Overseas Speakers

Tanya Palmer    Director of New Play Development of Goodman Theatre, Chicago

Tanya Palmer

Goodman Theatre was named in 2003 by Time Magazine as the number one theater in the U.S. The Goodman has a distinguished history as a leader in the development of new work for the American theater. New works development at Goodman composed of a variety of in-house and public programs including the annual New Stages Festival and Playwright Unit.

Tanya Palmer is the director of new play development at Goodman Theatre, where she coordinates the theater’s commissioning and development program and has served as the production dramaturg for the world premieres of a number of new plays by leading American playwrights including Quiara Hudes, Sarah Ruhl, David Henry Hwang and Lynn Nottage. Prior to her arrival in Chicago, she served as the director of new play development at Actors Theatre of Louisville, where she led the reading and selection process for the Humana Festival of New American Plays.

Tay Tong, Managing Director of TheatreWorks and Arts Network Asia

Tay Tong

Photo credit: Wesley Loh

Established in 1985, TheatreWorks is one of the leading performance companies in Singapore. It supports Singapore artists, and articulates the arts through its various productions and developmental programmes. Using the converted rice warehouse 72-13 as an incubator and laboratory to encourage new works, TheatreWorks has launched numerous research and development programmes such as the Flying Circus Project, Writer’s Lab, Residencies Programmes and 24-Hour Playwriting Competition.

Tay Tong is the Managing Director of TheatreWorks (Singapore), and Director of Arts Network Asia.

As a producer for TheatreWorks since 1989, TAY is dedicated to the development of contemporary arts in Singapore and to the evolution of an Asian identity and aesthetics of the 21st Century through a culture of differences. TAY manages 72-13, TheatreWorks’ centre and home which is committed to the R&D processes for the development of the arts across disciplines, cultures and languages, and he also produces The Flying Circus, a process-based programme by Artistic Director Ong Keng Sen since 1996.

TAY is also Director of Arts Network Asia which enables collaborative processes in Asia through microgrants.

 

Panelists

Bernice Kwok-wai Chan   Manager of International Association of Theatre Critics (Hong Kong)

Bernice Kwok

Ms Bernice Kwok-wai Chan is currently the manager of International Association of Theatre Critics (Hong Kong) and examiner of Hong Kong Arts Development Council (Drama Committee). She is also invited to be the Art Form Panel Member (Festivals) of Leisure and Cultural Services Department. She obtained her Master of Arts degree from the Division of Humanities of Hong Kong University of Science and Technology in 2004. She then received the Hong Kong Arts Development Council-University of Leeds-Chevening Scholarships in 2005 and studied her Master of Arts degree in Theatre Studies at University of Leeds (UK). Her research articles have been published in Hong Kong Drama Review, A Decade of Arts Development in Hong Kong, and Hong Kong Drama Yearbook. Collaborating with Dr. Damian Cheng as writer and editor, she published Aesthetic of Synthesis - Theatre Art of Tang Shu Wing in 2004, Ten Years and Beyond: On and On Theatre Workshop in 2010 and Theatre Writings and Plays of Chan Ping Chiu in 2011. She was also the editor of Hong Kong Drama Yearbook (2007 to 2012), Hong Kong Xiqu Yearbook (2009 to 2011), and Willy Tsao on Contemporary Dance Vol. 1 & 2.

 

Chan Ping Chiu    Artistic Director of On and On Theatre Workshop

Chan Ping Chiu

Director, playwright and curator. Chan co-founded the renowned experimental theatre group “Sand & Bricks” in the early 90s. He joined On & On Theatre Workshop in 1998 and is currently the Artistic Director of the company. Chan’s latest theatre works include Fly! Fly! Fly! Archaeology Bird!, No Significant Abnormality Detected, Tian Gong Kai Wu: A Practical Guide to Imaginary Inventions, hamlet b, and The Golden Dragon.

 

Fung Wai Hang    Resident Director of the Hong Kong Repertory Theatre, Curator of the HKREP International Black Box Festival 2014

Fung Wai Hang

Fung obtained an MFA in Theatre Practice at the University of Exeter and was a graduate of the inaugural class of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts’ School of Drama. She has taken on various positions in HKREP, including principal actress and project coordinator. She is currently the Resident Director of HKREP, responsible for coordinating and planning for the company’s Black Box production.

 

Poon Wai Sum    Resident Playwright and Discipline Leader in Dramatic Writing of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts

Poon Wai Sum

Former artistic director of Prospects Theatre. Poon’s recent dramatic writings include Hong Kong Repertory Theatre’s The Emperor, His Mom, a Eunuch and A Man, Hong Kong Arts Festival’s Show Flat and Prospects Theatre Company’s To Those Who Deserve To Die.

海外讲者

丹雅柏玛古曼剧院新剧发展总监

Tanya Palmer

芝加哥古曼剧院于2003年获时代杂志评为美国最佳剧场,在新剧发展方面亦是美国剧场界的翘楚。古曼剧院新剧发展的重点计划包括每年的新舞台戏剧节及驻团编剧小组等。

丹雅.柏玛现任古曼剧院新剧发展总监,负责剧院的委约作品及节目发展,她亦是多出著名美国编剧作品世界首演时的戏剧指导,包括美籍华裔剧作家黄哲伦的《中式英语》。丹雅.柏玛曾任路易斯维尔Actors Theatre的新剧发展总监,带领晓曼娜美国新剧节的剧目评选工作。

 

郑东 剧艺工作坊总监及亚洲艺术网络总监

Tay Tong

Wesley Loh 拍摄

1985年创立的剧艺工作坊是新加坡公认的顶级表演艺术团体之一。剧艺工作坊致力支持本土艺术工作者及透过演出及不同的艺术计划展示多元及新旧共融的新加坡艺术。剧团以前米仓72-13为新剧培育及实验基地,并发展了作家实验室、艺术家驻场计划及24小时编剧比赛等研究及发展计划。


于1989年起出任剧艺工作坊监制,致力于发展新加坡当代艺术及透过差异文化转化21世纪亚洲身份及美学。郑东负责管理剧艺工作坊的工作室—72-13,用以研究及发展跨界别、跨文化及跨语言艺术。他亦为王景生领导的过程为本计划—「飞行马戏团」的监制,同时是亚洲艺术网络(ANA)的总监,该网络以小额资助形式支持亚洲区内的艺术合作交流。

 

回应嘉宾

陈国慧 国际演艺评论家协会(香港分会)经理

陳國慧

陈国慧目前是国际演艺评论家协会(香港分会)经理;亦为香港艺术发展局审批员(戏剧界别)及康乐及文化事务署演艺小组(艺术节)委员。 2004年修毕香港科技大学人文学部文学硕士课程;2005年获香港艺术发展局及英国列斯大学志奋领奖学金,前往该大学修读戏剧研究硕士课程。研究文章曾刊登于《香港戏剧学刊》、《艺术发展十年》及《香港戏剧年鉴》 等书中。编有《香港戏剧年鉴》(2007-2012)、《香港戏曲年鉴》(2009-2011)、《舞者不惧:曹诚渊舞蹈书写》(2010)及《舞者不忧:曹诚渊与香港舞蹈前行》(2012)等。曾与小西联合编著《合成美学──邓树荣的剧场世界》(2004)、《前进十年:前进进戏剧工作坊十周年纪念特集》(2010)、《陈炳钊剧场文本集》(2011),并与卢伟力合编《香港戏剧评论选(1960-1999)》(2007)。

 

陈炳钊前进进戏剧工作坊艺术总监

Chan Ping Chiu

剧场编导、剧作家、活动策划。 90年代初期创立实验剧团「沙砖上」,1998年加入前进进戏剧工作坊,现任前进进戏剧工作坊艺术总监,自主营运牛棚剧场。重要创作包括:《飞吧!临流鸟,飞吧! 》、《NSAD无异常发现》、《天工开物.栩栩如真》、《hamlet b.》、《金龙》等。

 

冯蔚衡 香港话剧团驻团导演、香港话剧团「国际黑盒剧场节2014」策划

Fung Wai Hang

英国艾赛特大学舞台实践艺术硕士、香港演艺学院戏剧学院首届毕业生。曾任香港话剧团首席演员、创作统筹,现为话剧团驻团导演暨黑盒剧场节目策划人。

 

潘惠森 香港演艺学院驻院编剧及戏剧文本创作组组长

Poon Wai Sum

曾任新域剧团艺术总监,近年剧本创作包括香港话剧团演出的《都是龙袍惹的祸》、香港艺术节演出的《示范单位》及新域剧团演出的《遗祸人间》等。