Hu XiaoyuanLiang ShuoLin YilinShen XinTao HuiSamson Young

Hu Xiaoyuan

Hu Xiaoyuan was born in Harbin and studied communication design at the Central Academy of Fine Arts in Beijing, graduating in 2002. Her practice encompasses installation, video, sculpture, and painting, often drawing from specific experiences to address abstract topics related to time, space, consciousness, and existence. In 2007, she became the first female Chinese artist to participate in Documenta. She also participated in the New Museum Triennial in 2012 and the Taipei Biennial in 2014. Her work has been exhibited extensively both in China and internationally, including at the Palais de Tokyo, Paris; the Bonniers Konsthall, Stockholm; Kunsthaus Graz; the Orange County Museum of Art, Newport Beach, California; the Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam; the Rockbund Art Museum, Shanghai; the Shanghai Minsheng Art Museum; the Power Station of Art, Shanghai; the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art, Beijing; Video Bureau, Beijing; Beijing Commune; and Pace Gallery, Beijing. Her work has been collected by M+, the Rockbund Art Museum, the Hammer Museum, the Power Station of Art, and other institutions.

Liang Shuo

Liang Shuo was born in 1976 and graduated from the Central Academy of Fine Arts, Beijing, in 2000, majoring in sculpture. From 2002 to 2007, he taught sculpture at the Academy of Arts and Design, Tsinghua University. Between 2005 and 2006, he was an artist-in-residence at the Koninklijke Academie van Beeldende Kunsten (the Royal Academy of Art), The Hague. In 2009, he began teaching sculpture at the Central Academy of Fine Arts. In a practice that brings together a range of materials and found objects, Liang defines an approach characterised by what he terms ‘scum’: roughness, a reliance on processes of construction and destruction, and an interest in everyday objects. His work has been presented at major museums around the world, including the National Art Museum of China, Beijing; the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea, Seoul; the Singapore Art Museum; the Power Station of Art, Shanghai; the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, San Francisco; and the Rijksakademie, Amsterdam. His solo exhibition DISTANT tantamount MOUNTAIN was held at the Staatliche Kunsthalle Baden-Baden in 2017.

Lin Yilin

Lin Yilin was born in Guangzhou and lives and works in New York. He co-founded the influential artist collective the Big-Tail Elephant Group in Guangzhou in 1990. He participated in the exhibition Cities on the Move in 1997, as well as the Johannesburg Biennale in 1997, the Taipei Biennial in 1998, the Gwangju Biennale in 2002, the Venice Biennale in 2003 and 2015, Documenta in 2007, La Biennale de Lyon in 2009, the Swiss Sculpture Exhibition in 2014, and the Havana Biennial in 2015. His work has been exhibited at Kunsthalle Bern, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, MoMA PS1, Asia Society Museum, the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, the Hayward Gallery, M+, and MAXXI. Lin’s conceptual practice brings together sculpture, installation, photography, performances, and video, commingling social architecture with everyday life.

Shen Xin

Shen Xin lives and works in Minneapolis and Amsterdam. Through films and video installations, as well as performative events, his practice examines and fabricates techniques and effects of how emotion, judgment, and ethics circulate through individual and collective subjects. By focusing on interpersonal complexity and political narratives, his films often aim to generate reflexiveness to dismantle dominant power structures. His recent solo presentations include To Satiate at Madeln Gallery, Shanghai (2019); Methods of Inhabiting at K11 Shanghai (2018); Sliced Units at the Centre for Chinese Contemporary Art, Manchester (2018); half-sung, half spoken at the Serpentine Pavilion, London (2017); and At Home at Surplus Space, Wuhan (2016). Recent group exhibitions include New Metallurgists at the Julia Stoschek Collection, Düsseldorf (2018); Songs for Sabotage at the New Museum Triennial, New York (2018); and The New Normal at the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art, Beijing (2017). Shen was awarded the BALTIC Artists’ Award in 2017, and he is currently an artist-in-residence at the Rijksakademie, Amsterdam.

Tao Hui

Tao Hui was born in Yunyang, Sichuan Province. He graduated from the Sichuan Fine Arts Institute with a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in oil painting in 2010 and currently lives and works in Beijing. He incorporates folk culture and traditional art forms into painting, video, and graphic works, using technological procedures and elements from traditional Chinese culture to question globalisation, virtual relationships, and hegemonic thinking. He received the award of the Contemporary Art Archive of the Sichuan Fine Arts Institute in 2008, the Huayu Youth Award (Art Sanya) in 2015, and the Grand Prize at the Contemporary Art Festival Sesc_Videobrasil in 2015. His solo exhibitions include Rhythm and Senses (Edouard Malingue Gallery, Hong Kong, 2019); Tao Hui (The Breeder, Athens, 2018); Not at All (OCAT Xi’an, 2017); New Direction: Tao Hui (Ullens Center for Contemporary Art, Beijing); and 1 Character & 7 Materials (AIKE-DELLARCO, Shanghai, 2015). Tao’s work was included in the Bangkok Art Biennale (2018), How Little You Know About Me (National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea, Seoul, 2018), the Guangzhou Image Triennial (2017), the Shanghai Biennale (2016), and Bentu: Chinese Artists at a Time of Turbulence and Transformation (Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, 2016).

Samson Young

Multidisciplinary artist Samson Young was trained as a composer and graduated with a PhD in Music Composition from Princeton University in 2013. His academic background in music has led him to incorporate elements of experimental music, sound studies, and site-specific performance into his art practice. He uses sound as a tool, cutting through the veil of the everyday to uncover ideologies and political propositions. Solo exhibitions of his work have been held at the Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, the Centre for Chinese Contemporary Art in Manchester, M+, the Hiroshima City Museum of Contemporary Art, and elsewhere. His work has also been included in group exhibitions at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum; the Biennale of Sydney; the Shanghai Biennale; the National Museum of Art, Osaka; and the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea, Seoul; as well as in Documenta Radio for Documenta 14. He received the BMW Art Journey Award in 2015 and the Hong Kong Art Center Honorary Fellowship in 2018. In 2017, he represented Hong Kong at the Venice Biennale with a solo exhibition.

胡晓媛梁硕林一林沈莘陶辉杨嘉辉

胡晓

1977年生于哈尔滨,2002年毕业于北京中央美术学院视觉传达系。她的创作涵盖装置、录像、雕塑和绘画,往往以具体经验来探讨时间、空间、意识和存在等抽象议题。 2007年,她成为首位参加卡塞尔文献展的中国女艺术家,亦曾参与2012年新当代艺术博物馆三年展与2014年台北双年展等。她的作品曾在国内外多次展出,包括巴黎东京宫、斯德哥尔摩Bonniers Konsthall、Graz美术馆、加州纽波特比奇Orange County美术馆、鹿特丹Boijmans Van Beuningen美术馆、上海外滩美术馆、上海当代艺术博物馆、北京尤伦斯当代艺术中心、北京录像局、北京公社、北京佩斯画廊。她的作品亦被M+、上海外滩美术馆、Hammer美术馆、中国上海当代艺术博物馆及其他机构纳入馆藏。

梁硕生于1976年,2000年毕业于中央美术学院雕塑系,2002至2007年间在清华大学美术学院雕塑系任教,2005至2006年参加海牙皇家艺术学院艺术家驻留计划,2009年起至今任教于中央美术学院雕塑系。梁硕以集合多种物料和现成物的手法,构建出被他称为「渣」的美学体系:粗野、注重建造和解构的过程、着眼于日常物件。梁硕借分析日常生活中的视觉元素,在其独特的创作体系中游走,切换于不同层面的文化意识之间。梁硕的作品曾在世界各地的大型美术馆展出,包括北京中国美术馆、国立现代美术馆首尔馆、新加坡美术馆、上海当代艺术博物馆、三藩市Yerba Buena艺术中心,以及阿姆斯特丹皇家视觉艺术学院。他近期的个人展览为2017年于德国巴登巴登国立美术馆举办的「空无意外出入山」。

林一

1964年生于广州,现于纽约居住和工作。 1990年,他于广州参与创立「大尾象工作组」。他参与的展览包括「移动中的城市」(1997)、约翰尼斯堡双年展(1997)、台北双年展(1998)、光州双年展(2002)、威尼斯双年展(2003、2015) 、卡塞尔文献展(2007)、里昂双年展(2009)、瑞士雕塑展(2014)和哈瓦那双年展(2015)。他的作品曾在伯恩艺术博物馆、古根汉美术馆、纽约现代艺术博物馆PS1当代艺术中心、亚洲协会美术馆、旧金山现代艺术博物馆、Hayward美术馆、M+和MAXXI美术馆展出。林一林的概念作品结合雕塑、装置、摄影、行为展演,以及录像,将社会建筑与日常生活融汇一体。

沈莘

沈莘在明尼阿波利斯和阿姆斯特丹生活和工作。他从事影片、录像装置与行为展演等创作,借此探索情感、价值判断和道德伦理如何在个体与群体间流通,并建构其技巧和剖析其影响。沈莘的影片作品聚焦人际关系的复杂性与政治叙事,旨在促使人们以反身性思考来解构占支配地位的权力结构。他近期的个展包括:「使饱和」(上海没顶画廊,2019)、「居住的方法」(上海chi K11美术馆,2018)、「切片装置」(曼彻斯特华人当代艺术中心,2018)、「半说半唱」(伦敦蛇形美术馆,2017)、「在家」(武汉剩余空间,2016)。他近期参与的群展包括:「新冶金者」(杜塞尔多夫Julia Stoschek Collection,2018)、「破坏之歌」(纽约新当代艺术博物馆三年展,2018) 及「例外状态」(北京尤伦斯当代艺术中心,2017)等。沈莘于2017年获颁「BALTIC艺术家奖」,现为荷兰阿姆斯特丹皇家艺术学院的驻留艺术家。

陶辉生于四川云阳,2010年毕业于四川美术学院油画系,获学士学位,现于北京工作与生活。他将民俗文化与传统艺术形式融入到绘画、录像与平面设计作品,并以传统中国文化的技术工序和元素,质疑全球化、虚拟关系与霸权思维。他曾于2008年获颁四川美术学院的「当代艺术档案特殊奖」、 2015年获三亚艺术季的「华宇青年奖」,2015年又获Sesc巴西录影艺术节的大奖。他的个展包括:「节奏与知觉」(香港马凌画廊,2019)、「陶辉」(雅典饲养员画廊,2018)、「一点儿不多余」(OCAT西安馆,2017)、「新倾向:陶辉」(北京尤伦斯当代艺术中心,2015)和「一个人物与七段素材」(上海艾可画廊,2015)。他作品曾在曼谷艺术双年展(2018)、「你对我知之甚少」(国立现代美术馆首尔馆,2018)、广州影像三年展( 2017)、上海双年展(2016)和「本土:变革中的中国艺术家」(巴黎路易威登艺术基金会美术馆,2016)展出。

杨嘉辉

跨领域艺术家杨嘉辉是作曲家出身,2013年获普林斯顿大学音乐博士(作曲)学位。由于曾受正统音乐训练,他在艺术实践中结合实验音乐、声音研究与场域特定展演的元素。他以声音作为思考工具,剖析日常生活背后的意识形态与政治议题。他曾在杜塞尔多夫美术馆、曼彻斯特华人当代艺术中心、M+和广岛市现代美术馆等举办个展。他的作品曾于多个群展中展出,包括古根汉美术馆、悉尼双年展、上海双年展、大阪国立国际美术馆、国立现代美术馆首尔馆,和第十四届卡塞尔文献展之电台广播项目等。他曾获多个奖项,包括2015年的「宝马艺术之旅奖」和2018年的香港艺术中心「艺术荣誉奖」。 2017年,他代表香港于威尼斯双年展举办个展。