Back to "M+ Screenings: Visible Places" overview

Untitled (Dancing Partner) / Yella

17 Jan (Sun), 3:35pm

Untitled (Dancing Partner) (2010)
Liu Chuang, 5 min., digital, China

Deep in the night, two cars of the same model keep pace on a Beijing motorway at the minimum speed of 60 kilometres per hour. Their eerie presence in the empty city calls into question our perceptions of abnormality and irrationality in the everyday.

Liu Chuang (Chinese, born 1978) lives and works in Beijing. His works explore, challenge, and interact with social norms as well as with everyday routines in Chinese society, which is underpinned by the country’s rapid industrialisation and urbanisation.
Yella (2007)
Christian Petzold, German with English subtitles, 98 min., 35mm, Germany

The unhappily married Yella moves from East to West Germany to start a new life. When a finance executive enters the picture, she thinks she’s off to a great start, not realising that her ex-husband is not through with her. A captivating car crash and the closed spaces of Munich's modern architecture shape Yella's precarious position and reflect the ghostly process of integration between East and West Germany following the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Christian Petzold (German, born 1960) is a Berlin-based filmmaker. In his works, illusion and reality, past and present, collective memory and personal history are all woven into a complex web wherein the protagonist struggles with issues of identity and morality.

35mm film print provided byGoethe-Institute Hong Kong

See more

Venue

See also

返回「M+放映:形之所在概览

无题(舞伴)及耶拉

1月17日(星期日)下午3时35分

无题(舞伴)(2010)
刘窗,5分钟,数码,中国

夜已深,两辆同型号的汽车在北京的公路上,缓慢地以每小时六十公里的最低限速并驾齐驱。空荡的城市,扑朔迷离的踪影,它们的出现像是在无声地挑战着日常生活中种种看似不合理的可能性。

刘窗 (中国,生于1978年)现于北京生活和工作。他的作品以中国急速的工业化和城市化为背景,探索及挑战中国的社会规范与常规,并与之进行互动。
耶拉(2007)
克里斯汀‧佩佐,89分钟,德语对白,英文字幕,35mm,德国

失婚妇人耶拉为开展新生活,决定由东德迁往西德。一名投资经理的出现,令耶拉以为新生活得以扶摇直上,岂料前夫出现,一再纠缠。耐人寻味的车祸片段与慕尼黑现代建筑的封闭空间之结合,不仅呈现耶拉的困局,也折射出德国人自柏林围墙倒下后游走于东西德之间的鬼魅状态。

克里斯汀‧佩佐 (德国,生于1960年)是一名柏林的电影工作者。其作品透过幻觉和现实、过去和现在、集体记忆和私人历史等元素,交织出一片复杂的关系网络,审视身份和道德等复杂的议题。

35mm film print provided by Goethe-Institute Hong Kong

查看更多

地点

相关内容