In conjunction with Shirley Tse: Stakeholders, Hong Kong in Venice, and in anticipation of the response exhibition at the M+ Pavilion in May 2020, M+ is hosting two panel discussions in Hong Kong this summer. The exhibition in Venice, curated by Christina Li, is co-presented by M+, West Kowloon Cultural District, and the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. The discussions intend to open up multiple points of entry into aspects of Shirley Tse’s multifaceted practice, examine the ongoing history of Hong Kong’s activities at La Biennale di Venezia, and address the role of an institution in supporting the growth of the art community. Reflecting on the development of Hong Kong’s presence in Venice over the past decade, the first event features a discussion between curators and artists involved in the current exhibition and in previous editions. In the second event, Tse and other artist educators discuss the intersections of pedagogy and art, and how mixed-media artists approach education as a possible extension of their art practices.

Over the past two decades, Shirley Tse has used sculpture to consider how plastic operates as a signifier of globalisation in terms of the material’s circulation, standardisation, and industrialisation. More recently, she has looked at plastic as an adjective in exploring its resonance, movement, and multiplicity in the contemporary period. For the 58th International Art Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia, Tse furthers her investigation into plasticity to understand the world, and for the first time introduces other materials for their slow, indeterminate manufacturing processes that inherently produce difference and negotiation.   

The two new site-responsive installations that make up Shirley Tse: Stakeholders, Hong Kong in Venice embrace sculpture as a form of multidimensional thinking. Through working with contrasting materials such as wood, plastic, and other mass-produced ready-mades, and raw materials and processes including craft and digital technologies and amateur radio transmission, Tse’s sprawling room-sized installation Negotiated Differences and outdoor suite of anthropomorphic sculptures Playcourt practise negotiation to draw attention to the connections among subjectivities in pluralistic societies. Foregrounded by affect, empathy, and ethics, at the heart of this exhibition are the various expressions and enactments of negotiation. Tse proposes Stakeholders as a space to reflect on coexistence amidst the differences that both reactivate our relationships and renew our individual stakes in society. 

Online registration required, on a first-come, first-served basis.

Programme:


30 August 2019 (Friday)
7:00-9:00pm
Proceedings: Four Iterations of Hong Kong in Venice

Speakers: Doryun Chong, Stella Fong, Christina Li, Yung Ma, Shirley Tse, and Samson Young
Moderator: John Tain


31 August 2019 (Saturday)
2:00–4:00pm
Artist Educators: The Interface between Artistic Practice and Pedagogy

Speakers: Leung Mee Ping, Phoebe Man Ching Ying, Shirley Tse, and Doris Wong Wai Yin
Moderator: Clara Cheung


Co-presented by:

Mplus
Hong Kong Arts Development Council

See more

See also

西九文化区M+与香港艺术发展局合办了由李绮敏策展的「谢淑妮:与事者,香港在威尼斯」展览,并将在2020年5月于M+展亭举行回应展。为配合这两个展览,M+于今年夏天举办两场座谈会,借此从不同角度切入去理解谢淑妮丰富的创作实践,回顾香港参与威尼斯双年展的历程,并探讨文化机构支持本地艺术发展所担当的角色。首场活动邀得参与现届和往届威尼斯双年展的策展人与艺术家同场,分享过去十年香港参展的点滴;在第二场讨论中,谢淑妮将与一众出席的艺术家兼教育工作者探讨教学法与艺术的交集,以及混合媒介艺术家如何把教育视为其艺术实践的延伸。

过去二十年,谢淑妮一直借雕塑创作思考塑胶如何成为全球化的意符,探讨这种物料在流通、标准化和工业化生产中的意义。近年她则把塑胶视作形容词,追溯它在当代社会中的动态、多样性和引发的反响。谢淑妮在第58届威尼斯双年展中再推进她对可塑性的探索,借此了解世界,更首次在作品中加入制作需时与程序无法预定的物料,其中的差异与非单一性必然带来协商。

在「谢淑妮:与事者,香港在威尼斯」展览中,谢淑妮以雕塑作为多元思考的表现形式,创作了两件装置作品来回应场地的空间特质。她采用不同类型的物料,如木材、塑胶、其他大量生产的现成物和原材料,运用手工艺、数码技术和业余无线电传输等手法和技术,创作出蔓生于整个室内展场的装置作品《Negotiated Differences》 ,以及一组在户外的拟人形态雕塑《Playcourt》,借协商来凸显多元社会中不同主体之间的连系。展览以协商的各种表达和演绎方式为核心,强调情感、同理心与伦理。当我们重新审视自己与他人之间的差异时,这可以成为重整关系的契机,又能重新确立我们各自在社会中的参与,而谢淑妮就以「与事者」展览为空间,思考在差异中共存的议题。

需作网上登记,先到先得。

活动

2019年8月30日(星期五)晚上7时至9时
历程:香港四度参与威尼斯双年展

讲者:郑道链、方咏甄、李绮敏、马容元、谢淑妮、杨嘉辉
主持人:谭鸿钧


2019年8月31日(星期六)下午2时至4时
艺术家教育工作者:艺术实践与教学法的交会

讲者:梁美萍、文晶莹、谢淑妮、黄慧妍
主持人:张嘉莉

合办:

Mplus
Hong Kong Arts Development Council

查看更多

相关内容