Chhum Phanith | Danaya ChulphuthiphongMarguerite Duras | Edwin | Christopher Gozum | Hsu Chia-wei | Daniel HuiSiew-wai Kok | Wiwat Lertwiwatwongsa | Liao Jiekai | Nguyen Trinh Thi | Naween Noppakun | Pham Ngoc Lan | Jan Pineda | John Pirozzi | Ben Rivers | Éric Rohmer | Tulapop Saenjaroen | Safwan Salleh | Chulayarnnon Siriphol | Pathompon Mont Tesprateep | Kanitha Tith  | Toh Hun Ping | John Torres | Pimpaka Towira | Marc Walker

Chhum Phanith (Cambodia) is a filmmaker based in Phnom Penh. He is a contributor to the White Building Archive, which collects visual and audio materials created by artists and residents of the White Building, a historically and architecturally significant apartment complex built in Phnom Penh in 1963. Chhum’s work explores memory and multiple narratives in the context of rapid urban development.

Danaya Chulphuthiphong (Thailand, born 1981) is a cinematographer and director who lives and works in Bangkok. Her debut short film, Night Watch (2014), was shortlisted at the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen and Experimenta India 2015, and won the Special Jury Prize at Fronteira – International Documentary and Experimental Film Festival.

Marguerite Duras (France, 1914–1996) was a renowned novelist, playwright, essayist, and filmmaker. She addressed questions related to colonialism, communism, and love in written work, including her novel Un barrage contre le Pacifique (1950) and her screenplay for Alain Resnais’s Hiroshima mon amour (1960), and in the films she directed. Her film Le camion (1977) was nominated for the Palme d’Or at the Festival de Cannes, and Les enfants (1985) won the Silver Bear at the Berlinale.

Edwin (Indonesia, born 1978) is a filmmaker whose debut feature, Blind Pig Who Wants to Fly (2008), won the FIPRESCI Award at the International Film Festival Rotterdam and was screened at the Museum of Modern Art, New York, and at over forty film festivals. His film Kara, Anak Sebatang Pohon (2005) was the first Indonesian short film to be shown at the Quinzaine des réalisateurs at the Festival de Cannes.

Christopher Gozum (Philippines, born 1976) is a filmmaker based in Bayambang, Pangasinan Province, Philippines. He is the founder of Sine Caboloan, an independent company that produces films about Pangasinan Province. Gozum is particularly passionate about the promotion and preservation of the indigenous language in the province, and he directed and produced Anacbanua (2009), the first Pangasinan-language feature film.

Hsu Chia-wei (Taiwan, born 1983) is a Taipei-based artist and filmmaker. His work investigates often-overlooked histories of the Cold War in Asia through factual narratives with a slow and quiet pace. His short film Ruins of the Intelligence Bureau (2015) had its world premiere at Kino der Kunst in 2017 and is part of the M+ Collections.

Daniel Hui (Singapore, born 1986) is a Boston-based filmmaker and a founding member of the Singaporean independent film collective 13 Little Pictures. His films have been shown at festivals around the world, and his debut feature-length film, Eclipses (2011), won the Pixel Bunker Award for International New Talent at Doclisboa.

Siew-wai Kok (Malaysia, born 1977) is a video artist, improvisational vocalist, educator, and film curator. Her work investigates connections between the body, voice, and solitude. She has curated numerous experimental video programmes for events such as KLEX, the Kuala Lumpur Experimental Film, Video & Music Festival, and curated the Sun Shower programme at the Singapore International Film Festival in 2015.

Wiwat Lertwiwatwongsa (Thailand) is a Phuket-based writer, filmmaker, and critic. His shorts My Mother and Her Darkness (2009) and Loneliness Is Everywhere (2009) were screened at the International Film Festival Rotterdam. Lertwiwatwongsa was one of the curators of the 2013 edition of KLEX, the Kuala Lumpur Experimental Film, Video & Music Festival, and of the Bangkok Experimental Film Festival in 2012.

Liao Jiekai (Singapore, born 1984) is a filmmaker and artist. His first feature-length film, Red Dragonflies (2010), won the Special Jury Prize at the Jeonju International Film Festival. An active member of the filmmaking community in Singapore, Liao co-founded the independent film collective 13 Little Pictures.

Nguyen Trinh Thi (Vietnam, born 1973) is a Hanoi-based multimedia artist and filmmaker who founded Hanoi Doclab, an independent centre for documentary film and moving image art. Her work deals with the effects of political power in everyday life and the role of artists in Vietnamese society. Her film Letters from Panduranga (2015) is part of the M+ Collections.

Naween Noppakun (Thailand) is a moving image artist and filmmaker. His work responds to rapid urbanisation in Bangkok and the anxiety that this process creates. His debut short, When Her Light Is Extinguished (2012), was screened at the 8th ReelHeART International Film Festival in Toronto in 2012.

Pham Ngoc Lan (Vietnam, born 1986) is a director and cinematographer. The Story of Ones (2011), his first short film, was screened at numerous festivals and museums, including the Visions du Réel documentary film festival and CPH:DOX, the Copenhagen International Documentary Film Festival.

Jan Pineda (Philippines) is a Manila-based artist and filmmaker. He is a co-founder of Disclab Research and Criticism, an independent organisation that documents and promotes contemporary art in the Philippines. His work Memorial of an Inquiry (2014) was screened at various film festivals and was shortlisted for the Silver Screen Awards Asian Feature Film Competition at the Singapore International Film Festival.

John Pirozzi (United States) is a director and cinematographer, specialising in music documentaries. In addition to directing music videos for Queens of the Stone Age, Calexico, and Victoria Williams, he has shot numerous performances by U2 and Leonard Cohen. His first feature-length documentary film, Sleepwalking through the Mekong (2007), chronicles the Los Angeles–based band Dengue Fever’s first trip to Cambodia.

Ben Rivers (United Kingdom, born 1972) is an artist and filmmaker whose work blends fiction and reality and evokes feelings of both joy and unease. Two Years at Sea (2011), his debut feature-length film, won the FIPRESCI International Critics Prize at the Venice International Film Festival. His short films Ah Liberty! (2008) and Things (2014) both won the Tiger Award for Short Film at the International Film Festival Rotterdam.

Éric Rohmer (France, 1920–2010) was a filmmaker, critic, novelist, and screenwriter known for being at the vanguard of the French New Wave in the late 1950s and 1960s, with works such as La collectionneuse (1967), winner of the Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize at the Berlinale, and the Academy Award–nominated Ma nuit chez Maud (1969). He was awarded the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the Venice International Film Festival in 2001.

Tulapop Saenjaroen (Thailand, born 1986) is an artist and filmmaker based in Bangkok and Chonburi. His works in performance, video, and film and his public art projects address relationships between text, voice, memory, and gesture. He worked as an associate producer and casting director for Anocha Suwichakornpong’s By the Time It Gets Dark (2016), and as her co-director for the short film Nightfall (2016).

Safwan Salleh (Malaysia, born 1991) is a filmmaker, editor, and cinematographer based in Kuala Lumpur. Influenced by the concept of community realism, Salleh takes an experimental approach to the subject of Malaysian daily life. His film Night without Light (2015) was screened at the Thai Short Film & Video Festival and KLEX, the Kuala Lumpur Experimental Film, Video & Music Festival.

Chulayarnnon Siriphol (Thailand, born 1986) is a Bangkok-based filmmaker and visual artist. His work explores the complexity of personal and social memory, drawing from styles of documentary, fiction, and fantasy. He is one of three directors of the Thai omnibus film Ten Years Thailand (2018), which was presented at the Festival de Cannes in 2018.

Pathompon Mont Tesprateep (Thailand, born 1978) is an editor, director, screenwriter, and cinematographer based in Bangkok. He is primarily known for making video art that is processed by hand on Super 8mm and 16mm film. His films Confusion Is Next (2018) and Song X (2017) had their world premieres at the International Film Festival Rotterdam and the Locarno Festival, respectively.

Kanitha Tith (Cambodia, born 1987) is an artist, costume designer, and filmmaker who works across sculpture, installation, performance, and video. Her projects investigate the relationship between personal experience and memory in the context of Cambodia’s fast-changing urban landscape, and interrogate the role of the artist as it relates to community- and gender-based issues.

Toh Hun Ping (Singapore, born 1978) is a video artist, experimental filmmaker, and film researcher whose work explores ideas of personal and cinematic memory as they change with time, location, and materiality. Toh is the founder of Singapore Film Locations Archive, a website dedicated to research about films made in or about Singapore.

John Torres (Philippines, born 1975) is a director and producer known for his independent, experimental work whose themes revolve around issues of the personal and the social. His first feature-length film, Todo todo teros (2006), won the NETPAC/FIPRESCI Award at the Singapore International Film Festival. His later works Refrains Happen like Revolutions in a Song (2010) and Lukas the Strange (2013) both had their world premieres at the International Film Festival Rotterdam.

Pimpaka Towira (Thailand, born 1967) is a filmmaker, screenwriter, and producer who has recently been appointed Programme Director of the Singapore International Film Festival. Her debut feature, One Night Husband (2003), had its premiere at the Berlinale. Her film The Island Funeral (2015) won the FIPRESCI Prize at the Hong Kong International Film Festival and the Asian Future Best Film Award at the Tokyo International Film Festival.

Marc Walker (United States, born 1978) has been working in short video forms for over twenty years. His studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara, focused on the national cinemas of Hong Kong and India. He has directed and edited several music videos and short documentaries, including ‘Tokay’ for Cambodian-American musicians Dengue Fever. He currently lives in Southern California.

春・潘尼 | 达那亚・尊普提蓬 |玛格丽特・杜哈斯 | 艾云| 基斯杜化・高琛| 许家维| 许瑞峰 |郭小慧| 威瓦・勒威瓦翁沙|廖捷凯|阮纯诗|那威・诺巴坤|范玉麟|简・皮内达|约翰・皮洛斯|班・利华士|伊力・卢马|都拉博・森乍伦| 萨夫万・萨莱|朱拉兰尼・色里|巴吞蓬・德斯巴迪|嘉妮他・迪|杜汉彬|约翰・托雷斯|彭柏嘉・托维娜|麦克・沃克 

潘尼(柬埔寨) 是金边的电影制作人,为当地的「白楼档案库」制作短片,档案库收集住在白楼的艺术家和居民所制作的视觉和声音素材。白楼在1963年于金边建成,是一栋别具历史意义和建筑价值的住宅大楼。潘尼的作品探索以都市急速发展为背景的记忆和多重叙事。

电影摄影师兼导演达那亚尊普提蓬(泰国1981年)于曼谷生活和工作,首部短片作品《Night Watch》(2014年)入围奥伯豪森国际短片节及2015年印度实验电影节,并获得巴西Fronteira国际纪录片和实验电影节特别评审奖。

著名小说家、剧作家、散文家和电影制作人玛格丽特杜哈斯(法国,19141996年)透过写作和导演电影,回应殖民主义、共产主义和爱情相关的种种疑问,作品包括小说《抵挡太平洋的堤坝》(1950年)、《广岛之恋》剧本(1960年,阿伦.雷奈导演) 、入围角逐康城影展金棕榈奖的《货车》(1977年)及夺得柏林影展银熊奖的《Les enfants》(1985年)。

艾云(印尼1978年) 是电影制作人,首部长片《想飞的盲猪》(2008年)获得鹿特丹电影节国际影评人联盟奖,并于纽约现代艺术博物馆和四十多个电影节放映,《树女儿卡拉》( 2005年)成为首部入围康城影展「导演双周」单元的印尼短片。

基斯杜化高琛(菲律宾1976年)是来自菲律宾邦阿西楠省巴颜邦市的电影制作人,创办独立公司Sine Caboloan,制作有关邦阿西楠省的电影;他尤其热衷于保育和推广省内的原住民语言,监制并执导了首部邦阿西楠语剧情片《Anacbanua》(2009年)。

许家维(台湾1983年)是台北的艺术家兼电影制作人,作品透过缓慢平静的纪实性叙述,探讨经常为人忽略的亚洲冷战史;短片作品《废墟情报局》(2015年)于2017年慕尼黑Kino der Kunst艺术电影节作全球首映,并获纳入M+ 馆藏。

许瑞峰(新加坡1986年)是驻居波士顿的电影制作人,亦是新加坡独立电影制作公司13 Little Pictures的创始成员,其多部作品已于全球影展放映,首部长片《Eclipses》(2011年)夺得葡萄牙里斯本Doclisboa国际纪录片电影节Pixel Bunker国际新锐奖。

郭小慧(马来西亚1977年) 身兼录像艺术家、即兴演唱家、教育家和电影策展人,作品探讨身体、声音和孤寂之间的连系。她曾为如吉隆坡实验电影、录像与音乐节(KLEX)等活动策展多项实验录像节目,并于2015年新加坡国际电影节策划了「Sun Shower」项目。

威瓦勒威瓦翁沙(泰国)是布吉的作家、电影制作人和评论人,短片作品《My Mother and Her Darkness》(2009年)和《遍地寂寥》(2009年)曾于鹿特丹电影节放映。勒威瓦翁沙曾参与策划2013年吉隆坡实验电影、录像与音乐节(KLEX)及2012年曼谷实验电影节。

廖捷凯(新加坡1984年)是电影制作人兼艺术家,首部长片《红蜻蜓》(2010年)于韩国全州国际电影节获特别评审奖。廖捷凯活跃于新加坡电影界,是当地独立电影制作公司13 Little Pictures的共同创办人。

阮纯诗(越南1973年)是河内的多媒体艺术家兼电影制作人,创办独立纪录片及流动影像艺术基地Hanoi Doclab;她的作品探讨政治力量对日常生活的影响,以及艺术家在越南社会所扮演的角色,作品《来自宾童龙的信》(2015年)已获M+纳入馆藏。

流动影像艺术家兼电影制作人那威诺巴坤(泰国) 的作品回应曼谷急速的都市化过程和当中引发的焦虑,首部短片《When Her Light Is Extinguished》(2012年)于2012年多伦多举行的第八届ReelHeART国际电影节放映。

范玉麟(越南1986年)是导演兼电影摄影师,首部短片作品《每个人的故事》(2011年)于多个电影节及博物馆场地放映,包括瑞士Visions du Réel 纪录片电影节和哥本哈根国际纪录片电影节CPH:DOX。

皮内达(菲律宾)是马尼拉的艺术家和电影制片人,亦是记录和推广菲律宾当代艺术的独立组织Disclab Research and Criticism的联合创办人;作品《一次调查的纪念》(2014年)在多个电影节中放映,并入围新加坡国际电影节「银幕大奖」亚洲剧情片竞赛单元。

约翰皮洛斯(美国)是导演兼电影摄影师,擅长拍摄音乐纪录片。他除了为乐队Queens of the Stone Age、Calexico,以及歌手Victoria Williams执导音乐录像之外,已为U2和李欧纳柯恩的多次演出拍摄了无数影片。他的首部纪录长片《Sleepwalking through the Mekong》(2007年),跟随洛杉矶乐队Dengue Fever首度踏足柬埔寨的旅程。

艺术家兼电影制作人利华士(英国1972年)的作品糅合虚构与现实,并能同时唤起观者的喜悦与不安,他的首部长片《Two Years at Sea》(2011年)获得威尼斯影展的国际影评人联盟奖;短片《Ah Liberty!》( 2008年)和《Things》(2014年)均夺得鹿特丹电影节专为短片设立的「老虎奖」。

电影制作人、评论家、小说家和编剧伊力卢马(法国,19202010年)是1950年代末至1960年代法国新浪潮的先锋,作品《女收藏家》(1967年)获柏林影展评审团大奖银熊奖、《我在温柔乡》(1969年)获提名奥斯卡金像奖最佳外语片。卢马于2001年获威尼斯影展颁发表扬艺术家终身成就的金狮奖。

都拉博森乍伦(泰国1986年)是驻居曼谷和春武里两地的艺术家兼电影制作人,其行为展演、录像、电影及公共艺术项目探索文本、声音、记忆和姿势之间的关系。他曾为泰国导演亚奴察.舒域察高邦的电影《入黑之时》(2016年)担任副监制及选角指导,并担任舒域察高邦短片《Nightfall》(2016年)的联合导演。

萨夫万萨莱(马来西亚1991年)是吉隆坡电影制作人、剪接师和电影摄影师,受社群写实主义的概念影响,他以实验式拍摄手法探索马来西亚的日常生活,电影作品《暗黑之夜》(2015年)曾于泰国短片及录像节和吉隆坡实验电影、录像与音乐节(KLEX)放映。

朱拉兰尼色里(泰国1986年)是曼谷的电影制作人兼视觉艺术家,作品探索个人和社会记忆的复杂性,风格兼具纪实、虚构和幻想。他是由多部短片组成的泰国电影《十年泰国》(2018年)的三位导演之一,此作获2018年康城影展选映。

巴吞蓬・德斯巴迪(泰国,生于1978年)是曼谷的剪接师兼导演、编剧和电影摄影师,他以超8毫米和16毫米菲林拍摄配合人手加工处理的录像作品闻名,电影作品《迷惘接踵而来》(2018年)和《X 之歌》(2017年)分别于鹿特丹电影节和卢卡诺国际电影节首映。

嘉妮他迪(柬埔寨1987年)是艺术家、服装设计师和电影制作人,作品广涉雕塑、装置、行为展演和录像等领域,探讨在柬埔寨急速转变的都市景观中,个人经历和记忆之间的关系,并诘问艺术家面对社区和性别问题时的角色。

杜汉彬(新加坡,生于1978年)身兼录像艺术家、实验电影制作人和电影研究员,作品探索个人和电影记忆随时间、地点和物质变化的概念。杜汉彬创办Singapore Film Locations Archive网站,致力研究于新加坡拍摄和以新加坡为题的电影。

电影导演兼监制约翰托雷斯(菲律宾1975年)以创作围绕个人和社会问题的独立实验作品著称,首部长片《Todo todo teros》(2006年)获新加坡国际电影节「亚洲电影推广网络/国际影评人联盟奖」,其作品《Refrains Happen like Revolutions in a Song》(2010年)和《Lukas the Strange》(2013年)均于鹿特丹电影节作全球首映。

彭柏嘉托维娜(泰国1967年)身兼电影制作人、编剧和监制,最近获委任为新加坡国际电影节节目总监。她的首部长片《一夜夫妻》(2003年)于柏林电影节首映;电影作品《万里送行舟》(2015年)获香港国际电影节国际影评人联盟奖和东​​京国际电影节「亚洲未来」单元最佳电影奖。

麦克沃克(美国)现居加州南部,参与短片制作工作已超过二十年。他求学于加洲大学圣塔芭芭拉分校,关注香港和印度的民族电影。他曾执导并剪接数部音乐录像和纪录短片,包括为柬埔寨裔美国乐队Dengue Fever的单曲《Tokay》所拍摄的音乐录像。