A park we share

News
A section of the Art Park and waterfront promenade is now open and provides stunning views of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island, and is particularly lovely at sunset for photography. You can watch the sunset, run, cycle, and walk while enjoying picture-perfect views. This section of promenade also gives a taster of how the future promenade that extends all along the district waterfront will look.

The new Art Park will be the green heart of the cultural district and feature a rich variety of trees and green planting as well as open lawn spaces for leisure and relaxation. Close attention has been paid to providing shade and topographical variation, while areas for large-scale outdoor sculptures and installations curated by M+ will be integrated into the design. The park will provide a vibrant venue for open-air performances of music, dance and theatre as well as art exhibitions and other cultural events.

The concept design, conceived by a global team led by Dennis Lau & Ng Chun Man Architects & Engineers (Hong Kong) Ltd with the international award-winning design consultant West 8 (Netherlands) and ACLA (Hong Kong), confirms the locations of the arts and cultural venues within the Park, which will provide space for creative programming across all genres. The venues will be linked by a cultural boulevard, an extension of the Avenue that runs through the heart of the District. The venues/ facilities include:

  • The M+ Pavilion: Designed by VPANG architects ltd + JET Architecture Inc + Lisa Cheung, which will be situated on an elevated mound in the north-east segment of the Park, close to M+ and Artist Square, with views out to the Victoria Harbour.
  • Freespace: A Black Box and an Outdoor Stage. The Black Box will be a flexible space located in the centre of the Park for standing and seated events across all genres, and will accommodate up to 900 people.
  • The Lawn: A flexible space in the western area of the Park, capable of accommodating over 10,000 standing visitors for outdoor festivals, classical or pop music concerts, and other performances. A further flexible event space is planned for the southern segment of the Park near the waterfront, capable of hosting up to 5,000 people standing.

The Landscape of the Nursery Park and the future Art Park

 

WKCDA has developed a set of bylaw and guidelines to govern the operation of the Art Park as well as other open spaces within the district, which are now available for public view here.

West Kowloon Art Park

Workshops

See also

西九艺术公园 人人共享

新的艺术公园将成为文化区的绿色心脏地带,种植多种树木和植物,兼有辽阔的草坪供大众轻松自在地休憩与享乐。公园的设计巧妙地融入林荫和不同地形特色,而M+博物馆策划的大型户外雕塑和装置亦将融会其中。公园将为户外音乐、舞蹈和剧场表演,以及艺术展览和其他文化活动提供别具特色的演出场地。

公园的概念设计由刘荣广伍振民建筑师事务所(香港)有限公司带领获多项国际设计奖项的园境师West 8(荷兰)及傲林国际(ACLA)(香港)组成的团队精心打造,确定了园内多个文化艺术场地的位置,以供不同类型创意节目的演出。各场馆由一条文化大道串连起来,与贯穿文化区心脏地带的林荫大道连接。公园内的场地/设施包括:

  • M+展亭:由彭耀輝建築師事務所有限公司 +  JET 建築事務所 + 張勵繡擔綱設計,建於公園東北部的小丘,毗鄰M+博物館及藝術廣場,眺望維多利亞港。
  • 自由空间:设有黑盒剧场和户外舞台。黑盒剧场设于公园中央,可灵活设置座位或企位,能容纳多达900名观众,适合举办不同类型的文化节目。
  • 草坪:位于公园西面的多用途表演场地,能容纳10,000名以上观众站立欣赏演出,适合举办户外节目、古典或流行音乐会,以及其他类型的表演。另外公园南部邻近海滨地带亦计划设有一个能灵活多变的活动场地,可容纳多达5,000人站立。

苗圃公园和未来西九艺术公园的园林景致

 

西九文化区管理局为西九艺术公园和文化区内其他公众休憩用地的营运管理订立一套附例及指引。附例及指引的内容现已上载到网站供公众阅览

西九艺术公园

Workshops

相关内容