Dance Dramaturgy and Creation

This four-day workshop is presented by acclaimed Berlin-based choreographer and director Helena Waldmann and leading dance journalist and critic Arnd Wesemann. Working together to offer creative and critical perspectives, the pair lead participants in an “artistic autopsy” – a self-examination that explores the provocative topic “defending ourselves against foreign intruders”.

Known as a “body-language author”, Waldmann produces choreographies that can be read as socio-critical statements. Using dance not just as a physical presentation but also as a personal political statement, her work is thought-provoking, playful, sensual and dramaturgically precise.

To introduce Waldmann’s approach to dance dramaturgy, and her process of creating an evening-long spectacle, the workshop opens with a screening and discussion of a selection of her work. Participants are then assigned to small groups to look at how society and our physical immune systems deal with “the other” (migrants, refugees, transplanted organs, germs…), and to investigate different modes of reaction – inclusion, adaptation, self defence or attack. Working together, participants transform radical and controversial ideas into choreographic interpretations that offer a micro-perspective on a macro-issue.

To find out more about Waldmann’s work, visit her website or view the trailer for Good Passports Bad Passports – A Borderline Experience.

Date

Time

Venue

Workshop Leaders

2 – 4 January 2019 (Wed – Fri)

10:00am – 1:00pm and
2:00pm – 5:00pm

 

Dance Studio 1, 4/F, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts
(1 Gloucester Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong)

Helena Waldmann

Arnd Wesemann

 

5 January 2019 (Sat)

Dance Studio 6, 3/F, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts
(1 Gloucester Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong)

Language:
English

Target participants:
Dance and theatre professionals, including choreographers, dance artists, theatre makers, dramaturgs and interdisciplinary artists, as well as graduate students of performing arts, performance studies and dramaturgy.

Number of participants:
20

Administration fee:
HK$400

Discounts:

  • 10% discount for participants who also took part in workshop series 1, 2, 3 or 4
  • 15% discount for participants who took part in any 2 other workshop series
  • 20% discount for participants who took part in any 3 other workshop series
  • 25% discount for participants who took part in ALL workshop series (Series 1, 2, 3 and 4)

Application:
Participants will be selected based on their application. Successful applicants will be contacted by email with payment instructions on or before 1 December 2018.

Application Deadline:
18 November 2018

Enquiries:
Ms Yvonne Yau: (852) 2200 0841, pa1@wkcda.hk

Remarks:

  1. Selected participants are required to commit to attending all sessions of the workshop, as well as the Public Seminar on 6 January.
  2. Overseas participants are responsible for their own travel and accommodation expenses.

The organiser reserves the right to change the programme content and speaker. All changes will be announced on the website.

Adverse weather arrangements:
If a black rainstorm warning, or a typhoon signal no. 8 or above is in force 2 hours before the start of an event, the event will be cancelled.

About the workshop leaders:

Helena Waldmann


Photo: Tina Ruisinger

Born in 1962, Berlin-based Helena Waldmann is a freelance director and choreographer whose radical work has received international acclaim. The political force of her choreographies, made in collaboration with German and international theatres and festivals, creates total works of art that go beyond traditional dance-theatre. Her award-winning productions have toured extensively in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt, Palestine, Africa, South America, East Asia, India and Bangladesh. Her travels have also inspired new works, such as: Headhunters – Cutting the Edges (2004), produced in Salvador de Bahia, Brazil; Letters from Tentland (2005), produced in Tehran for six Iranian women; Return to Sender – Letters from Tentland (2006), a commentary on European immigration policy performed by six exiled Iranian women; and Made in Bangladesh (2015), a piece on the economic parallels between conditions for workers in the garment industry and those for artists in the West. Her latest piece, Good Passports Bad Passports (2017), is a cross-border work involving dancers, acrobats and local volunteers that examines how we take borders for granted, and how nationalism prevents freedom of thought and choice.

Arnd Wesemann


Photo: Bettina Stoess

Journalist and editor of Europe’s leading dance magazine tanz, Arnd Wesemann is an expert in dance and dance criticism. He has published a number of books on politics and aesthetics, including Immer Feste Tanzen (The Dancing Feast 2006), a German-language collection of essays on the history of dance and dance as antidote to work, and Made in Bangladesh, an essay on how the lives of cultural workers and workers in the garment industry are impacted by society’s expectation that everything should be available at a bargain price.

舞蹈剧场构作与创作
来自德国的著名编舞/导演Helena Waldmann及舞蹈杂志编辑兼评论人Arnd Wesemann将带领参加者开展为期四天的工作坊。他们从创作及评论的角度出发,与参加者来一次「艺术性的自我检验」(Artistic Autopsy),继而探讨「防卫外来入侵者」这争议性的议题。

Helena Waldmann被誉为「身体语言作家」,其创作不限于形态表达,更仿如一篇篇尖锐社评,带有政治意识。作品风格生动、感性、发人深省,同时构作精准。

为了让参加者能更认识Helena Waldmann如何在其作品上及创作过程中运用舞蹈剧场构作,工作坊将放映Helena Waldmann的作品继而讨论。参加者亦会以小组形式深入反思「防卫外来入侵者」此议题,思考社会和身体的免疫系统如何处理「他者」(如移民、难民、移植器官、细菌等)入侵,以及如何反应— 共融、适应、自卫或攻击。各参加者合作将这些极具争议性的宏观意念,以编舞的细腻角度去转化成创作,阐述他们的见解。

按此了解更多Helena Waldmann的作品及观赏其《Good Passports Bad Passports – A Borderline Experience》片段

日期

时间

地点

工作坊导师

2019年1月2至4日(星期三至五)

上午10时至下午1时及
下午2时至5时

 

香港演艺学院4楼一号舞蹈排练室
(香港湾仔告士打道1号)

Helena Waldmann

Arnd Wesemann

 

2019年1月5日(星期六)

香港演艺学院3楼六号舞蹈排练室
(香港湾仔告士打道1号)

语言:
英语

工作坊对象:

  1. 舞蹈或剧场工作者,包括编舞、舞蹈艺术家、戏剧工作者、剧场指导及跨界别艺术工作者。
  2. 修读表演艺术、表演研究及剧场构作之研究生。

名额:
20

行政费用:
港币400元

折扣优惠:

  • 曾参加之前一个剧场构作工作坊(工作坊系列(一)(二)(三)(四))可享9折优惠
  • 曾参加之前两个剧场构作工作坊(工作坊系列(一)至(四))可享85折优惠
  • 曾参加之前三个剧场构作工作坊(工作坊系列(一)至(四))可享8折优惠.
  • 曾参加之前四个剧场构作工作坊(工作坊系列(一)(二)(三)(四))可享75折优惠

报名方法:
参加者请先填妥报名表,我们将根据所提供的资料录取参加者,入选者将于2018年12月1日前收到电邮确认及付款详情,未获通知者可视为落选。

截止日期:
2018年11月18日

查询:
邱小姐(852) 2200 0841, pa1@wkcda.hk

备注:

  1. 获选取参与者必须出席整个期间之工作坊及1月6日下午举行之公开讲座。
  2. 海外参加者需自行负担有关行程的机票及住宿开支。

主办单位保留修改或变更内容及工作坊导师之权利,各项变更将于网站公布。

恶劣天气安排:
如黑色暴雨警告讯号或八号风球或以上于活动开始前2小时仍然生效,是次活动将会取消。

有关工作坊导师:

Helena Waldmann


摄影:Tina Ruisinger

现居柏林的Helena Waldmann生于1962年,身兼导演和编舞,以尖鋭的作品享誉国际。曾与德国及世界各地的剧场和艺术节合作,Waldmann的编舞作品评论政治问题一针见血,推动了一股超越传统舞蹈剧场的整体艺术创作方式。 Waldmann的得奖作品曾于欧洲、伊朗、阿富汗、埃及、巴勒斯坦、非洲、南美洲、东亚、印度和孟加拉国等地巡回演出,而旅程中的所见所闻亦为她带来启发,期间所创作的作品包括在巴西萨尔瓦多创作的《Headhunters - Cutting the Edges》(2004);在德黑兰创作有关六名伊朗妇女的《Letters from Tentland》(2005);由六名流亡伊朗妇女现身说法评论欧洲移民政策的《 Return to Sender – Letters from Tentland》(2006); 和探讨成衣业工人和西方艺术家工作待遇与经济挂勾的《Made in Bangladesh》 (2015)。她的最新作品《Good Passports Bad Passports》(2017)是一部涉及舞者、杂技艺人和当地志愿者的跨界作品,探讨人们如何视边境为理所当然,民族主义如何钳制思想及选择自由等等。

Arnd Wesemann


摄影:Bettina Stoess

现任欧洲著名舞蹈杂志《tanz》编辑,Arnd Wesemann精于舞蹈及舞蹈评论,并曾出版多本有关政治和美学的书籍,包括研究舞蹈史和以舞蹈成为工作「解药」的德语文集《Immer Feste Tanzen》 (《The Dancing Feast》, 2006)、 以及讨论文化工作者和成衣业工人在推崇价低者得的社会中如何生活的论文《Made in Bangladesh》。