Visit "Freespace at Taikoo Place" Website

Commissioned and produced by West Kowloon, ON VIEW: HONG KONG is a new dance project exploring notions of portraiture, identity and the moving body through the media of screendance. Opening on 21 September 2017 with the premiere of 10 online videos, the project includes an installation exhibition from 1 to 3 November and live performances on 2 and 3 November, held as part of Freespace at Taikoo Place.

ON VIEW: HONG KONG was conceived in 2015 during New Works Forum: Screendance, a collaborative programme organised by West Kowloon and City Contemporary Dance Company that brought together Australian choreographer and dance filmmaker Sue Healey, Hong Kong dance film cinematographer Maurice Lai and other screendance artists for workshops and exchange with directors, filmmakers and dance artists from Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan. The following year, inspired by Healey’s award-winning work ON VIEW: Live Portraits, West Kowloon engaged Sue Healey to collaborate with Maurice Lai and ten prominent Hong Kong dance artists for the production of ON VIEW: HONG KONG

Exploring what it means “to see” and “to be seen” – elements that are central to Healey’s work – ON VIEW: HONG KONG challenges the way performers and spectators view a dancer’s presence, gaze, gestures, movement, force and rhythm, and looks at how a dancer presents both tangible and intangible qualities, and at what happens when the complexities of real world movement and observations are compressed by the camera. The resulting works redefine the context and cultural interpretation of the concepts ‘Portrait’, ‘Identity’ and ‘The Moving Body’.

ON VIEW: HONG KONG provokes creators and audiences with fresh perspectives of ‘dance’ and ‘moving image’, promotes the development of screendance, and offers the public a unique opportunity to discover Hong Kong dancers of different ages, backgrounds and levels of expertise. 

VISIT ON VIEW: HONG KONG WEBSITE

Venue:

Installation Exhibition: New ArtisTree (map)
Live Performance: New ArtisTree (map)

Date and Time:
Installation Exhibition: 1-3 November 2017 (Wednesday-Friday) 9:00am- 6:00pm
Live Performance: 2-3 November 2017 (Thursday-Friday) 8:00pm

Duration:
60 minutes (No interval)

Tickets:
Installation Exhibition: Free Admission
Live Performance: HK$250

Half-Price Discount: HK$125 for full-time students, senior citizens aged 60 or above, people with disabilities and support person*

*For each purchase of concessionary ticket for people with disabilities, the customer can purchase 1 ticket at the HK$125 concession price for the support person.

GET YOUR TICKETS

Tickets & Schedule

Live Performance:

  • Suitable for ages 6 and above. Children under the age of 6 will not be admitted.
  • Audience will explore the stage in dim lighting before being seated. Thin heels are not allowed on stage, please be advised to wear flats and bring mere belongings to the performance.

Enquiries:
pa1@wkcda.hk / (852) 2200 0804

 

School Guided Tours

Date:
1-3 November 2017 (Wednesday-Friday)

Time:
2:30-3:30pm, 4:00-5:00pm

Venue:
New ArtisTree (1/F Cambridge House, Taikoo Place, 979 King's Road, Quarry Bay)

Language:
Cantonese

Quota:
10-20 Secondary School students and 2 teachers per tour

Application Method:
This content is only available in Chinese.

Enquiries:
learning@wkcda.hk / (852) 2200 0804

See more

Venue

See also

浏览「自由看@ 太古坊」网站

由西九文化区委约及制作,「观・影── 香港舞者」是一个全新的舞蹈项目,透过「舞蹈」及「影像」探索「人像」、「身份」及「身体动态」等概念。项目的网上录像将由2017年9月21日起陆续登场,装置展览于11月1日至11月3日在「自由看@太古坊」与观众见面,其中11月2日及3日晚上则会有现场演出。

「观・影── 香港舞者」缘起于2015年,西九与城市当代舞蹈团合办「新作论坛:光影舞蹈」,邀请了包括澳洲编舞及舞蹈影像导演苏・希利(Sue Healey)及香港舞蹈影像摄影师黎宇文等舞蹈影像创作人主持工作坊,并与香港、澳门及台湾等地的导演、电影制作人及舞蹈艺术家一起交流。 2016的夏天,受苏・希利之前获奖作品ON VIEW: Live Portraits启发,西九邀请了苏・希利、黎宇文及十位香港优秀舞蹈家,联手摄制「观・影── 香港舞者」 。

「看见」及「被看见」一直都是苏・希利关注的主题,亦是这个作品所探讨的:对于舞蹈家,观众是怎样察觉其容貌、眼神及动态,以至舞动的方式、力量或节奏?身为舞蹈家,他是怎样展示上述种种有形、无形的特质? 单靠肉眼看世界,已经变化多端,倘若再加上镜头,还会发生什么? 「观・影── 香港舞者」重新检视「人像」、「身份」及「身体动态」等概念的定义及内涵。

透过「观・影── 香港舞者」,西九期望拓阔创作人、表演者,以及观众对「舞蹈」及「影像」的思考及想像,并且结合两个媒介独有特质,进一步促进其长远发展,同时,大众亦可透过作品加深了解多位不同年龄、背景及专长的香港优秀舞蹈家。

浏览「观・影── 香港舞者」网站

场地:
装置展览:全新ArtisTree (地图
现场演出:全新ArtisTree (地图

日期及时间:
装置展览: 11月1至3日(星期三至五) 早上9时至下午6时
现场演出:11月2至3日(星期四至五) 晚上8时正

演出长约:
60分钟(不设中场休息)

门票:
装置展览:免费入场
现场演出: HK$250

全日制学生、60岁或以上长者、残疾人士及其陪同者*半价:HK$125

*每购买一张残疾人士门票,即可同时以相同优惠购买一张门票予陪同者

购买门票

门票及时间表

现场演出:

  • 适合6岁或以上人士观看,6岁以下恕不招待
  • 观众就坐前将在昏暗的灯光下探索舞台,建议穿着平底鞋及携带轻便物品欣赏演出,穿着幼跟鞋的观众将不能踏上舞台。

查询:
pa1@wkcda.hk / (852) 2200 0804

 

学校导赏团

日期:
2017 年11 月1 至3 日(星期三至五)

时段:
下午2 时30 分至3 时30 分,下午4 时至5 时(可选择场次)

地点:
全新ArtisTree (地图)

语言: 
粤语

名额:
10-20 名中学学生及2 位老师

申请方法:
请把已填妥的导赏服务申请表格,透过电邮或传真递交至西九文化区管理局。

查询:
learning@wkcda.hk / (852) 2200 0804

查看更多

地点

相关内容