Theatre is a live experience.

The audience enter a theatre, and experience a live performance in the same space, at the same time, watching the same performers, interacting with the same stage lighting, sound and multi-media effects. In a theatre performance, the technical aspects (staging, lighting, sound) are elements of performing arts just as important as the performers, while the entire theatre space (architecture) itself is constructed by technologies. “Freespace Tech Lab” is a three-year project infusing innovative stage technology and performing arts, providing a platform for exchange between related technology providers of performing arts and participants, with a view to enhancing the applications of stage technology.

Showcasing: innovative experiments with stage technology and theatre space
Exchange: dialogue between related users and providers of performing arts technology
Training: nurturing talents of integrated technologies and innovative creativity

“Freespace Tech Lab” explores the forefront of stage technology and showcases, manifesting the diversity of possibilities in black box theatre. The focal point of the first year is “Sound, Light and Space”, including infusing production techniques of Soundscape, Kinetic Winch, Projection and Lighting and GiantMirror into the realm of performing arts. The Studio Theatre of Hong Kong Cultural Centre will be converted into an experimental venue with four mirror walls, and the possibilities of this experimental space would be explored through the endless reflections of the mirrors.

Tech Lab Experimentation: Sound, Light and Space

► Soundscape: sound effects of theatre
Sound localisation is an important facet of theatre sound design. Soundscape uses a multi-dimensional sound design processor to stimulate the visual imagination of the audience.


► Kinetic Winch: digital programming of
the rigging system
20 sets of rigging installations controlled by digital programming will be placed in the black box theatre to experiment with the synchronisation of the automated rigging system, sound and lighting.

► Projection and Lighting: lights and shades of stage
Light defines space. With the new techniques of projection, the experiment of stage lighting and projection is carried out, pixels and stage lighting being merged into one: projection is lighting, lighting is projection.

► GiantMirror: theatre space
This idea originated from the stage design of Danny Yung’s The Trial in the 90's, with a black box constructed with the four walls made of four mirrors, each 18m x 11m. The innovative mirroring technique then is reinterpreted into this endless theatre space.

Creator, Artistic Director and Spatial Designer:
Mathias Woo

Presented and Produced by:

Co-organised by:



Technical Partners:

 

Academic Partners:

剧场是一种现场的体验。

观众走进剧场,在同一个空间,同一段时间,欣赏舞台上的表演者,跟舞台灯光、音响、多媒体效果互动,经验一场现场演出。剧场演出除了台前演员,舞台技术(台、灯、声)是表演艺术其中的重要元素,而整个舞台空间(建筑)本身就是藉由技术而合成。 「Freespace舞台与技术实验室」是一项融合创新舞台科技与表演艺术的三年计划,为表演艺术范畴相关的技术供应者及参与者建立交流平台,引领舞台科技的应用技术。计划内容包括:

展示── 舞台科技及剧场空间的创意实验

交流── 演艺科技相关范畴供应者及使用者

培训── 培养融合科技与创新能力人才

「Freespace 舞台与技术实验室」探索前沿舞台科技,展示黑盒剧场的多样可能性,首年主题聚焦「声/光/间」,将声音景观(Soundscape)、机动装置(Kinetic Winch)、投映与灯光(Projection and Lighting)和镜幕(GiantMirror)制作技术注入表演艺术领域。香港文化中心剧场改装成实验场地并装置四面镜幕,透过环回镜面的无尽反射,试验剧场空间的可能。

舞台与技术实验:声音X 灯光X 空间

声音景观 〉〉〉舞台声效
声源配置(sound localisation)为舞台声效设计的一门功课,「声音景观」是以多维度的超环回立体技术,用声音刺激观众的视觉想像。

机动装置 〉〉〉数码编程悬挂系统
20组可透过数码程式操控的悬挂装置,在黑盒剧场内实验机动悬挂系统与音响及灯光的同步效果。

投映与灯光 〉〉〉舞台光影
光定义空间。剧场内的光影实验,在新技术下,像数(pixel)与舞台灯光合二为一,映即是光;光即是映。

镜幕技术 〉〉〉剧场空间
源自剧场先锋荣念曾在90年代《拍案惊奇》(The Trial) 的舞台设计── 黑盒内由四面18米x 11米的镜墙组合而成;创新的无缝镜幕技术,重新演绎这重重无尽的剧场空间。

总策划、艺术总监及空间设计:
胡恩威

主办及制作:

合办:



技术伙伴:

 

学术伙伴: