Dramaturgy and Beyond – Roundtable: “Unpacking dramaturgy”

Dramaturgy is a unique practice distinct from the professions of playwriting, directing or stage design. As the practice of dramaturgy and the role of the dramaturg become increasingly important in the development of contemporary performance, how do performing arts professionals articulate ideas and adapt their role and function during the creative process?

To open our new three-year programme “Dramaturgy and Beyond”, we present a roundtable event that brings together Arco Renz, independent choreographer and curator from Belgium, Tang Fu Kuen, Artistic Director of the Taipei Arts Festival, and three co-curators from Hong Kong – Anna CY Chan, Low Kee Hong from West Kowloon, and Janice Poon from HKAPA – to discuss concepts of dramaturgy in theatre and dance. In conversation with local arts professionals and the public, the speakers share their insight and experience, exploring the connection between dance and dramaturgy, examining the creative development of contemporary performing arts from a dramaturgical perspective, and opening the doors for an in-depth conversation on the role of dramaturgy in contemporary performing arts at both micro and macro levels.

Date:
18 March 2018 (Sunday)

Time:
3:00pm-5:30pm

Venue:
Dance Studio 1, 4/F, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (1 Gloucester Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong)

Speakers:
Arco Renz
Tang Fu Kuen
Anna CY Chan
Low Kee Hong
Janice Poon

Language:
Conducted in English with simultaneous Cantonese and Mandarin interpretation

Target Participants:
Theatre and dance professionals and those with an interest in theatre and dance

Fee:
Free admission. Limited capacity on a first come, first served basis. Please register in advance.

 

Enquiries:
(852) 2200 0827, pa1@wkcda.hk

The organiser reserves the right to change the programme content and speakers. All changes will be announced on the website.

Overseas participants must shoulder their own travel and accommodation expenses.

Adverse Weather Arrangements:
The roundtable will be cancelled if a black rainstorm warning or a typhoon signal no.8 or above is in force 3 hours before the start of the event.

About the Speaker

Arco Renz
Artistic Director, Kobalt Works

Photo: Jean-Luc Tanghe

Arco Renz works as choreographer, director, dancer, actor, curator and dramaturg. As artistic director of the Brussels-based dance company Kobalt Works, he creates choreographies in Europe and Asia, as well as commissioned works for Opera Houses and institutional companies around the world. An important aspect of Arco Renz’s activities is his engagement in projects promoting the development of research and exchange between European and Asian artists. Between 2010 and 2017, he engaged in collaborative performance projects of very different natures in Cambodia (CRACK), Indonesia (solid.states + KRIS IS), Vietnam (Hanoi Stardust), the Philippines (COKE), Singapore/Thailand (ALPHA), and Hong Kong/Korea (EAST). Monsoon, a series of research and collaboration platforms bringing together Asian and European artists, is an ongoing project with editions in Europe, Asia and Australia. Arco Renz studied dance, theatre, and literature in Berlin and Paris before joining the first generation of the P.A.R.T.S. (Performing Arts Research and Training Studios) in Brussels.

Tang Fu Kuen
Artistic Director, Taipei Arts Festival

Photo: Masanobu Nishino

Tang Fu Kuen, currently Artistic Director of Taipei Arts Festival, was an independent dramaturg, curator and producer active in contemporary performance and visual arts fields in Europe and Asia. Tang was sole curator of the Singapore Pavilion at the 53rd Venice Biennale, for which artist Ming Wong was awarded Special Jury Mention. The platforms he has worked for include: Singapore Arts Festival, Indonesian Dance Festival, In-Transit Festival (Berlin), Exodos Festival (Ljubljana), December Dance (Brugge), Colombo Dance Platform (Sri Lanka), and Bangkok Fringe Festival. Tang has worked closely with a number of contemporary choreographers, such as Pichet Klunchun (Thailand), Eisa Jocson (Philippines), Daniel Kok (Singapore), Choy Ka Fai (Singapore/Berlin), Sujata Goel (India/USA), Eko Supriyanto (Indonesia), and Arco Renz (Belgium). In the field of conservation of intangible cultural heritage, he has worked with UNESCO in Paris and the Southeast Asian Regional Centre for Archaeology and Fine Arts, which is a part of Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO-SPAFA) in Bangkok.

Anna CY Chan
Head of Dance, Performing Arts, West Kowloon Cultural District Authority

Anna CY Chan is the Head of Dance, Performing Arts of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority. She is responsible for shaping the district’s artistic direction and strategies for dance.

Under her leadership, a series of New Works Forum programmes have been launched and co-presented, including “Dance Dialogue with Wayne McGregor”, “Screendance”, “Writing Choreographic Process”, “Multimedia and Dance Dialogue”, “Dance in Alternative Space” and “Dance Dramaturgy”, etc. These programmes explore innovative forms of creating and performing, and new ways of discussing and thinking about topics related to contemporary performances.  She also co-curated WKCDA annual Producer Network Meeting & Forum and as chief producer for ON VIEW: HONG KONG and Look Two Ways dance productions. 

In 2007, Anna became the Vice-President (East Asia) of the World Dance Alliance Asia Pacific. She was also the Chairperson of the Hong Kong Dance Alliance from 2006 to 2011 and has been the Dance Advisor of the Hong Kong Arts Development Council since 2008. She was awarded Hong Kong Dance Award in 2004 and City Contemporary Dance Laureate in 2016. She also serves on the American Dance Abroad inaugural advisory council, the jury member of 2018 Keir Choreographic Award in Australia and 2017 Seoul International Choreography Festival.

Low Kee Hong
Head of Theatre, Performing Arts, West Kowloon Cultural District Authority

Low is the Head of Theatre at the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority. He is responsible for formulating the district’s artistic direction and strategies for Drama and Theatre Arts.

In this role, Low has overseen the launch and co-presentation of several projects and programmes that engages in new discussion and discourse around contemporary modes of creation.

Before joining West Kowloon, Low was the Artistic Director and General Manager of the Singapore Arts Festival from 2009 to 2012. He was also General Manager of the Singapore Biennale from 2005 to 2009.

Janice Poon
Lecturer (Playwriting) and Academic Project Coordinator, School of Drama, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts

Janice POON is Lecturer (Playwriting) and Academic Project Coordinator at School of Drama, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. She is also the Artistic Director of Hong Kong Dramatists and a veteran theatre artist and cultural practitioner engaged in cross disciplinary playwriting, directing, dramaturgy, curating and theatre making focusing on play development and text-based cross-disciplinary and cross-cultural theatre making. Her works are loaded with humanity concern in socio-political situations and has been recognised with the Asian Cultural Council Lee Hysan Foundation Fellowship and the Foreign and Commonwealth Office of the British Government’s Chevening Scholarship. Devoted to cultural exchange between Hong Kong and the international theatre scene, she has been a resident artist at The Lark Play Development Center in New York and the Odin Teatret in Holstebro, Denmark, and is also a frequent speaker and facilitator at international theatre conferences and festivals. Her works have been presented in major cities in Europe, the US, China and other regions in Asia. And Then, I Float (2013) was awarded four major awards, nominated for the best play award at the Hong Hong Theatre Libre, and also invited as part of a cultural exchange project at the Schillertage festival in Mannheim, Germany (2015); Small Waisted (2016) won the Multi-cultural Short Plays Competition organised by the International Theatre Institute of UNESCO.

「超越剧场构作」 圆桌讨论

「剧场指导」(Dramaturg) 的角色和「剧场构作」(Dramaturgy) 的运用,是独立于编剧、导演和舞台设计以外的专业范畴,在当代表演艺术发展中日渐重要。在创作过程中,表演艺术工作者应如何厘定这门专业的角色和功能?

「超越剧场构作」三年计划的首个活动,请来比利时独立编舞和策划人Arco Renz、台北艺术节艺术总监邓富权和此计划的三位联合策划人陈颂瑛、刘祺丰和潘诗韵,与业界及公众一同探讨何谓剧场和舞蹈剧场构作。五位讲者将就剧场构作的种种疑问分享其个人经验及见解,介绍舞蹈创作如何与剧场构作相互扣连,亦会从剧场构作的角度分析当代表演艺术创作,由微观到宏观,打开认识剧场构作的大门。

日期:
2018年3月18日(星期日)

时间:
下午3时至5时30分

地点:
香港演艺学院4楼一号舞蹈排练室(香港湾仔告士打道1号)

讲者:
Arco Renz
邓富权
陈颂瑛
刘祺丰
潘诗韵

语言:
英语主讲(设粤语及普通话即时传译)

对象:
剧场及舞蹈工作者、爱好者

费用:
免费入场,先到先得。请先网上登记。

 

查询:
(852) 2200 0827, pa1@wkcda.hk

主办单位保留修改或变更内容及讲者之权利,各项变更将于网站公布。

海外参加者需负担有关行程机票及住宿开支。

恶劣天气安排:
若黑色暴雨警告、八号风球或更高烈风讯号于活动前三小时仍然生效,活动将会取消。

关于讲者:

Arco Renz
Kobalt Works 艺术总监

摄影: Jean-Luc Tanghe

Arco Renz是一位编舞、导演、舞者、演员、策划人及剧场指导,现为比利时Kobalt Works的艺术总监,他的编舞作品遍布欧洲及亚洲,亦获世界各地的歌剧院及机构委约创作。 Arco Renz致力推动欧亚艺术家之间的交流及研究,在2010至2017年间,他在亚洲多个国家推出不同性质的表演艺术合作项目,包括《CRACK》(柬埔寨)、《solid.states + KRIS IS 》(印尼)、《Hanoi Stardust》(越南)、《COKE》(菲律宾)、《ALPHA》(新加坡及泰国)及《EAST》(香港及韩国)。另外,他的《Monsoon》计划一直于欧洲、亚洲及澳洲提供艺术家研究及合作平台。 Arco Renz曾于柏林及巴黎攻读舞蹈、剧场及文学,随后加入布鲁塞尔Performing Arts Research and Training Studios(PARTS),属于该组织的早期成员。

邓富权
台北艺术节艺术总监

摄影: Masanobu Nishino

邓富权现为台北艺术节艺术总监。邓氏曾以独立剧场指导、策划人及制作人身份,活跃于欧洲及亚洲当代表演艺术及视觉文化领域。第53届威尼斯双年展,邓氏为新加坡馆担任策划人,他所策划的黄汉明个展更获该年Special Jury Mention奖项。邓氏曾参与各大艺术节及制作策划,包括新加坡艺术节、印尼舞蹈节、柏林回境艺术节、卢比安纳出走艺术节、布鲁日十二月舞蹈节、斯里兰卡柯伦波舞蹈平台及曼谷艺穗节。邓氏曾合作的当代编舞包括Pichet Klunchun(泰国)、Eisa Jocson(菲律宾)、Daniel Kok(新加坡)、Choy Ka Fai(新加坡/柏林)、Sujata Goel(印度/美国)、Eko Supriyanto(印尼)及Arco Renz(比利时)。邓氏亦致力于非物质遗产保育工作,曾任职巴黎联合国教科文组织及曼谷东南亚教育部长组织考古与美术区域中心。

陈颂瑛
西九文化区管理局表演艺术主管(舞蹈)

陈颂瑛现为西九文化区管理局表演艺术主管(舞蹈),负责制定文化区舞蹈发展的艺术方向及具体策略。

在她的带领下,团队推出一系列舞蹈计划,包括《新作论坛:与Wayne McGregor 的舞蹈对谈》、《新作论坛:光影舞蹈》、《新作论坛:肢体和声音的舞动与叙事》、《新作论坛:多媒体与舞蹈创作》、《自由空间.创作:非「常」舞蹈空间》及《舞蹈剧场构作》等,为香港及海外艺术家提供平台,共同探索全新创作及表演方法,研究当代演出相关议题。她亦联合策划西九文化区每年举办的《制作人网络会议及论坛》,以及担任《观・影── 香港舞者》及《相/人/舞》舞蹈制作的总监制。

2007年起,陈颂瑛担任世界舞蹈联盟亚太区分会东亚区副会长一职至今,2008年起担任香港艺术发展局的舞蹈顾问,并于2006至2011年间担任香港舞蹈联盟主席。 2004年获颁香港舞蹈年奖和2016年城市当代舞蹈达人奖。她亦被邀担任美国Dance Abroad首届国际顾问、澳洲2018 Keir 编舞奖和2017首尔国际编舞大赛评委。

刘祺丰
西九文化区管理局表演艺术主管(戏剧)

刘祺丰现为西九文化区管理局表演艺术主管(戏剧),负责制定文化区戏剧发展的艺术方向及具体策略。

在他的带领下,团队推出一系列观众拓展及人才培育项目,包括户外艺术节目「自由约」及国际交流计划「国际剧场工作坊节」等,引发讨论,刺激创作,开拓表演艺术全新领域。

刘祺丰曾于2009至2012年间出任新加坡艺术节艺术总监及总经理,期间引入为期一年的教育及外展项目「com.mune」,鼓励公众参与演出以外其他活动,他亦曾任新加坡双年展总经理。

潘诗韵
香港演艺学院戏剧学院讲师(编剧)及学术项目统筹

潘诗韵,香港演艺学院戏剧学院讲师(编剧)及学术项目统筹、香港戏剧创作室艺术总监、剧场及文化工作实践者,以编剧、导演、剧场构作及文化项目策划等岗位介入跨媒体创作,专研剧本精炼、以文字为本的跨媒体和跨文化创作,以发掘社会议题下的人文状况为创作核心。曾获亚洲文化协会利希慎基金奖助金以及英国外交及联邦事务部颁发志奋领留英奖学金,并于纽约百灵鸟剧本精炼中心和丹麦欧丁剧团担任驻团艺术家,致力推动香港及国际戏剧交流。潘氏常应邀于国际文化交流会议及戏剧节进行演讲及主持工作坊,作品曾于欧美及亚洲主要城市巡演。凭《漂流》获第六届香港小剧场奖四项大奖及提名最佳剧本奖,该剧亦受邀远赴德国国际席勒节进行文化交流;英语剧本《Small Waisted》亦获联合国教科文组织属下国际戏剧协会举办的多元文化短剧比赛奖。