Rediscovering Classics

M+ Screenings: Restored Images from Taiwan represents a joint effort from Hong Kong and Taiwan to promote the diversity of Chinese cinema and the importance of preserving ‘the seventh art’. Spanning from silent films of the 1910s to a martial arts classic of the 1970s, the selected works—including feature films, shorts, and newsreels—were mostly restored by the Taiwan Film Institute, as part of its digital film restoration project launched in 2013. Over the past six years, the project has demonstrated huge success with more than thirty Chinese-language films restored, taking full advantage of recent developments in digital technology.

The restoration work carried out in Taiwan could be an important reference for the film industry in Hong Kong, which has been the biggest film producer in the Greater China region since the end of the Second World War. Due to limited funding, the city has made little progress in restoring its film heritage over the past three decades. The climate here has added difficulties to the process, as film is prone to damage and deterioration under high temperature and humidity. While the advances of technology have lowered the cost of restoration and resulted in many ‘restored’ editions of films on DVD and Blu-ray, most of these products are merely digitised versions of the original works and a means of earning profit.

Among the classics being reintroduced, King Hu’s Raining in the Mountain (1979) was the first feature film restored by the institute on its own. The restored work has been widely anticipated, and it is selected as the opening film of both the screening programme as well as the 2019 Taiwan Arts Festival organised by Kwang Hwa Information and Culture Center. Lauded for its technical artistry, Lin Tuan-Chiu’s The Husband’s Secret (1960) also deserves close attention given the rarity of Taiwanese-language film screenings in Hong Kong. Pan Lei—a significant film director recruited twice to work for the Shaw Brothers during the 1960s and 1970s—has become less well-known to the present generation in Hong Kong. His work Typhoon (1962), one of his earliest shot in Taiwan, is an important part of his legacy, which stands out from many of the Mandarin-language films that emerged afterwards, during the period of healthy realism in the mid-1960s.

Also included in the institute’s collection of restored works are silent film classics, very few copies of which still exist. Produced at a time when Shanghai film star Ruan Linyu was at the peak of her career, Love and Duty (1931) was considered lost for decades until a copy was accidentally unearthed in the 1990s. A Trip through China (1916), a documentary shot by Russian-born American filmmaker Benjamin Brodsky, is the earliest film record of the country. To accompany these two screenings, Taiwanese electronic musician fish.the is invited to provide a live score.

This screening programme also features a selection of shorts by Taiwanese director Richard Chen Yao-Chi, which were made during and after his film studies at the University of California, Los Angeles, in the 1960s. Combining a realist aesthetic with an experimental approach, his works remain significant and influential to this day. In addition to Chen’s documentaries, the newsreels from 1946, filmed at a time of social and political turbulence, became valuable records for the history of Taiwan. As part of this weekend-long programme, representatives from the institute are invited to share their experience in film restoration, prompting discussion on the current situation in Hong Kong and the way forward in preserving film art and culture.

Li Cheuk-to
Curator, Hong Kong Film and Media, M+

修复经典 再现眼前

电影早在默片时代,已有「第七艺术」之称,战后不久更进入了西方学术的殿堂,与其他艺术形式平起平坐。但在一般大众心目中,电影仍不过是一种普及媒介,或娱乐工业的一部分。制作人及发行商也大多是生意人,在影片的商业价值随时间推移变得所余无几时,更对好好保存其拷贝掉以轻心。偏偏电影菲林十分容易损坏和变质(如褪色),专业的片库需要严格的温度及湿度控制,香港炎热潮湿的气候当然对此十分不利。

香港电影战后的产量为两岸三地之冠,电影资料馆却是最迟成立,但也对挽救和保存濒临失传的影片作出了重大的贡献。然而受经费所限,近三十年来全球愈来愈重视的电影修复工作,在香港的进展却相对缓慢。随着数码修复技术的进步、修复成本的降低,愈来愈多公司借修复之名再版发行光碟(DVD及Blu-ray)图利,但其中不少只是把菲林或母带数码化,不算严格意义上的修复。

台湾的国家电影中心却充分利用数码化的潮流,早在六年前已开展「台湾电影数位修复计画」,三年前更确定每年修复至少六部影片,包括经典华语剧情片及重要的新闻纪录片,至今成绩斐然。 「M+ 放映:修复影像在台湾」精选近年修复的五部长片、三部短片及三段新闻片放映,可见其修复的对象不拘一格。从百年前的默片到大师经典作,从国语片到台语片,从剧情片到纪录片,六个放映节目展示了电影是何其丰富多元的文化遗产,而修复又对保存和推广电影文化有举足轻重的意义。

此次放映同时是光华新闻文化中心主办的「台湾月」节目之一,《空山灵雨》(1979)修复版的首场放映也是其开幕节目。胡金铨导演的多部经典作如《龙门客栈》和《侠女》近年陆续修复,《空山灵雨》何日修复早已令人望穿秋水,它亦是国家电影中心第一部自主修复的剧情长片。台语片在香港放映的机会少之又少,《丈夫的秘密》(1960)技艺之圆熟使人大开眼界。潘垒虽曾两度来港效力邵氏,不少佳作至今知者已不多,他早期在台拍的《台风》(1962)更是难得的珍品,文艺水平远超其后出现的「健康写实主义」国语片。

这回放映的两部默片,更是国家电影中心硕果仅存的珍藏。 《恋爱与义务》(1931)是阮玲玉演艺生涯中巅峰时期的杰作,从散佚、出土到人人惊艳的过程,堪称传奇。 《经过中国》(1916)是1910年代布洛斯基在中国拍摄的纪录片,有至今为止最早以菲林记录下来的中国影像。是次特邀台湾电子音乐家黄凯宇来港为两场放映作现场配乐,当可令人耳目一新。

非剧情片方面,还有台湾导演陈耀圻取得电影硕士学位前后拍摄的三部短片,其实验性、现代性及写实美学,在台湾电影史上有划时代的意义。三段1946年的新闻片,亦为那个动荡的大时代留下了珍贵的纪录。国家电影中心的代表除了在各场放映前作简介外,更会出席探讨华语片修复的讲座,与香港的同行及专家交流经验,同时提高本地观众对电影修复的认识和兴趣。

李焯桃
M+香港电影及媒体策展人