Chanel Kong | Timmy Chih-Ting Chen

Watching Out, Listening Up

Cinema will become a ‘performing art’ . . .

I foresee that . . . its artist in residence . . . will orchestrate the image material he has at his disposal . . . And will lead to a totally new international art form.

—Stan VanDerBeek, 19661

Stan VanDerBeek, a pioneer in experimental film, first proposed the term ‘expanded cinema’ in a manifesto to refer to his Movie-Dromes, a prototype theatre where images would be projected on a spherical dome. In exploring the artistic possibilities of media technologies, VanDerBeek pushed boundaries to broaden the emotional potential of the moving image, and to recognise the audience’s agency. ‘Expanded cinema’ has since evolved to encompass different strategies in presenting film or video works that augment or diversify the one-way relationship between the audience and the moving image. It has become a way to describe the expanding contexts that enrich the process that creates the artistic experience.

Haunting Images: Live Cinema by Lim Giong is M+’s initial experiment with expanded cinema, with an emphasis on how performers and audiences can co-create and contribute to experiencing sound, music, and moving image in a live context. This approach is by no means new; in fact, ‘live cinema’ recalls key periods in the development of cinema culture and could be considered a precursor form of expanded cinema. From musical accompaniment in ciné-concerts and live interpretations at benshi presentations during the early days of cinema, to the development of the avant-garde film and the emergence of media/performance art happenings in subsequent decades, live cinema has redefined itself with the concepts and technologies of the times. What has remained constant is the in situ significance of its constituents in its reception and interpretation. Live cinema situations activate the role of the creator and the audience, and demand heightened sensorial attention. Between vibrations in the air and light flickering on screens, between live sound mixes and edited visuals, and between pre-existing knowledge and fresh information, audiences are asked to continuously negotiate between privileging image over sound, or vice versa, to create or search for meaning.

Blurring boundaries between cinema and concert, and resetting expectations and behaviours for these experiences, Haunting Images aims to connect moving image practices among and beyond works in the M+ Collections. Created over the past six decades, these works individually and collectively construct a portrait of Hong Kong and Taiwan in a state of becoming, and speak to varied artist profiles and to the conditions in which they were made. Capturing intimate moments, documenting ritualistic movement, representing nature, experimenting with the morphing image, or gesturing towards sociopolitical subtexts, these works express interwoven issues of ethnography, portraiture, and experimentation. Placed in an expanded cinema context in a collaborative presentation with the work of Lim Giong, these moving images call upon Hong Kong and Taiwan as latent sites of meaning, ready to be composed and reimagined live.

Chanel Kong

Associate Curator, Moving Image, M+

1Stan VanDerBeek, ‘Culture: Intercom and Expanded Cinema: A Proposal and Manifesto’. Film Culture 40 (Spring 1966), 15–18.

 

Sound Approaching Moving Image to Become Live Cinema

It is futile but necessary for a scholar of film sound to try to capture the creative process through which a sound artist approaches image—especially in the case of Lim Giong, who is a fascinating all-round artistic paradox, at once modest and modernist, and respectful and irreverent. He began his career as a Hokkien/Taiyu rock singer-songwriter in the 1990s New Taiwanese Song Movement, with his debut album Marching Forward (1990) selling more than four hundred thousand copies. He then acted in Hou Hsiao-Hsien’s films The Puppetmaster (1993), Good Men, Good Women (1995), and Goodbye South, Goodbye (1996), and scored arthouse films and documentaries by Hou Hsiao-Hsien, Jia Zhangke, Bi Gan, Midi Z, Pema Tseden, and others. Unbound by the technology of electronic music—his medium of composition—he constantly pursues creative freedom, but also creative ‘self-destruction’.

In his first foray into composing for moving image, Lim wrote ‘Self-Destruction’, a nihilistic, psychedelic Taiyu rock song with a pounding beat, which also characterises the psychology of his role as a small-time gangster in Goodbye South, Goodbye. Self-styled as a DJ, he composed trippy electronic dance tunes for Hou Hsiao-Hsien’s Millennium Mambo (2001) and Jia Zhangke’s The World (2004), moving away from the limitations of lyrics. Still Life (2006), directed by Jia, is bookended by Lim’s electronic sampling of an indigenous Sichuan opera aria, ‘Lin Chong Escapes in the Night’ (Lin Chong ye ben), which evokes a mythical underworld and is a surreal complement to the setting of Fengjie, a town upstream from the Three Gorges Dam, populated in the film by gangsters and wanderers. This is Lim’s modus operandi—electronically engaging with local sound materials, generating a boundary-crossing relationship of mutual influence.

Lim’s approach of musically submitting himself to the other and the unfamiliar leads him into uncharted territory, the realm of dreams, and a state of ‘no-self’ (wuwo). For the soundtrack of Kaili Blues (2015), directed by Bi Gan, a major emerging talent in contemporary Chinese arthouse cinema, Lim electronically treated a recording of a lusheng mouth organ, a traditional Miao folk musical instrument. For his 2015 film The Assassin, Hou Hsiao-Hsien asked Lim to reconstruct the soundscape of Tang-era China. Lim consulted with ethnomusicologists and created a connection between the culturally specific sound of the guqin (a seven-stringed zither) and his own electronic interventions and manipulations.

Haunting Images: Live Cinema by Lim Giong is quite possibly the first time Lim participates in a live cinema performance in which the moving image works are not silent pieces but were created with other specific sounds and musical elements. For tonight’s event, Lim has determined the order of presentation, sampled sound materials, and meticulously planned certain cues to retain a certain flavour. But liveness is unrehearsable. As if inspired by the name of the band he formed during high school—Runner—and the title of his first album—Marching Forward—the soundscape he creates runs and marches forward by turns, approaching image to become live cinema.

Timmy Chih-Ting Chen

Collaborating Curator

Research Assistant Professor, Academy of Film, Hong Kong Baptist University

江千慧|陈智廷

留心看,倾耳听

电影势将成为「表演艺术」……

我预见到……其驻场艺术家……会精心编排手上的影像素材……

并带来一种崭新的国际艺术形式。

──Stan VanDerBeek(1966年)1

实验电影先驱Stan VanDerBeek在有关其电影球幕(一种把影像投射于球体荧幕之电影院原型)的宣言中,首次提出「扩延电影」(expanded cinema)一说。 VanDerBeek透过探索媒体科技的艺术可能性,推展疆界,拓阔流动影像潜在的情感力量,并肯定观众方面的自主判断力。此后扩延电影迭经发展,现已涵盖各种呈现电影和影像作品的不同策略,这些策略令流动影像与观众原本的单向关系得以扩充或趋于多元。它亦成为一种描述方式,用以形容那些令创造艺术体验的过程更形丰富的背景脉络,而这些背景脉络正不断扩展。

「幻影波音:林强现场配乐」是M+对扩延电影的首次尝试,集中探索表演者与观众如何在「现场电影」环境中共同创作和投入,以体验声音、音乐与流动影像。所谓现场电影,其实践手法之一是以现场配乐结合流动影像播放。这种手法绝非新事,事实上,现场电影令人想起电影发展史的一些重要时刻,其形式可视为扩延电影的前身。由早期的电影现场伴奏和默片解画,到前卫电影的发展,及其后数十年媒体/行为展演的兴起,可见出随着不同时代的观念与技术发展,现场电影亦不断重新定义,唯一不变者,是对现场参与者当下理解和诠释作品的重视。现场电影激发创作者与观众投入活动,要求参与者在感官上十分专注。在空气颤动和光影摇曳之间、在现场混音创作和经剪辑的影像之间、在固有知识和新鲜见闻之间,观众不得不一直在影像或声音之间转换取舍,从中寻找或创造意义。

是次节目模糊了电影与音乐会的分界,重塑观众对此两种体验的预期和行为,旨在把M+藏品系列当中及以外的流动影像作品连结起来。是次所选均是近六十年来创作的作品,或个别或集体地描绘出香港和台湾不断流变的面貌,涵盖不同类型艺术家的经历与各自的创作处境。这些作品捕捉亲密时刻、纪录仪式行为、呈现自然面貌、试验变形图像、指涉社会政治隐喻,从而表达有关民族志、人物描画和实验等各种交错的议题。是次与林强合作的现场节目,以扩延电影的方式呈现这些流动影像作品,它们镜头下的香港和台湾,是潜藏丰富意义的地方,正待参与者即场为其编谱和重新想像。

江千慧

M+流动影像副策展人

1Stan VanDerBeek:〈Culture: Intercom and Expanded Cinema: A Proposal and Manifesto〉〔文化:对话系统与扩展电影:提案与宣言〕,《Film Culture》〔电影文化〕,第40期(1966年春季),页15 –18。

 

声音趋近流动影像,成为现场电影

对研究电影声音的学者而言,尝试捕捉声音艺术家为影像配乐的创作过程,是徒劳但必要的。这在林强的情况尤甚;这位引人入胜、充满矛盾的艺术全才,既谦和又富现代精神,既恭敬又桀骜不驯。他在1990年代新台语歌运动期间以闽南语/台语摇滚歌手兼曲词创作人出道,1990年推出首张专辑《向前走》,大卖四十万张;及后他在侯孝贤的电影《戏梦人生》(1993)、《好男好女》(1995)、《南国再见,南国》(1996)演出,并为侯孝贤、贾樟柯、毕赣、赵德胤、万玛才旦等导演的艺术电影作品和纪录片创作配乐。林强以电子音乐为作曲媒介,但并不受其技术束缚,一直追寻创作自由,和创作上的「自我毁灭」。

林强初试配乐时,写下《自我毁灭》,这首风格虚无迷幻、非主流、节拍强劲的台语摇滚,描绘他在《南国再见,南国》饰演的小混混的心理状态。自谦唱片骑师的林强为侯孝贤的《千禧曼波》(2001)和贾樟柯的《世界》(2004)创作迷幻电子舞曲,摆脱歌词的限制。在贾樟柯的《三峡好人》(2006)片头与片尾,配上他用川剧《林冲夜奔》的唱曲取样混音而成的作品,烘托出一个超现实的神秘地下世界,呼应戏中处处是帮会成员和流浪者的三峡上游奉节古城。这就是林强的独特手法──以电子方式处理本土声音素材,在互为影响中,跨越界限。

在音乐上林强「虚位以待」他者和陌生事物,这个进路带他走进未知的地带、梦般的领域、无我的境界。他为当代艺术电影界新星毕赣的《路边野餐》(2015)所创作的配乐,以电子手法处理一段用苗族古乐器芦笙吹奏的录音。当侯孝贤请他为《刺客聂隐娘》(2015)重现唐代中国的声音面貌时,他便请教民族音乐学家,然后将具独特文化质感的古琴声音,与他自己的电子形式介入和处理手法结合起来。

「幻影波音:林强现场配乐」大概是林强首次以具有特定声音和音乐元素,而非无声的流动影像作品,作现场电影表演。林强为今晚的活动安排表演次序,抽取不同声音元素,并精心编排了若干导引乐句,以保留住一种瞬间即逝的韵味。他创造的声音景观,仿佛受他高中时所组乐队的名称「Runner」,以及首张专辑名称《向前走》所启发,一直奔驰,向前迈进,趋近流动影像,成为现场电影。

陈智廷

合作策展人

香港浸会大学电影学院研究助理教授