Canton Express is the new iteration of the Canton Express project that was part of the exhibition Zone of Urgency curated by Hou Hanru for the 2003 Venice Biennale. Hailed as a major international showcase of works from the Pearl River Delta, the project reflected on how rapid globalisation and urbanisation in China during the 1990s had impacted on the region and its local cultural landscape.

Moving away from painting and political iconography, participating artists expressed their skeptical attitude toward a commercially-driven society through multimedia practices and site-specific installations that explored the physical, mental and emotional complexities of life in the "factory of the world". Works from the project were later acquired by art collector Guan Yi and donated to M+ in 2013.

The 2017 Canton Express features photography, sculptures, videos, installations and archival materials to highlight a unique regional artistic language. Presented from today's perspective, the exhibition unfolds the history and challenges behind the 2003 visionary show and demonstrates M+'s commitment to preserve distinctive artistic content and art historical moments within the narrative of the museum collection.

A series of programmes – including storytelling theatre, a teachers’ private view and guided tours for the public, and school groups – will accompany the exhibition.  Access services for programmes can also be arranged in advance. 

A special selection of readings and primary materials about Canton Express and other relevant projects of Pearl River Delta are on view now at Asia Art Archive. For more information:www.aaa.org.hk

A free shuttle bus service is available between Kowloon MTR Station exit A, the West Kowloon Project Site Office and the M+ Pavilion every Saturday, Sunday, and on public holidays during the exhibition period.

In conjunction with Canton Express, M+ Screenings: City Limits will take place at the Broadway Cinematheque from 4 to 6 August 2017. City Limits explores urbanisation on screen, presenting artist videos, narrative films, documentaries and animations depicting different Asian cities in transition. Beginning with the Pearl River Delta, the world’s largest, most densely-populated urban expanse, the programme progressively broadens its focus to encompass other parts of China and Asia. For details and ticketing information, please visit: www.westkowloon.hk/mplusscreenings

Date:
23 June to 10 September 2017

Opening Hours:
11am–6pm
Wednesday to Sunday and public holidays

Venue:
M+ Pavilion, West Kowloon Cultural District

Free Admission

Adverse Weather Arrangement:
Typhoon signal No. 8 or above: The M+ Pavilion will be closed when Typhoon Signal No.8 or above is hoisted. The M+ Pavilion will be re-opened 3 hours after Typhoon Signal No.8 or above is lowered; however, the Pavilion will remain closed for the day if Typhoon Signal No.8 is lowered after 12noon.

Black rainstorm warning: The M+ Pavilion will remain open if the warning is issued during opening hours. If the warning is issued before the M+ Pavilion opens, the Pavilion will be closed until the warning is cancelled. The M+ Pavilion will be re-opened 3 hours after the warning is cancelled; however, the Pavilion will remain closed for the day if the warning is cancelled after 12noon.

是次展览将重新呈现「广东快车」项目,该项目原为策展人侯瀚如于2003年威尼斯双年展策划的大型展览「紧急地带」的一部分。 「广东快车」被誉为是珠三角艺术在国际上的一次重要亮相,项目探讨自90年代起中国的都市化与全球化现象,并审视这些现象对珠三角地区文化景观的影响。

参展的艺术家甚少以绘画媒介及政治符号表达对以商业为主导的社会的怀疑与批判,而是以多元媒介探讨世界工厂的日常生活,以及都市人复杂的心理与情感。 2013年,M+获中国艺术收藏家管艺捐赠「广东快车」整个项目。

2017年的「广东快车」将透过展出多类型的作品,涵盖摄影、雕塑、录像、装置和档案资料,以聚焦这些用于塑造广东独特艺术语言的前瞻式实验,揭示当年展览背后复杂的历史和所面对挑战,同时也展现M+如何致力复修作品以及保存艺术历史重要时刻。

展览期间将举办一系列的活动,包括故事剧场、导赏团及教师活动,为公众及学校而设的导赏团。报名参加活动时,可同时预约所需的通达服务。

亚洲艺术文献库现展出一系列有关「广东快车」和珠江三角洲相关项目的专题书籍及原始资料。详情请浏览:www.aaa.org.hk

展览期间的星期六、日及公众假期将设有免费穿梭巴士服务,接载观众往返港铁九龙站A出口、西九项目办公室及M+展亭。

「广东快车」的延伸项目「M+ 放映:城市界限」将于2017年8月4至6日在百老汇电影中心举行。 「城市界限」以都市发展为题,放映一系列艺术家录像、剧情片、纪绿片和动画,从全球人口密度最高、经济发展最蓬勃的珠江三角洲出发,逐步扩展至中国和亚洲的转型城市。有关放映及票务详情,请浏览:www.westkowloon.hk/mplusscreenings

日期:
2017年6月23日至9月10日

开放时间:
星期三至星期日以及公众假期
上午11 时至晚上6 时

地点:
西九文化区M+ 展亭

免费入

恶劣天气安排:
8号或以上热带气旋警告讯号:M+展亭将于八号或以上热带气旋信号悬挂期间关闭。倘若该警告信号于正午12时或以前除下,M+展亭将会在警告信号除下后三小时后重开。如该警告信号于正午12时后除下,M+展亭则会暂停开放一天。

黑色暴雨警告:若M+展亭经已开放,则开放时间维持不变。若黑色暴雨警告在M+展亭开放前经已生效,M+展亭将不会开放,直至黑色暴雨警告除下。倘若该警告信号于正午12时或以前除下,M+展亭将会在警告信号除下后三小时后重开。如该警告信号于正午12时后除下,M+展亭则会暂停开放一天。