M+ Collection

Static No. 23 (Revolve)

Daniel Crooks│4 min 33 sec│2017│New Zealand
DCP│Colour

Static No. 23 (Revolve) continues Daniel Crooks’s investigations into the dimension of time and the movements of bodies in the city. Shot in 2015 on Wan Chai Road in Hong Kong, the work is the result of Crooks’s wandering the city like a flâneur, and of his effort to capture elements of traditional street life in a cityscape increasingly saturated with global franchises. The result, however, rejects familiar modes of linear perception. Audiences are confronted with figures in the urban space flowing from a central vortex, their images warping in a conical shape. Using a static, fixed-position camera to capture the rhythms and movement of the street stalls, Static No. 23 (Revolve) transforms people and buildings into moving streaks of colour and texture that seem to occupy multiple points in time at once. Time stretches and contracts, and unfolds and refolds, and in doing so transforms the city and its inhabitants into otherworldly entities that seem to both pull apart and push against each other. At certain points in his career, Crooks worked with David Franzke and Byron Scullin to create sound for his work, and has described sound in his films as ‘the emotional dictator’. 1 The original soundtrack for this work features string instruments arranged with a reverb-like effect.

M+ Collection

1 Lawrence Weschler, A Conversation with Melbourne Video Artist Daniel Crooks (Adelaide: Anne & Gordon Samstag Museum of Art, University of South Australia, 2013), 22.

Daniel Crooks (New Zealand, born 1973) is a video artist who approaches time as a physical, malleable material, and explores the potential of digital media technologies to open up new understandings of the temporal and material world. His experimental digital videos distort reality and question our perception of it. Solo exhibitions of his work have been held at the Australian Centre for the Moving Image (2016) and the Queensland Art Gallery and Gallery of Modern Art (2015). He has won numerous awards, including the inaugural Prudential Eye Award in Singapore (2014), the Ian Potter Moving Image Commission at the Australian Centre for the Moving Image (2014), and the Signature Art Prize at the Singapore Art Museum (2011).

The Boat Burning Festival

M+ Collection

The Boat Burning Festival

Chang Chao-Tang│20 min│1979│Taiwan
DCP│Colour

Chang Chao-tang’s The Boat Burning Festival—which focuses on the ceremony held every other year in Sucuo Village in Tainan, Taiwan—is an experimental documentary commissioned by China Television, a Taiwanese channel where the artist worked. Chang edited the footage, which was shot separately by him and Australian-born cinematographer Christopher Doyle. Deviating from styles of propagandist reportage and ethnographic documentary, the work not only defies genre conventions and methods of distribution, but also demonstrates a unique strand of postmodernism in Taiwan, in which tension existed between nativist consciousness and modernist idealism. Illustrating the complex cultural environment in late-1970s Taiwan, The Boat Burning Festival was originally edited and timed to the first movement of Ommadawn, the Celtic-inspired progressive rock album by Mike Oldfield.

M+ Collection

Chang Chao-Tang (Taiwanese, born 1943) made his name in the cultural scene in Taiwan with a series of experimental photographs when he was still a civil engineering student at university in the early 1960s. Arguably the first artist of his generation to break from mainstream propaganda, journalistic, and salon photography, he invented a signature modernist style that permeated his photography, film, and installation work throughout his career. In 1968, he joined China Television as a photojournalist. He directed several documentary films that explore Taiwanese identity in the context of the nativist movement in the 1970s and 1980s, and he was the cinematographer of several feature films produced in Hong Kong, including China Behind (1978) and Tong Chee Yi Li Nan (1985). The Taipei Fine Arts Museum organised his career retrospective in 2013. He received Taiwan’s National Award for Arts in 1999 and the National Cultural Award in 2011.

She Said Why Me

She Said Why Me

May Fung│8 min│1989│Hong Kong
DCP│Colour

She Said Why Me obliquely examines the anxiety and sense of unease that permeated Hong Kong during a period of political instability in China, and of speculations on the then-approaching handover of Hong Kong from the United Kingdom. The work features a woman who wanders blindfolded from an ancient temple to a bustling city, interwoven with black-and-white historical footage of women of different ages and backgrounds in public spaces. Alternating between the past and present, the video’s structure reflects May Fung’s longstanding concerns with politics, history, and female identity, and also forms a visual critique of the public gaze on women as objects. Fung remade this work in 2016, bringing her exploration of the city into a new political context and adapting it to a new historical moment. The original soundtrack for She Said Why Me (1989) is an atmospheric mood piece featuring keyboard and piano music whose trills develop into an increasingly unsettling coda.

M+ Collection

May Fung (Hong Kong, born 1952) is a pioneering experimental moving image artist, known for her Super 9 films from the late 1970s and mid-1980s and her later video work. She believes in the potential of video as a medium to introduce alternative voices to address issues such as gender politics and Hong Kong’s cultural and political landscape. Fung created video installations for stage performances in collaboration with the experimental theatre group Zuni Icosahedron, and is also an arts administrator, a curator, a critic, and an assessor for local film festivals. In 1974, she co-founded Phoenix Cine Club, one of the pioneering cinema clubs in post-war Hong Kong, and in 1986, she co-founded Videotage, the first independent moving image art institution in Hong Kong. Fung is now the chair of Art & Culture Outreach, a Hong Kong–based non-profit arts organisation.

Rain

Rain

Michael Rogge│4 min│1952│Hong Kong
DCP│Black and white

Inspired by fellow Dutch filmmaker Joris Ivens’s avant-garde documentary Regen (1929), Rogge shot a three-minute short with his new Paillard Bolex 16mm camera in 1952, and won first prize in the Hong Kong Amateur Cine Club’s annual competition. At once elemental and expressive, Rain begins with a rain-drenched title sequence overlooking Hong Kong and continues by following the flood discharge at various locations and the life that continues around it. From village to city, the film poetically captures details and movements of 1950s Hong Kong, through its umbrellas, pedestrians, traffic, piers, and scenes of nature. The pre-existing soundtrack posted by Rogge on YouTube is the scherzo of Borodin’s First String Quartet.

Courtesy Michael Rogge and Hong Kong Film Archive, Leisure and Cultural Services Department

Michael Rogge (Dutch, born 1929), born IJsbrand Cornelius Rogge, worked in Hong Kong at the Netherlands India Commercial Bank between 1949 and 1955. He was then transferred to Japan, where he worked from 1955 until 1960. Despite working six days a week, he found time to make documentary films and take photographs around Hong Kong. In 1952, he co-founded the Hong Kong Amateur Cine Club and later became its president. Since 2008, he has uploaded more than one thousand videos to his YouTube channel, which he continues to update regularly.

Sunrise

Sunrise

Michael Rogge│9 min│1953│Hong Kong
DCP│Colour

Rogge captured a dreamy, awakening Hong Kong in Sunrise, a film shot on a Paillard Bolex 16mm camera with Kodachrome colour-reversal film. Sunrise opens with idyllic scenes of nature before moving on to depictions of morning in the city. The soundtrack posted by Rogge on YouTube is the Air from Bach’s Orchestral Suite no. 3 in D major (‘Air on the G String’) before it segues into the Chinese orchestral piece Caiyun zhuiyue (Colourful Clouds Chasing the Moon) by Ren Guang, who composed the theme song for Cai Chusheng’s 1934 film Yuguang qu (Song of the Fishermen).

Courtesy Michael Rogge and Hong Kong Film Archive, Leisure and Cultural Services Department

Michael Rogge (Dutch, born 1929), born IJsbrand Cornelius Rogge, worked in Hong Kong at the Netherlands India Commercial Bank between 1949 and 1955. He was then transferred to Japan, where he worked from 1955 until 1960. Despite working six days a week, he found time to make documentary films and take photographs around Hong Kong. In 1952, he co-founded the Hong Kong Amateur Cine Club and later became its president. Since 2008, he has uploaded more than one thousand videos to his YouTube channel, which he continues to update regularly.

Hong Kong Neon Lights

Hong Kong Neon Lights

Michael Rogge│30 sec│ca. 1951—1952│Hong Kong
DCP│Colour

Hong Kong Neon Lights, a short sequence captured by Rogge around 1951 or 1952, suggests an almost uncanny continuity between Hong Kong’s past and present. Shot in Sheung Wan and Wan Chai, the footage shows neon signs advertising Chinese medicine concocted from ancient herbal recipes, and announcing the Sincere department store and Lam Yuen Fong’s watch shop—with bilingual signs for Cyma, Election, Movado, and Rolex. The work ends with signs for establishments on Fleming Road in Wan Chai, such as Lung Fung Restaurant and Ying King Restaurant, which was adjacent to the Oriental Theatre.

Courtesy Michael Rogge and Hong Kong Film Archive, Leisure and Cultural Services Department

Michael Rogge (Dutch, born 1929), born IJsbrand Cornelius Rogge, worked in Hong Kong at the Netherlands India Commercial Bank between 1949 and 1955. He was then transferred to Japan, where he worked from 1955 until 1960. Despite working six days a week, he found time to make documentary films and take photographs around Hong Kong. In 1952, he co-founded the Hong Kong Amateur Cine Club and later became its president. Since 2008, he has uploaded more than one thousand videos to his YouTube channel, which he continues to update regularly.

Harbour City

Harbour City

Simon Liu│14 min│2016│Hong Kong
16mm dual projection│Colour and black and white

Fascinated with the idea that personal moments captured by film contain formidable emotional and experiential power, Simon Liu encapsulates such intimate moments with a sense of urgency, and documents the process of remembering in a condensed manner. Harbour City is typical of Liu’s obsessive practice of constructing his films frame by frame. This work offers an arrestingly beautiful confluence of images, both familiar and mysterious—in his words, ‘a view through cracks between fish markets and high-rise buildings, urban imagery of Hong Kong and the indulgence of domestic life. Views thicken; detail lost to generations. A dream of turning two images into one, a density of information reserved for the modern cloud.’2 The original soundtrack, created by Warren Ng and Ben Hozie, combines ambient sounds and noise with electronic music. For Haunting Images, Liu presents Harbour City in person on two 16mm projectors.

Courtesy the artist

2 Simon Liu, ‘Harbour City’, accessed 15 October 2018, https://www.liufilmsliu.com/harbour-city-1/.


Simon Liu
(Hong Kong, born 1987) was raised between Hong Kong and Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom, and now lives in New York. His films and 16mm projection works have been presented at events such as the International Film Festival Rotterdam, the Toronto International Film Festival, the BFI London Film Festival, the Hong Kong International Film Festival, and CROSSROADS at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. His 16mm multiple projection work Cluster Click City Sundays premiered as a part of an expanded-cinema series for the Whitney Museum of American Art’s exhibition Dreamlands: Immersive Cinema and Art, 1905–2016. Liu is a member of Negativland Motion Picture Lab, an artist-run film laboratory.

M+ 藏品

靜力23號(迴轉)

丹尼爾・寇克斯│4分33秒│2017│紐西蘭
DCP│彩色

《靜力23號(迴轉)》延續丹尼爾.寇克斯對時間維度和身體在城市中移動的探索。影片拍攝於2015年的香港灣仔道,寇克斯猶如浪遊者般漫遊於這座城市,在日益充斥全球連鎖商店的都市景觀中,努力捕捉傳統街道生活的片鱗半爪。然而,作品並不採用慣常的線性方式理解,觀眾所看到都市空間中的人物,彷彿由中央的漩渦流淌而出,影像如圓錐體般捲曲變形。《靜力23號(迴轉)》以固定鏡頭紀錄街頭店舖的律動,將行人和大廈轉變成顏色和材質的移動線列,並同時佔據多個時間點。時間在伸延與收縮,在展開與再重疊,藉此將城市和居民轉化成不屬於現實世界的實體,彷彿在互相拉近又彼此推開。寇克斯曾和David Franzke及Byron Scullin共同創作其作品的音效,他曾把自己作品裏的聲音形容為「情感的獨裁者」1 。此作品原本的配樂由弦樂樂器演奏,並有近似混響的效果。

M+ 藏品

1 Lawrence Weschler著,《A Conversation with Melbourne Video Artist Daniel Crooks》》〔與墨爾本錄像藝術家丹尼爾・寇克斯的對話〕(阿德萊德:Anne & Gordon Samstag Museum of Art University of South Australia, 2013),頁22。

丹尼爾.寇克斯,1973年生於紐西蘭,是錄像藝術家。他把時間視為一種有形的、具可塑性的物料,並探討數碼媒體技術對理解時間和物質世界可帶來哪些新啟示。他的實驗數碼影片扭曲現實,並詰問觀者對現實的理解。澳洲墨爾本流動影像中心和昆士蘭藝術館及當代藝術館分別於2016年和2015年舉辦了寇克斯的個人展。他曾屢獲國際獎項,包括新加坡第一屆英國保誠當代藝術獎(2014年)、澳洲流動影像中心的伊恩波特流動影像委託獎金(2014年)和新加坡美術館的傑出藝術獎(2011年)。

王船祭典

M+ 藏品

王船祭典

張照堂│20 分鐘│1979│台灣
DCP│彩色

張照堂曾在台灣電視頻道中國電視公司工作,《王船祭典》就是當時為該電視台製作的實驗紀錄片,內容關於台南縣蘇厝村每兩年舉辦一次的祭祀儀式。片段由張照堂和澳洲籍電影攝影師杜可風分別拍攝,再經張照堂剪接。作品擺脫宣傳報導和民族誌紀錄片的形式,不但一反傳統的紀錄片類型與發行方式,而且展示了台灣獨特的後現代主義思潮──本土意識和現代理想主義之間的拉鋸。《王船祭典》以Mike Oldfield〈Ommadawn〉第一樂章為配樂,並按照音樂的長度剪輯,呈現1970年代末台灣的複雜文化環境。該樂曲來自受凱爾特文化啟發的同名前衛搖滾專輯。

M+ 藏品

張照堂,1943年出生於台灣,1960年代初他仍在大學修讀土木工程時,就拍攝了一系列實驗攝影作品,在台灣文化界聲名鵲起。他擺脫當時主流的政治宣傳、新聞和沙龍攝影,開創了獨特的現代主義風格,可謂同期藝術家中的先驅,此風格一直貫穿他的攝影、電影和裝置藝術作品。在1968年,他加入中國電視公司成為攝影記者,並製作了數齣紀錄片,探討台灣人在1970到80年代本土化運動中的身分認同。他亦曾擔任數齣香港劇情片的攝影師,包括《再見中國》(1978年)及《唐朝綺麗男》(1985年)。台北市立美術館於2013年為張照堂舉辦攝影回顧展。他曾多次獲頒重要文藝獎項,包括1999年的國家文藝獎和2011年的行政院文化獎。

她說為何是我

她說為何是我

馮美華│8 分鐘│1989│香港
DCP│彩色

《她說為何是我》攝於中國政局動盪和英國即將歸還香港的時期,以隱晦方式審視當時籠罩香港的焦慮不安氣氛。在影片中,一名雙眼被遮蔽的女子在街道上漫遊,由古廟走到車水馬龍的市區,並穿插其他黑白歷史片段,當中可見身處公共空間裏、不同年紀和背景的女子。這些過去和現在交替的影像結構,反映馮美華一貫對政治、歷史和女性身分的關注,同時以影像批判女性成為大眾凝視的客體。馮美華於2016年重拍此作,在當時新的政治環境下再次探索這座城市,並根據新的歷史時刻修改其內容。《她說為何是我》曲風沉鬱的原聲配樂,是由電子琴和鋼琴彈奏,音樂越往後越令人心神不安。

M+ 藏品

馮美華,1952年生於香港,是實驗流動影像的藝術先驅,她在1970年代末到1980年代中期創作的超9毫米影片和後期的錄像作品,均廣受矚目。她相信錄像能成為帶出社會另類聲音的媒介,關注性別政治和香港的文化政治情況等議題。她和實驗藝術團體進念二十面體合作,為舞台表演創作錄像裝置,還身兼藝術行政主任、策展人、評論員,以及多個本地電影節的顧問。馮美華於1974年參與創立火鳥電影會,並在1986年與鮑藹倫、黃志輝和毛文羽成立香港第一個獨立流動影像藝術機構──錄映太奇。她現於香港非牟利藝術團體艺鵠擔任主席。



米高・羅格│4分鐘│1952│香港
DCP│黑白

羅格受荷蘭電影製作人Joris Ivens的前衛紀錄片《Regen》(1929年)啟發,於1952年以新購的Paillard Bolex 16毫米攝影機拍攝了這部約三分鐘的短片,並獲得當年香港業餘電影會的年度比賽冠軍。《雨》片影像質樸、豐富生動,一開始的畫面是被雨水沖刷的標題,背景則是香港的鳥瞰風景,接着拍攝香港不同地點雨水流淌、洪水湧灌的景象,還有周遭營營役役如常的眾生。由鄉村到市區,影片透過雨傘、行人、交通、碼頭,和自然風光的影像,以詩意手法呈現了1950年代香港的日常。羅格曾在YouTube上傳這部作品,該版本的配樂是鮑羅定的《第一號弦樂四重奏》。

由米高・羅格及康樂及文化事務署香港電影資料館提供

米高・羅格,1929年生於荷蘭,原名IJsbrand Cornelius Rogge,於1949至1955年間在香港的荷蘭安達銀行工作,隨後於1955至1960年間派駐日本。雖然每週工作六天,他依然能善用餘暇,走訪香港各地拍攝紀錄片和照片。1952年,他參與創辦香港業餘電影會,其後擔任主席。自2008年起,他定期在個人YouTube頻道上載自己的作品,至今已逾一千部。

日出

日出

米高・羅格│9分鐘│1953│香港
DCP│彩色

羅格的《日出》捕捉了曙光初現,如夢似真的香港。影片以Paillard Bolex 16毫米攝影機,配以Kodachrome彩色正片拍攝,片首以大自然田野風光開展,繼而描繪都市中的晨曦。在羅格上載至YouTube的版本中,先配上了巴哈的《D大調第三號管弦樂組曲(G弦上的詠嘆調)》,並以中樂樂曲《彩雲追月》接續,此曲是任光為電影《漁光曲》而作的主題曲,該片在1934年由蔡楚生執導。

由米高・羅格及康樂及文化事務署香港電影資料館提供

米高・羅格,1929年生於荷蘭,原名IJsbrand Cornelius Rogge,於1949至1955年間在香港的荷蘭安達銀行工作,隨後於1955至1960年間派駐日本。雖然每週工作六天,他依然能善用餘暇,走訪香港各地拍攝紀錄片和照片。1952年,他參與創辦香港業餘電影會,其後擔任主席。自2008年起,他定期在個人YouTube頻道上載自己的作品,至今已逾一千部。

香港霓虹燈

香港霓虹燈

米高・羅格│30秒│約1951-1952│香港
DCP│彩色

《香港霓虹燈》約於1951至1952年間由羅格拍攝,顯現了香港過去和現在的微妙關連。此作品在上環和灣仔拍攝,當中可見宣傳按傳統配方製作的中藥的霓虹燈廣告,有先施百貨公司和林源豐錶行的霓虹招牌,後者旁邊有CYMA、伊曆辰、武嘩度和勞力士等手錶中英文名稱的霓虹燈廣告。影片以灣仔菲林明道的街頭廣告牌作結,包括龍鳳大茶樓和毗鄰東方戲院的英京大酒家。

由米高・羅格及康樂及文化事務署香港電影資料館提供

米高・羅格,1929年生於荷蘭,原名IJsbrand Cornelius Rogge,於1949至1955年間在香港的荷蘭安達銀行工作,隨後於1955至1960年間派駐日本。雖然每週工作六天,他依然能善用餘暇,走訪香港各地拍攝紀錄片和照片。1952年,他參與創辦香港業餘電影會,其後擔任主席。自2008年起,他定期在個人YouTube頻道上載自己的作品,至今已逾一千部。

海港城

海港城

廖沛毅│14 分鐘│2016│香港
16毫米雙投影 | 彩色及黑白

廖沛毅認為,捕捉在菲林之上的個人片段,飽含情感和經驗方面的強大力量,故此他嘗試以緊湊的方式串連這些私密時刻,並以濃縮手法記錄回憶的過程。《海港城》體現了廖沛毅對於逐格組合菲林的一貫執着,本作品匯聚了一些美得動人心魄的影像,這些影像既有令人感覺熟悉的,又有神秘莫測的,如他所言:「這是從魚市場和高樓大廈之間的狹縫窺見的景貌,是香港的都市意象和對家庭生活的沉溺;景象漫漶,細節在時代中消失流逝。一個把兩個影像合而為一的夢,為現代雲端而保留的密集資訊。」2 本作品的原聲配樂由Warren Ng和Ben Hozie創作,結合環境聲音和電子音樂。廖沛毅將會在「幻影波音」表演中,親自以兩部16毫米菲林放映機放映作品。

由藝術家提供

2 Simon Liu, ‘Harbour City’, https://www.liufilmsliu.com/harbour-city-1/,2018年10月15日瀏覽。


廖沛毅
,1987年生於香港,成長於香港和英國特倫特河畔斯托克,現居於紐約。他的電影和16毫米投影作品曾在多個國際電影節放映,包括鹿特丹國際影展、多倫多國際電影節、倫敦電影節、香港國際電影節、以及舊金山現代藝術博物館的CROSSROADS電影節。他的16毫米多重投影作品《群集點擊城市周末》曾於惠特尼美國藝術博物館的展覽「Dreamlands: Immersive Cinema and Art, 1905–2016」擴展電影系列中首映。廖沛毅是Negativland Motion Picture Lab的一員,此實驗影片沖印室由藝術家營運。