Hu Xiangqian’s relatively short career has been nothing if not diverse. Delivering spirited monologues, durational or physically demanding pieces, and scripted interactions—he crafts performances with a distinctly personal, sometimes absurd, yet oft-times amusing edge. Often casting himself in roles he deems as already performative, Hu walks the line of incongruity and normality and treads the ground between improvisation and script. His early work Blue Flags Everywhere (2004) captures his bid for mayor in his hometown of Nanting, Guangzhou, at the age of twenty-one. The campaign mimicked the behaviours and words delivered by overzealous politicians and succeeded in drawing in members of the public despite the fact that Hu was ineligible to hold the post. Equally absurd but more physically demanding was The Sun (2008), an endurance-oriented performance whereby the artist—in an act that unnerved advocates of political correctness—attempted to turn his skin black by sunbathing for hours on end.

In recent years Hu has squared his attention on the contemporary art world, specifically his own role within it. As his work veers into the territory of meta-performance—performances about the act of performing—meanings become clearer and fuzzier at the same time. The point of departure may be the self and the artist’s own personal experience but it grows increasingly difficult to parse the line between reality and performative fiction. His new contributions to Mobile M+: Live Art take cues from recent works focusing on the rhetoric of motivational speeches and the multi-layered collaboration Reconstructing Michelangelo (2015) wherein Hu spent months imparting knowledge and advice to his assistant about how to think, act, walk, and talk like a contemporary artist. 

Date:
10 December 2015 (Thursday)

Time:
7:00pm

Venue:
Connecting Space Hong Kong (G/F, Wah Kin Mansion, 18-20 Fort Street, North Point)

Language:
Cantonese (with English simultaneous interpretation)

Free admission with limited capacity. First-come, first-served. 

REGISTER NOW

Enquiries: 
(852)2200-0102 (Mr Cheng), liveart@wkcda.hk

Adverse Weather Arrangement:
Programme will be cancelled if a black rainstorm warning or a typhoon signal no. 8 or above is still in force 2 hours before the event starts.

*The organiser reserves the right to change the programme and artists. All changes will be announced on the website.

Artist:

Hu Xiangqian (Chinese, born 1983)



Hu Xiangqian was born in Guangdong. He graduated from the Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts in 2007. Local and current events provide inspiration for Hu’s video and performance art, wherein he casts a critical and poignant eye on society and on the nature of performance art as a genre. He draws attention to the contradictions and follies he observes by using humour, while displaying a flair for the absurd. Hu casts himself to play roles that are already deemed performative. For example, one of his best known works, Blue Flags Everywhere (2004), captures his bid for mayor in his hometown of Nanting at the age of twenty-one. His campaign mimicked those of over-confident politicians who promise everything under the sun and employ every tactic in their political playbook, and it pointedly ignored the fact that he was ineligible to participate.  More recent work by the artist has taken a self-reflective tack by dissecting performance from the perspective of being a performance artist.  

See more

Venue

See also

沒有詞彙比「變化多端」更適合形容胡向前並不算長的藝術生涯。他往往細心雕琢自己的展演作品;無論是意氣風發的獨白、為時甚長及挑戰體能的作品,抑或是按照劇本的互動,他的演繹總別具個人性又荒誕無稽,令人啼笑皆非。胡氏經常飾演被他視為充滿表演性的角色,走在常態與失衡的狹縫之間,時而即興,時而以劇本作導向。早期作品《藍旗飄飄》(2004)講述21歲的他,在家鄉廣州南亭角逐村長選舉。儘管胡氏根本沒有競選資格,卻因競選時模仿政客過度自信的言行而成功吸引村民支持。另一件同樣荒唐的作品《太陽》(2008),則對體能有非常苛刻的要求,藝術家連續暴曬好一段日子,想把自己曬黑。作品以忍耐力為本,卻令提倡政治正確的人感到不安。

近年,胡氏特別關注當代藝術圈,尤其是自身的角色。他轉向創作「後設演出」(meta-performance)這類以探索演出過程為本的演出, 這種作品令演出的定義時而清晰時而模糊。胡氏的作品雖往往來自自我經驗,卻愈演愈發模糊了真實和虛構之間的界線。為了「M+ 進行:藝活」,胡氏將取材自近作,包括勵志演說和層次豐富的合作作品《再造米高安哲奴》(2015)(藝術家花費數月向助手傳授知識,指導後者學習當代藝術家的步伐、舉止、言談和思考模式。)創作全新作品。

日期:
2015年12月10日 (星期四)

時間:
晚上7時

場地:
Connecting Space Hong Kong(北角堡壘街18-20號華健大廈地下)

語言:
粵語 (提供英語即時傳譯)

免費入場,名額有限,先到先得

請即登記

查詢
鄭先生 (852) 2200-0102, liveart@wkcda.hk

惡劣天氣安排﹕
若活動前兩小時黑色暴雨、八號風球或更高風球訊號仍然生效時,活動將會取消。

*主辦單位保留更改節目及表演者的權利,請留意本網頁的最新公佈。

藝術家:

胡向前(中國,生於1983年)

胡向前生於中國廣東,2007 年畢業於廣州美術學院。他的錄像和行為藝術作品常從當地時事尋找靈感,透過行為藝術這藝術類型的本質,對社會作出批評並予以尖酸的目光。他以幽默的手法使人們注意到自己觀察到的矛盾和荒謬,向愚昧的人展現天賦慧眼。胡向前自行出演被視為充滿表演戲份的角色,例如在其中一部最廣為人知的作品《藍旗飄飄》(2004),21 歲的胡向前在家鄉南亭角逐村長選舉,競選活動模仿那些過度自信的政客,當眾對天許下一切承諾,採取無所不用其極的政治手腕,更特意無視自己其實沒有資格參選。較近期的作品多採納自我反省的方針,以行為藝術家的角度剖析行為藝術。

查看更多

地點

相關內容