The West Kowloon Cultural District is a place that belongs to all Hong Kong people. It is important that it addresses the wider community’s needs and desires.

To hear the opinions of the general public and the arts sector, a three-stage public engagement exercise was conducted from 2009 to 2011. Over the course of 25 months, the public and members of the arts community expressed their aspirations for and expectations of the West Kowloon Cultural District. Views were sought on programming and audience building plans, and the specific need for arts and cultural facilities. The Conceptual Plan Options and the Proposed Development Plan were exhibited, and feedback received was subsequently taken into account throughout the development planning process.

The exercise consisted of public forums, focus group meetings, tours of the Conceptual Plan Options and Proposed Development Plan exhibitions, discussions via online social networks, a Town Hall meeting, seminars and roundtable discussions.

From the exercise, a wealth of information vital to future planning was collected, and a Proposed Development Plan finalised. The plan was submitted to the Town Planning Board at the end of 2011 and approved by the Chief Executive-in-Council on 8 January 2013.

The West Kowloon Cultural Distrct Authority would like to thank everyone who took the time to express their invaluable views. For more information, please read the plans and reports in the Download section.

 

Summary of the Public Engagement Exercise

Stage 1 (8 October 2009 to 7 January 2010)

  • This exercise gauged the community's expectations on the planning, hardware and software development of the district

Details of PE1 can be found here.

 

Stage 2 (20 August to 20 November 2010)

  • The three proposed Conceptual Plans by Foster + Partners, Rocco Design Architects Limited and Office for Metropolitan Architecture were presented to the public
  • Foster + Partners’s City Park was favoured by the people of Hong Kong, in terms of green features, the public open space and accessibility

Details of PE2 can be found here.

 

Stage 3 (30 September to 30 October 2011)

  • A Proposed Development Plan, based on Foster + Partners’ concept and incorporating some desirable features from the other two, was presented to the public
  • There was strong support amongst the general public for the overall layout of the Proposed Development Plan, as well as for the early implementation of the project.

Details of PE3 can be found here.

西九文化区属于所有香港市民,必须迎合广大公众的需要和期望。

为听取公众和艺术界的意见,管理局于2009年至2011年期间,展开了三阶段的公众参与活动。历时二十五个月的公众参与活动,让公众和艺术各界表达了对西九文化区的愿景和期望,亦收集了关于节目及观众拓展、以及对文化艺术设施特定需求的多方面意见。公众参与活动中展出了各概念图则方案和建议发展图则设计,当中收集所得意见,成为日后落实发展计划时的重要参考资料。

我们采用了不同形式收集公众意见,包括公众论坛、焦点小组会议、概念图则方案及发展规划展览导赏、社交网络讨论、公众会堂会议、研讨会和圆桌讨论等。

一连串公众参与活动,为西九的未来规划提供了宝贵的意见,借以落实建议发展图则,于2011年底提交城市规划委员会,并于2013年1月8日由行政长官会同行政会议核准。

西九文化区管理局衷心感谢各界积极参与,提出宝贵意见。如需更多资料,请参阅有关的计划书和报告。

 

公众参与活动总结

第一阶段公众参与活动(2009年10月8日至2010年1月7日)

  • 了解公众对西九文化区规划、软硬件发展的期望。

有关详情请浏览网页

 

第二阶段公众参与活动(2010年8月20日至11月20日)

  • 向公众介绍三个分别由Foster+Partners、许李严建筑师事务所及Office for Metropolitan Architecture(OMA)设计的概念图则方案;
  • Foster+Partners的「城市中的公园」概念,以其环保设施、开放公共空间和畅通易达等方面的理念,广受大众喜爱。

有关详情请浏览网页

 

第三阶段公众参与活动(2011年9月30日至10月30日)

  • 向公众介绍以Foster+Partners的概念图则为基础,同时融合了另外两个方案可取特点的发展图则;
  • 公众普遍支持发展图则的整体布局,期望早日落实。

有关详情请浏览网页