Our Story

West Kowloon Cultural District

About the West Kowloon Cultural District 

A Place for Everyone

 

Stretching across 40 hectares of reclaimed land, the West Kowloon Cultural District is one of the largest cultural projects in the world, blending together art, education, open space, Hotel, Office and Residential Developments and Retail, Dining and Entertainment facilities.

 

Its vision is to create a vibrant cultural quarter for Hong Kong where the local arts scene can interact, develop and collaborate. When complete it will provide about 23 hectares of public open space with two kilometres of harbour-front promenade of 20 metres in width as well as a host of arts and cultural facilities that will produce and host world-class exhibitions, performances, and arts and cultural events.

 

The District’s first major cultural facilities, the Arts Pavilion, the Xiqu Centre, Freespace and the Art Park are already open and present a diverse and exciting programme of events. M+ will open in late 2021, followed by the Hong Kong Palace Museum in mid-2022.

 

Background

The West Kowloon Cultural District is one of the largest and most significant cultural projects in the world.

 

The idea of creating a cultural district in Hong Kong was first floated in 1998. The concept of building the West Kowloon Cultural District was subsequently featured in the Chief Executive’s Policy Address.

 

In 2006, recognising that arts and culture are a vital part of any world-class city’s economic and social fabric, the HKSAR Government established the Consultative Committee on the Core Arts and Cultural Facilities of the District and its three advisory groups. After consulting with the local arts community and related parties, the government recommended developing various performing arts venues, a cultural institution with museum functions and an exhibition centre. It also recommended developing the District as a low-density harbourfront development with ample open space and close ties to its neighbouring community.

 

To realise this vision, the Government set up a statutory body - the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority - to take forward this project. On 11 July 2008, the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority Ordinance, Cap. 601 was enacted by the Legislative Council. The Legislative Council also approved an upfront endowment of HK$21.6 billion for developing the West Kowloon Cultural District. A three-stage Public Engagement Exercise was then carried out between 2009 and 2011, where opinions, needs and aspirations of the public were sought. The findings helped shortlist and finalise the Conceptual Plan and subsequently the Development Plan for the District.

西九故事

西九文化区

关于西九文化区

属于你我的文化艺术新天地

 

西九文化区是全球规模最大的文化艺术项目之一,延伸40公顷的填海土地,汇集了精彩的艺术和教育活动,广阔的公共空间,酒店、办公室和住宅发展项目及零售、餐饮和消闲设施。

 

西九文化区的愿景是致力为香港创造一个多姿多彩的文化地带,促进本地艺术界互动、合作与发展。所有工程竣工后将提供约23公顷的公共空间,以及长达两公里、阔20米的海滨长廊,并设有众多的文化艺术设施,以举办世界级展览、表演节目和文化艺术活动。

 

区内主要文化设施──艺术展亭、艺术公园自由空间香港故宫文化博物馆M+戏曲中心等经已开放,为公众呈献了多元化和丰富精彩的节目。 


 

西九文化区背景

西九文化区将发展为全球其中一个最大型和最受瞩目的文化项目。

 

在香港创建一个文化区的想法早在1998年提出。建设西九文化区的概念随后在行政长官的《施政报告》中出现。

 

鉴于文化艺术是世界级城市的经济和社会结构中所不可或缺的一环,香港特区政府于2006年成立了核心文化艺术设施咨询委员会和辖下三个小组,经过对本港艺术界和相关团体作广泛咨询,咨询委员会建议发展多个表演艺术场地,以及一个具备博物馆和展览功能的文化设施。咨询委员会同时建议以低密度方式发展西九文化区,于海滨长廊提供充裕的休憩用地供市民享用,并使该区与毗邻社区紧密相连。

 

为实现此一愿景,政府成立法定机构西九文化区管理局,负责推展西九计划。立法会于2008年7月11日制定《西九文化区管理局条例》;同时通过一笔过二百一十六亿元的拨款,予西九文化区管理局发展西九文化区项目,并于2009年至2011年期间,分三个阶段进行公众参与活动,收集公众的意见及其对文化区的需求及期望,并于广纳各方意见后,为西九文化区订立概念图则方案及发展图则。