Enjoy a fun-packed weekend of live music, movie screenings, art-making and more at Freespace Happening on 8 and 9 December at the West Kowloon Art Park.

This month, for our first-ever screening on the facade of our new Freespace venue – opening next year – we present two films that arts enthusiasts are sure to adore. Faces Places, a collaboration by iconic French New Wave director Agnes Varda and hip street artist JR, follows the unlikely but perfectly matched pair around the French countryside as they meet with strangers, listen to their stories, and celebrate them with larger than life photographic murals. The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and The Silk Road Ensemble, by Oscar-winning director Morgan Neville, tells the compelling story of the Silk Road Ensemble, an international music collective established in 2010 by the world-famous cellist Yo-Yo Ma.

Our wonderfully eclectic live music line-up includes jazz fusion singer Gili Yalo from Israel, Hong Kong’s Sensi Lion, TMG The Majestic G, Shumking Manion, Café 852 (with live tango dance performance), The Red Stripes, 22Cats and Empty tomb. Singer-songwriter Subyub Lee also teams up with guitarist Tsui Chin Hung and a group of brass musicians for a cross-genre set. Not to be missed is the solar and human kinetic energy-powered SolarSoundSystem, back with a completely new DJ line-up.

Take a break from the stress of city life by bringing your loved one along to a Nice Partner Yoga Workshop, or prepare for the festive season by creating your own decorative wreath at the DIY Xmas Wreath Workshop. You can also join the House of Hong Kong Literature for the crowd-pleasing Divination by Poetry, and after having your fortune read donate a book and adopt a new one at the Reading on the Grass book-crossing or drop by the Literature Gachapon capsule vending machine to take home a poetry-inspired charm.

Want to learn more about the different birds around us in our city? Join the Hong Kong Bird Watching Society for stories and games that also offer insight into local endangered species.

At WE Dance you can join workshops on Cambodian classical dance led by Cambodian dance artist Narim Nam, or watch a presentation of her latest work Shoes, a contemporary interpretation of the ancient dance form.

You can also test your crafting skills at The Arts With the Disabled Association Hong Kong workshop on making Christmas-themed ceramic seals, or join our Xiqu Handicraft Workshop and create a name card case decorated with an image of your favourite role in xiqu.

And, not to forget our four-legged friends, if you’re a dog lover or you’re coming with your pet, bring them along and learn about dog adoption at Hong Kong Dog Rescue.

To find out more, download our Freespace Happening app, a perfect digital guide to the event, featuring programme line-up, schedule and interactive map, or join our Facebook event page for updates as they're announced!

Date

Time

Venue

8 December 2018 (Saturday)

2:00pm–9:40pm

West Kowloon Art Park

9 December 2018 (Sunday)

Free admission
Registration applicable to selected workshops

JOIN FACEBOOK EVENT PAGE

Upcoming Freespace Happening events
13 January 2019 (Sunday)
10 February 2019 (Sunday)
9–10 March 2019 (Saturday & Sunday)

Freespace Happening is West Kowloon Cultural District’s regular free outdoor event. Between August 2015 and March 2018, Freespace Happening attracted over 170,000 visitors to West Kowloon.

Calling handicraft makers
Freespace Happening features a regular handicraft market where makers can showcase and sell their unique, original work. If you are interested in running your own stall at Freespace Happening, please fill in the application form here.

Want to perform at Freespace Happening or have ideas for collaborations?
Fill in this form and send it with the required attachments to freespacehappening@wkcda.hk.

Can’t wait for the next event?
Freespace Mixtape Vol. 1
, a recording featuring the creative results of the cross-genre musical collaborations initiated by Freespace Happening, is available for sale. Find out more here. To hear the bands talk about their experience, watch our short video interviews. Freespace Mixtape Vol. 2 is currently in the making – stay tuned for more information!

“Of Pastures Wild and Wide”, our new publication featuring works by 24 major Hong Kong writers inspired by the plants cultivated at West Kowloon, is now available in major bookstores around town. Produced in collaboration with The House of Hong Kong Literature, “Of Pastures Wild and Wide” is available in Chinese only.

Poem of the Season: Responding to this season’s theme, “Stories of our space”, local poet Law Kwai Cheung penned a special Freespace Happening poem. Click here for the poem, analysis and author’s bio. Available in Chinese only.

And don’t forget, West Kowloon remains open all year round. Head over any time to relax on the grass with friends, family and pets, ride a bike, enjoy a picnic, watch sunsets or just lie back and look at the stars. See opening arrangements

Programme Partners

Arts with the Disabled Association Hong Kong a nice place to go cup
hong kong bird watching society hong kong dog rescue the house of hong kong literature
movie movie solar sound system

WE Dance Collaborating Partner:

hong kong dance company 

See more

聖誕月,與好友愛寵在草地享受音樂、電影、瑜伽、閱讀、舞蹈。

十二月的自由約將首次使用自由空間的巨型外牆舉行戶外放映,歡迎攜同美酒小食,安坐草地欣賞兩齣以藝術為題的電影──週六的《眼睛相旅行》以及週日的《樂滿天下:馬友友絲路合奏團》。

音樂舞台除了請來來自以色列的歌手Gili Yalo大玩jazz fusion外,亦隆重介紹兩位因自由約結緣的音樂人李拾壹 x 崔展鴻。李拾壹的小清新,將結合銅管樂手衝擊由結他手崔展鴻重新編曲的音樂。同台亦帶來多隊本地樂隊,包括狻猊、麟角樂團、Shumking Mansion、Café 852、The Red Stripes、22Cats以及Empty tomb等。「太陽能音響系統」帶來耳目一新的DJ組合,讓你享受從白天開始的週末電音派對!

好地方工作室與香港文學館共同策劃「在天空下自由閱讀」,分享讀書心得。「自由配瑜伽工作坊」讓大家在大自然中舒展身心。手作生活市集及工作坊,將教授大家製作芳香聖誕迷你圈圈。歡迎大家來參與本季最後一次「文學占卜」,懂星座命理的作家為你透視未知。

週六的「自由約」亦加入戲曲元素,製作證件套同時學習關於戲曲生、旦、淨、丑四大行當的小知識。柬埔寨舞蹈藝術家Narim Nam亦會在週日的WE Dance中,跟大家介紹柬埔寨古典舞中男、女角色各自的手語、身姿和舞蹈表現,並演出最新作品《鞋子》,探索古老文明中豐富的舞蹈傳統及當代詮釋。

香港展能藝術跟三水同鄉會劉本章學校的同學將帶來自製陶瓷印章,與你一同製作聖誕卡,為你的聖誕加添一份共融溫暖。同時邀請你參與觸感拼圖體驗,讓你進入視障人士的世界,憑觸覺欣賞視覺藝術。

香港觀鳥會將與小孩分享「翠鳥郵差」的小故事,又設置互動展覽,利用不同顏色的濾鏡觀察鳥類遷徙的軌跡,更會帶來多款以香港雀鳥為設計的紀念品。救狗之家的領養狗狗亦會現身「自由約」,讓公眾透過親身接觸了解牠們的可愛一面,以領養代替購買寵物犬。

出發前記得下載「自由約」手機應用程式,即時掌握節目資訊及時間表等消息,並瀏覽活動地圖;或加入我們的Facebook活動專頁,更多豐富節目內容待你發掘!

日期

時間

地點

2018年12月8日(星期六)

下午2時至晚上9時40分

西九藝術公園

2018年12月9日(星期日)

免費入場
部份工作坊須預先登記

加入 FACEBOOK EVENT 專頁

「自由約」活動預告:
2019年1月13日(星期日)
2019年2月10日(星期日)
2019年3月9至10日(星期六及星期日)

「自由約」是西九文化區定期免費戶外節目,由2015年8月至2018年3月,已吸引超過170,000名觀眾參加。

如果你是手作愛好者:
每月「自由約」皆設「自由生活市集」,讓你親手造的創意作品展示人前。每次市集攤位將於舉辦日期前兩個月接受申請,如你有興趣成為檔主請按此

如你想於「自由約」舞台上演出或與我們合作:
請填妥此表格並將表格及所需附件電郵至freespacehappening@wkcda.hk

如果你已急不及待期盼「自由約」重臨:
過去「自由約」造就多個音樂單位攜手合作,帶來不少精彩演出,部分收錄於《Freespace Mixtape Vol. 1》音樂專輯,請按此回顧有關音樂短片。與此同時,製作團隊正密鑼緊鼓製作《Freespace Mixtape Vol. 2》,敬請密切留意發布日期。

座落於鬧市的西九文化區生態多樣,24位香港作家每人以一種區內植物為靈感,創作成新詩、散文、劇本等不同形式的文學作品,結集成新書《自由如綠》,現已於各大書店發售。《自由如綠》 由香港文學生活館主編,西九自由空間策劃及出版。

「自由約」亦邀請詩人羅貴祥,以詩作「土地可有聲」回應本季的主題「我們的空間」。按此詳閱詩作及賞析。

西九園區繼續天天開放,歡迎大家與親朋好友和寵物來草地野餐、賞日落、躺在草地上看繁星,或者索性什麼都不做。查看最新開放安排

項目夥伴:

香港展能藝術會 好地方工作室 走杯
香港觀鳥會 救狗之家 香港文學館
movie movie 太陽能音響系統 we use

WE Dance 合作夥伴

香港舞蹈團 

查看更多

其他活動在自由約(2018-19)