The Power of Objects: New Ways of Engaging Students in Museums

Overview

Description

The Hong Kong Palace Museum is pleased to introduce a free online class presented by internationally renowned museum expert Dr Sharon E. Shaffer. The class equips you with effective teaching tools and innovative object-based learning methods that can be applied in a wide variety of educational settings, from the museum and classroom to online platforms and home.

 

Dr Shaffer is a pioneer in using objects from museum collections in early childhood learning at the Smithsonian Institution, Washington DC, USA. Focusing on the learning needs of kindergarten to Primary Six students, Dr Shaffer will use treasures from the Forbidden City in Beijing to illustrate strategies for object lessons, providing participants with tried-and-trusted practical tools for teaching.

 

The class, conducted in English, is free of charge and open to all. The first ten registrants will receive a selection of beautiful HKPM souvenirs. All participants will be invited to take part in post-lecture discussions and will have a chance to win a grand prize.

 

Language:
English

 

Date:
28 November 2020 (Saturday)

 

Time:
10:00am-11:30am

 

Speaker:
Dr Sharon E. Shaffer

 

Moderator:
Dr Daisy Yiyou Wang, Deputy Director of the Hong Kong Palace Museum

 

Fee:
Free admission

 

Enquiries:
(852) 2200 5500, [email protected]

万物有灵:国际博物馆儿童教育的新方向

概览

简介

香港故宫文化博物馆邀得享誉国际文博界的博物馆教育专家莎伦・谢弗博士(Sharon E. Shaffer)主讲公益网上讲座。是次讲座以适用于各类教学环境的「实物教学方式」为题,创新的学习方式辅以实用有效的教学工具,旨在让您不论身处博物馆、教室,甚或使用网上平台,均可善用博物馆资源教学。

 

谢弗博士乃美国史密森博物学院在儿童早期学习中运用博物馆藏品的先驱。针对幼稚园至小学六年级学生的学习需要及习惯,谢弗博士将结合多年研究及实践经验,运用紫禁城珍藏,生动地讲解基础的教学方法及技巧,并提供行之有效的教学材料。

 

是次讲座将以英文主讲,费用全免,欢迎公众报名,首十名报名者可获赠香港故宫文化博物馆精选纪念品。所有参加者同时获邀参与课后讨论,并有机会赢取大奖。

 

语言:
英语

 

日期:
2020年11月28日(星期六)

 

时间:
上午10时至11时30分

 

讲者:
莎伦・谢弗博士

 

主持:
香港故宫文化博物馆副馆长王伊悠博士

 

收费:
免费

 

查询:
(852)2200 5500,[email protected]