‘M+ Matters: Conversations on Women, Architecture, and the City’ is a joint effort between M+ and the University of Hong Kong Faculty of Architecture, which seeks to initiate public conversations in Hong Kong on the under-represented histories and contemporary realities of women in architectural production. The discussions examine the life and work of nine women and their roles in shaping the built environment in Asia, prompting the reappraisal of criteria and methods used to assess architecture.

The series of dialogues brings together historians, editors, and educators to probe issues related to values and approaches in the practices of women architects between the 1950s and the 1980s—as well as the visibility of these practices. Conversations begin with a focus on Minnette de Silva (1918–1998), a pioneering woman architect in Sri Lanka; and Wang Chiu-hwa (born 1925), an architect known for her designs of libraries in Taiwan. An examination of their work raises questions of how their histories could be constructed. Taking the editorial and curatorial work of Corrin Chan and Julia Fung as a point of departure, a further exchange of views explores the role of women as mediators in architecture. This is followed by discussions of women’s contributions to public service that focus on the work of Winnie Ho and Anna Kwong. The challenges of women pursuing private practice as individuals and in collaborative partnerships are studied through the work of Joanlin Au, Joan Leung, and Nora Leung. Invited interlocutors include the prominent scholars and practitioners Wallace Chang, Thomas Chung, Hsu Li-yu, Tariq Jazeel, Clover Lee, Cole Roskam, Koon Wee, and Marisa Yiu.

The event marks the first collaboration between a museum and a university to address this topic in Asia. It informs both institutions’ collecting and research methodologies, which take into account the non-linear narratives and fluid identities of women architects as part of an expanded and more inclusive effort for the profession.

‘M+ Matters: Conversations on Women, Architecture, and the City’ is organised by Eunice Seng (Associate Professor, Faculty of Architecture, University of Hong Kong) and Shirley Surya (Curator, Design and Architecture, M+), with Ina Wu (Research Assistant, University of Hong Kong) and Noel Cheung (Curatorial Assistant, Design and Architecture, M+).

Date:
23 November 2019 (Saturday)

Time:
10:00am–6:00pm

Venue:
Miller Theatre, Asia Society Hong Kong Center, 9 Justice Drive, Admiralty, Hong Kong

Language:
English and Mandarin, with simultaneous interpretation in Cantonese and English

Registrations:
Free admission. Limited capacity on a first-come, first-served basis

REGISTER NOW

Sessions Speakers

Session 1:
Histories, Archives, and the Lack thereof: Constructing Stories of Women in Architecture

Tariq Jazeel on Minnette de Silva
Tariq Jazeel in conversation with Shirley Surya

Wang Chiu-hwa in conversation with Hsu Li-yu
Discussion moderated by Shirley Surya

Session 2:
Thinking, Writing, and Building: Mediating Architectural Publics

Eunice Seng on Julia Fung

Corrin Chan in conversation with Thomas Chung 

Discussion moderated by Eunice Seng and Thomas Chung 

Lunch Break (1:25pm–2:30pm)   
Session 3:
Negotiating, Building, and Preserving: Serving the Public

Anna Kwong in conversation with Cole Roskam

Winnie Ho in conversation with Wallace Chang

Discussion moderated by Cole Roskam and Wallace Chang 

Session 4:
Building, Designing, and Drawing: Individual and Collaborative Practices
Joan Leung in conversation with Koon Wee

Nora Leung
in conversation with Marisa Yiu

Joanlin Au in conversation with Clover Lee  

Discussion moderated by Koon Wee, Marisa Yiu, and Clover Lee

Enquiries: 
noel.cheung@mplus.org.hk

Adverse Weather Arrangements:
Programme will be cancelled if a black rainstorm warning or a typhoon signal no. 8 or above is still in force 3 hours before the event starts.

Co-presented by:

Mplus Faculty of Architecture at the University of Hong Kong

See more

Other M+ Matters events

女性在建筑界所取得的成就历来备受忽视,即使在当今社会也不例外。有见及此,M+与香港大学建筑学院合办「M+ 思考:女性、建筑与城市的对话」研讨会,推动香港公众探讨这一话题。研讨会将聚焦九位女性的生平和作品,以及她们如何形塑亚洲建筑环境,促使人们重新审视评价建筑的准则和方法。

历史学家、编辑、教育工作者将于一系列对话环节中聚首,探讨1950至1980年代女性建筑师的创作手法和原则,以及世人对其作品的认识程度。这些对话首先围绕 Minnette de Silva(1918至1998年)和王秋华(生于1925年)展开,前者乃斯里兰卡女性建筑师先驱,后者是以设计台湾的图书馆闻名的建筑师。藉由检视她们的作品,探问应如何建构她们的人生历史。接着会以陈翠儿温冯月珊的编辑与策展工作为切入点,就女性在建筑界的中介协调角色作深入交流;然后聚焦何永贤邝心怡的作品,讨论女性对公共服务的贡献,并透过欧中梁梁庆仪梁帼平的作品,研究女性建筑师以个人或合伙方式执业时面临的挑战。是次受邀与会的著名学者与业界人士包括郑炳鸿钟宏亮许丽玉Tariq Jazeel李诗韵罗坤黄向军姚嘉珊

这是亚洲首次由博物馆和大学就上述议题合办的活动,令两家机构的收藏及研究方法更为完善精进,以顾及建筑这门日趋多元和包容广泛的专业中,女性建筑师的非线性叙述和流动身分。

「M+ 思考:女性、建筑与城市的对话」由香港大学建筑学院副教授成美芬与M+设计及建筑策展人王蕾,以及香港大学研究助理吴宜恩与M+设计及建筑策展助理张知行策划。

日期
2019年11月23日(星期六)

时间:
上午10时至下午6时

地点
亚洲协会香港中心麦礼贤剧场(金钟正义道9号)

语言:
英语及普通话,设粤语及英语即时传译

登记:
费用全免,先到先得。请先作网上登记。

立即登记

环节 讲者

第一节
历史、档案与缺失:重构建筑界的女性叙事

Tariq JazeelMinnette de Silva的生平及作品
Tariq Jazeel王蕾对谈

王秋华许丽玉对谈
讨论环节由王蕾主持

第二节
思考、书写与建筑:建筑群体的媒介

成美芬温冯月珊的编辑工作
陈翠儿钟宏亮对谈
讨论环节由成美芬钟宏亮主持

午饭时段(下午1时25分至2时30分)

第三节
协商、建设与维护:为公众服务

邝心怡罗坤对谈
何永贤郑炳鸿对谈
讨论环节由罗坤郑炳鸿主持

第四节
建筑、设计与制图:个人与协作实践

梁庆仪黄向军对谈
梁帼平姚嘉珊对谈
欧中梁李诗韵对谈
讨论环节由黄向军姚嘉珊李诗韵主持

查询:
noel.cheung@mplus.org.hk

恶劣天气安排:
如八号或更高之热带气旋警告信号或黑色暴雨警告于活动开始前3小时仍然生效,是次活动将会取消。

合办机构:

Mplus
Faculty of Architecture at the University of Hong Kong

查看更多

M+ 思考相关活动