Stakes and Holders: Negotiations In Situ

Shirley Tse: Stakes and Holders presents a renewed, site-responsive configuration of the two installations commissioned for Hong Kong’s presence at the Venice Biennale in 2019. In the earlier exhibition, titled Shirley Tse: Stakeholders, Hong Kong in Venice, Shirley Tse continued her two-decade-long exploration of the manufacture, consumption, and circulation of mass-produced objects, from her use of consumer plastics and polymers in the 1990s and early 2000s to her most recent work with other generic materials and ready-mades. The evolving exhibition in Hong Kong reframes and responds to the Venice presentation, offering a new perspective on Tse’s use of sculp­ture as a means to understand our shared experience. Tse synthesises her rigorous enquiry into plastic as a substance, a prime signifier of globalisation, and an adjective denoting heterogeneity in the contemporary world. For the first time, in addition to plastics and studio equipment, she incorporates elements such as wood and sporting goods into her installa­tions and introduces ancient and recent technologies in craft, manufacture, and communications. She contrasts the embedded histories, imaginations, and uses of these techniques and materials in order to unpack the inherent differences and subjectivities of a pluralistic world of flows, movements, and connections. The juxtapositions in her work make multiplicity evident, emphasising ‘a form of materialism which calls for the ability to think fluidly, to understand complexity and to negotiate conflict’.1

Negotiation, improvisation, and agency are key to Tse’s approach to visualising heterogeneity. This is clearly articulated in the way the two installations—Negotiated Differences and Playcourt—are assembled in each exhibition, in Venice and now in Hong Kong. The configuration in Venice responded to the features of the exhibition site, which consists of a space former­ly used for the storage of wood and a courtyard with laundry lines strung overhead. Negotiated Differences, an assemblage of hundreds of wooden forms turned on a lathe and connected by 3D-printed and hand-carved metal and plastic joints, traipsed uninterrupted through the three rooms of the interior. The courtyard was occupied by Playcourt, a congregation of anthropomor­phic sculptures on stands with portable antennas and repurposed colonial-era badminton rackets, arranged in two converging lines that evoke nets. Including a set of bleachers, the work recast the courtyard as a potential field of play in an informal game of badminton, reminiscent of the makeshift matches in public space that Tse played while growing up in Hong Kong. Without predetermined plans or a fixed configuration, the installa­tions are now, one year later, mounted at the M+ Pavilion in two new formations and with addi­tional components over the course of the exhibition period. This installation activates the protean nature of the works, in dialogue with the context of Hong Kong. Unlike the clearly defined arrangement in Venice, here both works unfold within the interior open-plan space, and parts of Playcourt are installed on walls and railings on the outdoor deck. Two iterations of Negotiated Differences, assembled on-site by the installation team, and by the artist and curator—when travel conditions permit—in an exercise in improvisation, reveal how form and composition undergo a pro­cess of remaking and negotiation, with old and new actors.

Craft is foregrounded as a mode of thinking in the creation and composition of Negotiated Differences. Proposing an antithesis to the industrial and standardised technologies she has engaged with in the past, in 2014 Tse began to work with a lathe—an archaic apparatus considered to be an origin of machine tools—creating individu­ally turned items that draw from an index of musical instruments, sports equipment, prosthetic limbs, architectural elements, abstract forms, and furniture. This collection of artefacts, refer­ring to various cultures and histories, is connected and coun­terbalanced by multidirectional wooden and synthetic articular joints to form a body of lines and nodes defined by gravity. As in Venice, where Tse drew inspi­ration from the fabrication of gondola oars and pier pilings, she produced additional elements for the Hong Kong display that refer to the city, including soy-sauce bottles and umbrella handles. Tse plays with form and produc­tion by using deliberately erratic 3D-printed articulations based on open-source designs. Like the wooden reproductions sourced from material culture, they can be seen as ready-mades—in this case from the digital sphere.

Contrary to the form that tra­versed the ground-floor venue in Venice, Negotiated Differences here traces the pillars and exposed ceiling ducts of the pavilion, drawing attention to the architectural features and responding to the elevated exhibition site on the first floor. While maintaining the equipoise of material and form, negotiation is also expressed by the artist’s hand as an intermediary between machine and matter in the turning process. Tse works with, rather than against, the grain. Applying force to raw material, her method is a tactile manifestation of conflict negotiation and can be read as a metaphor of how to act in a volatile sociopolitical reality. Furthermore, the assemblage of items, which Tse made over three years, constitutes a chronicle of the trial and error in her pursuit of the craft, as well as a personal log. Integrated into the installation are records of negotiations on the world stage, such as a gavel symbolising the Democratic Party’s regaining of a majority of seats in the United States House of Representatives in 2018, a hockey stick referring to the historic partnership of North and South Korean teams at the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang, and umbrella handles alluding to recent protests in Hong Kong. The first wooden piece she created is also present, alongside breakthroughs in her technique, including a group of painstakingly crafted bowling pins and other items that called for a sophisticated use of the lathe. In its conflation of narratives and methods, Tse’s approach to material and sculpture embraces the distinct properties and agency of each entity through an open-ended exchange, to constitute a delicate whole. In Playcourt, Tse addresses the malleability of form and function and the notions of agency, unpremeditated action, and exchange. In Venice, the sculptures on tripods were aligned in rows to conjure a curious game of badminton with no fixed rules. Audiences can speculate on the nature of the game in progress through their imagination and physical negotiation with the installation. Deliberately equivocal, the sculptural amalgams are both makeshift sports furniture and participants in their setting. The presentation in Stakes and Holders underscores the mobile, provisional character of Playcourt. Modified works and new sculptures are displayed on stands as well as detached, on bleachers, in various guises of action and repose. The choreography of these transformed characters and objects calls attention to volatility in the temporal and spatial frame of a given set of new circumstances.

Playcourt forms a network of references that can be read as a translation of Tse’s biography. An assortment of plastics and their by-products—including vinyl, styrofoam, and other varieties—shares space with studio equipment and precious stones, tracing her experiences in Hong Kong and elsewhere. The flesh-coloured plastic vinyl sheets she acquired in Sham Shui Po in Optic Nerves (2016), the nephrite from Yau Ma Tei’s Jade Market and the green styrofoam from Tokyo in Jade Tongue (2016), the pieces of Murano glass she inherited from a donor at California Institute of the Arts in Green Head (2016), and in An Quan (2020) the crochet hat in the shape of a safety helmet she bought in Beijing in 2008—all these components serve to juxtapose relationships of production and circulation with her personal history. Badminton itself also becomes a subject, addressed specifically through the presence of the rackets with the brands Imperial and Victoria, which gesture to the game’s colonial origins in British India. This narrative finds an echo in the shuttlecocks made from vanilla beans and rubber, which stand in for the colonial-era trajectory of Tse’s family on rubber planta­tions in British Malaya and vanilla farms in Tahiti. Extending an investigation begun in the Quantum Shirley series (2009– ongoing), Tse probes her identity as a product of the paths of trade and migratory labour.

The amateur radio equipment in Playcourt accentuates the work’s relationship with the site. The antennas merged into the sculptures are designed to pick up non-commercial and recreational frequencies, making nearby transmissions audible in both interior and exterior spaces. This component of the work responds to the increasingly stringent control of the public domain, in the form of both airwaves and physical space. Tse foregrounds the ability of members of the public to express themselves openly, defining the sculptures as markers and conduits for poten­tial interactions and interlocutions in a contested field of action.

If Stakeholders emphasised the agency of each individual, Stakes and Holders draws attention to sculptural forms to construct a body of differences, each unit of which extends, contracts, and combines to propose directions and meanings. Tse works against the ideas of protocol and efficiency that are at the core of the pervasive contem­porary idea of productivity. The installation espouses slowness as a response to turbulent societies that are circumscribed by individu­al decisions and the failure of consensus politics.

In her practice, Tse explores material things to decipher the mechanisms and forces behind them, but also to bring out the ways in which they shape societ­ies and those who live in them. Her meticulous approach visualis­es dynamics and ethical codes in interactions, and it offers a careful consideration of what individuals can learn from the materials, processes, and structures that make up a shared heterogeneous world. The artist dexterously counterbalances the components of Negotiated Differences and constructs an imaginative polyph­ony in Playcourt, inviting audiences to consider coexis­tence as a way of affirming agency. Stakes and Holders shows that the strength of the collective lies not in the establishment of unifor­mity, but in relationships that can renew each entity in every encounter.

Christina Li
Guest Curator

1 Shirley Tse, Technology, Plastic and Art, Art and Technology Symposium, International Association for Philosophy and Literature 22nd Annual Conference, University of California, Irvine, May 1998, revised May 2003.

 

About Christina Li

Christina Li is a curator and writer working between Hong Kong and Amsterdam. She was the Curator-at-Large at Spring Workshop, Hong Kong, where she served as the Director between 2015 and 2017. At Spring, she curated, among other projects, A Collective Present (2017), Wu Tsang: Duilian (2016), and Wong Wai Yin: Without Trying (2016). Her exhibition Dismantling the Scaffold (2018) was the inaugural exhibition at Tai Kwun Contemporary, Hong Kong. As a writer, she has contributed to publications including Artforum, Art Review Asia, LEAP, Parkett, Spike, and Yishu Journal of Contemporary Art. She was the curator of Shirley Tse: Stakeholders, Hong Kong in Venice, Hong Kong’s participation at the 58th Venice Biennale (2019). She was recently named curator of the Pavilion of Finland at the 59th Venice Biennale (2022).

与事者与事:各在其位的协商

在这次展览「谢淑妮:与事者与事」中,此前接受委约为2019年威尼斯双年展香港展览创作的两件装置作品,以新的面貌示人,回应场地的空间特质。谢淑妮在1990年代和2000年代初以塑胶消费品和聚合物创作,近作则采用其他常见物料和现成物,她过去二十年来对量产物品的制造、使用和流通的探索,在名为「谢淑妮:与事者,香港在威尼斯」的展览中得到延续。本次香港的展览蜕变不断,重塑和回应威尼斯展览,以全新角度呈现谢淑妮如何以雕塑为理解人们共同经验的手段。谢淑妮结合其对塑胶的严谨探究,既视塑胶为一种物质,也将之当成全球化的首要意符,以及代表当代世界异质性的形容词。她也首次在装置中加入塑胶和摄影棚设备以外的其他元素,诸如木材和运动用品,并运用手工艺、生产和通讯的新旧技术。她透过对比蕴藏其中的各种历史、想像,以及技术和物料的应用,揭示在流动、变化和互相连结的多元世界中必然的差异和主体性。谢淑妮作品所采用的并置手法凸显多样性,强调「一种物质主义的形态,当中需要灵活思考、理解复杂性和协商矛盾的能力」。 1

协商、即兴和能动性是谢淑妮以视觉化手法呈现异质性的要素,这一特质清晰见于《Negotiated Differences》和《Playcourt》这两件装置作品在威尼斯及这次香港展览的组装方式。威尼斯的展出场地包括曾用作贮木的仓库及高悬晾衣绳的庭院,作品的结构回应了此场地特点。 《Negotiated Differences》由数以百计的木车工部件组装而成,以3D打印和手工制作的金属和塑胶接合组件相连,一气呵成地穿行室内的三个房间。 《Playcourt》则占据庭院,那是一组立在支架上的拟人形态雕塑,加上便携式天线和经改造的殖民地时代羽毛球拍。这些雕塑排列成两行,犹如两张球网,再交会在一起。作品还包括一组看台,使庭院化身可供玩耍、进行非正式羽毛球赛的场地,就如谢淑妮儿时临时起意在香港公共空间所打的羽毛球赛。一年后的今天,这些没有预定计划或固定组合方式的装置,将在展览期间加入新组件,以两种全新形态于M+展亭展出,充分展现作品灵活多变的本质,并呼应香港的境况。有别于威尼斯展览中清晰分明的布局,香港的两件作品均于开放式的室内空间展出,《Playcourt》的部分组件则置于室外平台的墙壁和栏杆上。 《Negotiated Differences》的首个版本由布展团队于现场组装,如日后旅游入境限制解除,艺术家与我将亲自到香港组装另一版本。这种顺应时势的即兴发挥揭示了作品的形态和布局与新旧元素之间重新配置和协商的过程。

《Negotiated Differences》的创作过程和构成方式强调以手工艺为一种思维模式。一反过去沿用的工业和标准化技术,谢淑妮自2014年开始使用车床这一被视为是各类机器之源的古老工具,以乐器、运动器材、人体义肢、建筑元素、抽象形体和家具等为参照依据,创作出不同物件。这组关乎不同文化和历史的工艺品,以由木及合成物料制造的多向接合组件连接起来,相互平衡,在重力下形成一组浑然一体的线条和节点。在威尼斯展览中,谢淑妮从当地贡多拉船橹和码头桩柱的制造方法取得灵感,而在这次香港展览中,她也为装置增添与香港相关的元素,例如豉油瓶和雨伞手柄。谢淑妮在创作中尝试新的形态和制作手法,特意采用取自开源设计档案、但3D打印时出错的接合组件。正如源自物质文化的木材复制品,这些组件也可被视为来自数码世界的现成物。

与威尼斯展览中蜿蜒于展场地面的形态相反,展亭内的《Negotiated Differences》攀附在梁柱并沿着天花板的外露管道布设,把观众注意力引向展场的建筑特征,并回应高踞于一楼的展览空间。除了维持物料和形态的平衡,艺术家的手在车制过程中变成机器与物质之间的中介,表现出协商的意味。谢淑妮顺应木材的纹理,与之合作而非对抗。她在原材料上施力,既是协商矛盾的触感呈现,也可以是在动荡变化的社会政治现实中该如何行事处世的隐喻。再者,这些谢淑妮花了三年时间制作的物件,记录了她学习这种工艺过程中的试验与失误,也成为了她这段时期的个人日志。装置还融汇了世界上多个协商事件的纪录,例如象征民主党在2018年重夺美国众议院多数议席的小木槌;意指2018年南北韩史无前例地组成联队,参加平昌冬季奥林匹克运动会的曲棍球棒;影射近年香港示威事件的雨伞手柄。这件装置展出了谢淑妮制作的第一件木件,还有一些体现其技术突破的组件,包括一组悉心车制的保龄球瓶,以及展现出精湛木车工技巧的其他部件。谢淑妮处理物料和雕塑的手法混合不同的叙事和方法,透过开放式互换,接纳每个实体的特质和能动性,从而构建一个细腻纤妙的整体。

谢淑妮在《Playcourt》着眼于形态和功能的延展性,以及能动性、非预谋行为和互换的观念。在威尼斯的展览中,三脚架上的雕塑排列成行,让人联想到一场没有固定规则的羽毛球赛,耐人寻味。观众可以透过想像及亲身观赏装置,猜测这场正在进行的球赛的性质。这些雕塑混合物有意显得模棱两可,它们既是临时的运动用具,也是参与自身场景的角色。 「与事者与事」则强调《Playcourt》的流动和即兴特点,经改造和新制的雕塑或立于架上,或分开置放,或搁在看台上,摆出不同姿态,或动或静。这些面目一新的角色和物件的编排,令人注意到在某一新环境中时空结构之变化不定。

《Playcourt》也建构了一个参照网络,可视之为谢淑妮人生历程的解读。聚苯乙烯、发泡胶和其他林林总总的塑胶制品及其副产品,与摄影棚设备和玉石汇聚一堂,追溯她在香港和其他地方的经历。 《Optic Nerves》(2016)中的肉色聚苯乙烯胶片是在深水埗找到的;《Jade Tongue》(2016)中的软玉和绿色发泡胶分别购自油麻地的玉器市场及东京;《Green Head》 (2016)中的穆拉诺玻璃继承自加州艺术学院的捐赠者;《An Quan》(2020)中形如安全帽的钩织帽子是2008年在北京购买的,这些组件把生产与流通的关系和谢淑妮的个人经历并置。羽毛球本身也成为主题,透过展示「Imperial」和「Victoria」这两个品牌的羽毛球拍,表明这是一项源于英属印度的殖民地运动。以香草豆荚和橡胶制成的羽毛球也运用了类近的叙事方式,象征谢淑妮家人在殖民时代于英属马来亚种植橡胶,以及于大溪地种植香草的足迹。谢淑妮视自身为贸易和移民劳工共同造就的产物,延续自《量子淑妮系列》(2009年至今)开始的探究。

《Playcourt》中的业余无线电器材凸显作品与场地的关系。这些天线成为雕塑的一部分,接收非商用和休闲性质的频率,令置身室内和户外的人都能收听在附近发送的通讯,以此回应大气电波和实体空间等公共领域受到日趋严格的管制。谢淑妮认为,在一个各方以行动互相角力的场域中,雕塑能为可能进行的互动和对话提供线索和渠道,借此强调公众公开表达己见的能力。

如果说,「与事者」强调的是个人的能动性,那么「与事者与事」所关注的则是以雕塑形态建构出包容各种差异的整体,每个组件各自延展、收缩和结合,指示出不同方向,衍生不同意义。当代社会着眼于生产力,讲求标准程序和效率,谢淑妮的创作与此背道而驰,其装置作品祟尚缓慢,以此回应因个人决定和共识政治失灵而陷入动荡的社会。

谢淑妮探索各类物质,以破解其背后的机制和各种势力,同时揭示它们如何形塑社会及生活于其中的人。她一丝不苟地以视觉方式呈现各种互动中的动态变化和伦理规范,并检视构成我们异质化社会的物料、过程和结构,仔细思量个人从中可以有何获益。艺术家以灵巧手法使《Negotiated Differences》中的组件相互平衡,并在《Playcourt》中建构想像的复调声音,邀请观众把共存视为确立能动性的方式。 「与事者与事」显示群体的力量不在于令彼此趋同,而是在于建立各方相连的关系,从而使我们可在每次相遇交流中焕发新生。

李绮敏
客席策展人

1 Shirley Tse, Technology, Plastic and Art, Art and Technology Symposium, International Association for Philosophy and Literature 22nd Annual Conference, University of California, Irvine, May 1998, revised May 2003.

 

有关李绮敏

李绮敏是在香港和阿姆斯特丹两地工作的策展人及写作者。她曾任香港Spring工作室的总策展人,并于2015至2017年间担任该机构总监。她在Spring工作室策划的多个项目包括:「共存」(2017)、「曾吴:对联/对练」(2016年)及「黄慧妍:不要太努力让事情发生」(2016)。此外,她为大馆当代美术馆策划了其开幕展览「拆棚」(2018)。她的文章曾刊载于《Artforum》、《Art Review Asia》、《艺术界》、《Parkett》、《Spike》和《典藏国际版》等。在2019年第58届威尼斯双年展中,李绮敏担任香港展览「谢淑妮:与事者,香港在威尼斯」的策展人;最近被任命为2022年第59届威尼斯双年展芬兰馆的策展人。