibiting multi-channel video installations in galleries and museums. As someone who identifies as gender-fluid and non-conforming, Gebhardt views There Are No Others as an intensely personal work.

There Are No Others has been classified as a Category III film, only viewers who are 18 years old or above will be admitted.
Bight of the Twin (2016)
55 min, English, French, and Fon with English subtitles, Digital, USA/Benin

In 1993, avant-garde performance artist Genesis Breyer P-Orridge and h/er late spouse Lady Jaye embarked on a series of radical cosmetic interventions that would lead to them becoming one almost-identical, gender-neutral – ‘pandrogynous’ – entity. Bight of the Twin captures P-Orridge’s 2014 visit to the annual Vodoun Twin Festival in Ouidah, Benin, a city known as the birthplace of voodoo, and which claims the highest birth rate of twins in the world. In Ouidah, P-Orridge takes part in a twin-fetish ritual that allows h/er to reconnect with Lady Jaye, h/er departed twin, in the immaterial realm. 

Hazel Hill McCarthy III (American, b.1980) is a multimedia artist and filmmaker who has collaborated with Genesis Breyer P-Orridge (British, b.1950) for the past decade. P-Orridge first found fame with the experimental music projects Throbbing Gristle and Psychic TV in the 1970s and 1980s.  

Venue

See also

返回「M+ 放映:性别流动」概览

根本没有别人/ 双生之绊

4月7日(星期五)下午8时10分

根本没有别人(2016)
9分钟,数码,澳洲

这部震撼人心的影片以一系列超慢动作镜头拍摄的流动影像组成。赤裸的人体如瀑布般在天幕上升升降降,歌颂人生的壮丽。人体以传统裸体肖像画法为基础,再以流体形态呈现,完全不受雌雄两性的二元对立所规限。由Oren Ambarchi创作的配乐虽然短促但却充满惊喜,配合变幻莫测的云景,大大提升了本片的律动,让人看得出神。

Amy Amos Gebhardt(澳洲,生于1976年)的戏剧、纪录片和实验电影屡获殊荣,她的多频道录像装置亦在多间画廊和博物馆展出。艺术家以流性人和性别不符常规的身分自居,这部《根本没有别人》可说是充满个人色彩。

《根本没有别人》被评定为第三级电影,只准年满18 岁人士入场观看。
双生之绊(2016)
55分钟,英语、法语及丰语对白,英文字幕,数码,美国/贝宁

1993年,前卫表演艺术家Genesis Breyer P-Orridge与其配偶Lady Jaye(已殁)进行了一系列整容手术,将两人变得一模一样,成为一个中性的合体。本片记录Genesis于2014年造访贝宁共和国圣城维达的年度巫毒节之旅。据说,维达是巫毒教的发源地,亦是全世界双胞胎出生率最高的地方。 Genesis此行的目的是参加当地的双胞胎崇拜仪式,希望能与永诀的另一半Lady Jaye再次连系上。

Hazel Hill McCarthy III(美国,生于1980年)是一位多媒体艺术家兼导演,过去十年与Genesis Breyer P-Orridge(英国,生于1950年)合作无间。于上世纪七、八十年代,Genesis凭实验音乐组合Throbbing Gristle和Psychic TV走红。

查看更多

地点

相关内容