M+ International x Power Station of Art: Archigram Cities

Date: 21 November 2020 (Saturday)
Time: 4:00pm–8:30pm (Shanghai)
Venue: Power Station of Art, 200 Hua Yuan Gang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai
For registration, follow the Power Station of Art’s WeChat account.

Language: English and Mandarin, with simultaneous translation onsite
Live Streaming Platform: Bilibili (Mandarin channel and English channel)

Programme:

Screening of Archigram Films

 

Archigram 1967, 1967 © BBCArchigram 1967, 1967 © BBC, copyright content reproduced courtesy of the British Broadcasting Corporation

Archigram 1967 (1967)
Commissioned by the BBC for a late-night arts programme, Archigram 1967 was the first national broadcast of Archigam’s work, following on their increasingly influential magazine. In the programme synopsis, the BBC describes Archigram as ‘a group of young British architects who believe that architecture in the space age means expandable buildings that can change when and as needed’. Transmitted on 19 January 1967 and directed by Tattooist International, the film shows Archigram’s view of the world, including some ideas which, they suggest, may help ‘make sense of our towns and cities’.


 

Archigram Opera, 1972 © Archigram

Archigram Opera, 1972 © Archigram

Archigram Opera, 1972 © Archigram

Archigram Opera, 1972 © ArchigramArchigram Opera, 1972 © Archigram

Archigram Opera (1972)
Archigram Opera is a multimedia projection of Archigram’s work across ten years of their activity and nine issues of their magazine. The group developed the projection in 1972, with Archigram member Dennis Crompton as lead producer. The Opera is a narrated projection of 644 slides—accompanied by the music of 1960s rock bands like Vanilla Fudge, the Grateful Dead, and Emerson, Lake & Palmer—that distils the group’s thinking, work, influences, and intentions, identifying with what the architects describe as ‘Mobility, Robots, Dreams Come True’. 


Discussion with Archigram

Peter Cook is an architect, writer, and member of Archigram. He graduated from the Architectural Association School of Architecture in 1960. He is a Senior Fellow of the Royal College of Art and has taught at the Royal Academy; the Bartlett School of Architecture, University College, London; and the Städelschule. He was Director of the Institute of Contemporary Arts in London between 1970 and 1973 and Chair of Architecture at the Bartlett between 1990 and 2006. He continues to practice architecture, with Gavin Robotham, as CRAB. In 2007, Cook was knighted for his services to architecture.

Dennis Crompton is an architect, lecturer, and member of Archigram. He led the development of the technical aspects of Archigram’s activities. He has maintained the records of the group’s work from its earliest days, eventually establishing the Archigram Archive. In collaboration with Ron Herron, he designed the exhibition Archigram: Experimental Architecture 1961–74 at the Kunsthalle Wien in 1994. He has been connected to the Architectural Association (AA) School of Architecture since 1965, and taught there for over thirty years. In the 1970s and 1980s, he was responsible for the production of publications and exhibitions at the AA. He lectures frequently at schools of architecture in Europe and the United States.

David Greene is an architect, writer, lecturer, and member of Archigram. After completing his studies at the Nottingham College of Art (now the School of Art & Design, Nottingham Trent University), he practised architecture, collaborated with London-based clothing designer Paul Smith, and taught at the Architectural Association (AA) School of Architecture and at Westminster University, where he was a professor from 1997 until 2007. In 2002, he and Peter Cook jointly received the RIBA Annie Spink Award for excellence in architectural education. Throughout his career, he has developed work in an extended research project on ephemeral architecture, entitled L.A.W.U.N. (Locally Available World Unseen Networks), which he continues to lead at the AA. The book L.A.W.U.N. Projects #19 (Architectural Association, 2012) catalogues his ideas from 1959 through 2008.

Michael Webb is an architect and member of Archigram. He studied architecture at the Regent Street Polytechnic School of Architecture (now the University of Westminster), and emigrated to the United States in 1965. Drawing has played a fundamental role throughout his career, defining the development of his Temple Island study (published by the Architectural Association in 1987) and Drive-In House series. His writing has appeared in Architectural Design, Daidalos, and the Journal of Architectural Education and his work has been exhibited at the Cooper Union, Columbia University, Storefront for Art and Architecture, the Architectural League of New York, and Art Net. He was a Mellon Senior Fellow at the Canadian Centre for Architecture in 2011. A monograph on his work, Michael Webb: Two Journeys, edited by Ashley Simone, was published by Lars Müller Publishers in 2018.


Reflections on Practice and Dialogue with Archigram

 

Drawing Architecture Studio, Under the Zhengyangmen, 2018. © Drawing Architecture StudioDrawing Architecture Studio, Under the Zhengyangmen, 2018. © Drawing Architecture Studio

Li Han is a Founding Partner of Drawing Architecture Studio, through which he explores and presents a critical view of dwellings, cities, and the urban environment in the medium of narrative-based digital drawing. His work integrates influences from Pop Art, postmodernism, and contemporary popular culture into depictions of urban landscapes. Li was the overall winner of the Architecture Drawing Prize curated by the World Architecture Festival, Sir John Soane’s Museum, and Make Architects in 2018. His publications include A Little Bit of Beijing, A Little Bit of Beijing · Dashilar, and Hutong Mushroom. He was trained at the Central Academy of Fine Arts in Beijing and RMIT University in Melbourne.


 

Atelier FCJZ, Jishou Art Museum, 2019. Photo: Tian Fangfang. © Atelier FCJZAtelier FCJZ, Jishou Art Museum, 2019. Photo: Tian Fangfang. © Atelier FCJZ

Yung Ho Chang is founding principal of the Beijing-based Atelier FCJZ (Feichang Jianzhu), established in 1993. Since its inception, Atelier FCJZ has pursued a multidisciplinary practice and emphasised the craft of design, through both research and realised projects from large-scale urban design to decorative arts. Chang was educated in China and the United States and is a professor of the College of Architecture and Urban Planning at Tongji University and a professor and former head of the Architecture Department at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was also a professor and founding head of the Graduate Center of Architecture at Peking University.


 

Jiakun Architects, With the Wind, 2013. M+, Hong Kong. Photo: Nicholas Tse. © Jiakun ArchitectsJiakun Architects, With the Wind, 2013. M+, Hong Kong. Photo: Nicholas Tse. © Jiakun Architects

Liu Jiakun is the founder and the principal architect of Jiakun Architects, a Chengdu-based practice that focuses on designing in response to social realities and respect for local context and vernacular craftsmanship. His architectural and installation projects include the Luyeyuan Stone Sculpture Art Museum, With the Wind, Crossroads for the first Chengdu Biennial, Rebirth Brick, and West Village, as well as the inaugural Serpentine Pavilion Beijing in 2018. Liu has participated in many international exhibitions, including the Venice Architecture Biennale in 2016 and the Venice Biennale in 2015. He was trained at the Chongqing Institute of Architecture and Civil Engineering.


 

URBANUS, Model, Urban Village: Gangxia Village (2004–2005), Shenzhen, China, 2005. M+, Hong Kong. © URBANUSURBANUS, Model, Urban Village: Gangxia Village (2004–2005), Shenzhen, China, 2005. M+, Hong Kong. © URBANUS

Meng Yan is an architect and co-founder of URBANUS, a design practice and think tank based in Shenzhen and Beijing. His projects focus on key issues of China’s urban development, including the Luohu Art Gallery, the Dafen Art Museum, the OCT Art & Design Gallery, and numerous urban regeneration research initiatives in Shenzhen. He was chief curator of the Shenzhen Pavilion at Expo 2010 in Shanghai and co-curated the 2017 Bi-City Biennale of Urbanism\Architecture, held in Shenzhen. He was trained at Tsinghua University and Miami University.


 

MAD Architects, Postcard of New York, Superstar: a Mobile China Town, Venice Architectural Biennale 2008, Italy, 2008. M+, Hong Kong. © MAD ArchitectsMAD Architects, Postcard of New York, Superstar: a Mobile China Town, Venice Architectural Biennale 2008, Italy, 2008. M+, Hong Kong. © MAD Architects

Ma Yansong is an architect and founder and principal of the Beijing-based practice MAD Architects. His design practice, exhibitions, and publications address ideas of environment, the city, and balance between nature and technology. His projects with MAD across a range of scales include the Absolute Towers, the Ordos Museum, the Harbin Opera House, Hutong Bubble 32, and the Lucas Museum of Narrative Art. Ma was trained at the Beijing Institute of Civil Engineering and Architecture and Yale University.

The hotel partner of ‘M+ International x Power Station of Art: Archigram Cities’ is URSIDE, Shanghai.

M+ 寰遊×上海當代藝術博物館:Archigram城市

日期2020年11月21日(星期六)
時間:上海時間下午4時至晚上8時30分
地點:上海市黃浦區花園港路200號上海當代藝術博物館
登記詳情,請留意上海當代藝術博物館微信公眾號 的最新消息。

語言:普通話及英語,設現場即時傳譯 
網上直播平台:嗶哩嗶哩,設英語即時傳譯(普通話頻道英語頻道

活動

Archigram作品放映

 

《Archigram 1967》, 1967年 © BBC《Archigram 1967》,1967年,© BBC, copyright content reproduced courtesy of the British Broadcasting Corporation

《Archigram 1967》,1967年
《Archigram 1967》是英國廣播公司為其深夜藝術系列而特別委約Archigram製作的節目。自Archigram以同名雜誌《Archigram》嶄露頭角後,這是他們首次在全國電視亮相。英國廣播公司在節目簡介中形容Archigram是「一群年輕英國建築師,相信太空時代的建築可以隨時按需擴展」。影片由Tattooist International執導,並於1967年1月19日播放,展現Archigram的世界觀,包括一些他們認為有助「了解我們城鎮的意義」的概念。


 

《Archigram Opera》, 1972年 © Archigram

《Archigram Opera》, 1972年 © Archigram

《Archigram Opera》, 1972年 © Archigram

《Archigram Opera》, 1972年 © Archigram《Archigram Opera》,1972年,© Archigram

《Archigram Opera》,1972年
Archigram以多媒體投影作品《Archigram Opera》講述他們十年間的創作歷程和所出版的九期《Archigram》雜誌。這部投影作品製作於1972年,由Archigram成員Dennis Crompton擔任主製片人。《Archigram Opera》這個敘事作品由644張投影片組成,配以Vanilla Fudge、The Grateful Dead和Emerson, Lake & Palmer等1960年代搖滾樂隊的音樂,把此團體的創作思路、成果、影響和意圖濃縮凝聚於其中,印證這群建築師所說的「流動、機器人、夢想成真」。


映後討論

Peter Cook是建築師、作家、Archigram成員。1960年畢業於英國建築協會學院。現任英國皇家藝術學院資深院士,曾任教於皇家藝術研究院、倫敦大學學院巴特雷建築學院及法蘭克福施泰德藝術學院。1970至1973年擔任倫敦當代藝術學院總監,1990至2006年擔任巴特雷建築學院建築系主任。其後與Gavin Robotham共同創立CRAB工作室繼續建築實踐。2007年,獲英女皇封爵以表揚其在建築領域的貢獻。

Dennis Crompton是建築師、講師、Archigram成員。他負責Archigram在技術方面的工作。自團體成立之初已為Archigram的項目存檔,並最終建立了Archigram檔案。1994年與Ron Herron合作設計於維也納藝術館舉辦的「Archigram: Experimental Architecture 1961-74」展覽。自1965年以來一直與英國建築協會學院保持密切聯系,在該校任教超過三十年,並於七十和八十年代負責制作其學院的出版物和展覽。經常在歐洲和美國的建築學院講學。

David Greene是建築師、作家、講師、Archigram成員。他於諾丁漢藝術學院(現為諾丁漢特倫特大學藝術與設計學院)畢業後與倫敦時裝設計師Paul Smith合作,展開建築事業。曾任教於英國建築協會學院,1997至2007年在威斯敏斯特大學擔任教授。2002年與Peter Cook共同獲頒英國皇家建築師協會Annie Spink Award,以表彰他們在建築教育的傑出貢獻。他在職業生涯中一直致力推行一項有關臨時建築、名為L.A.W.U.N.(Locally Available World Unseen Networks)的長期研究項目,至今仍在建築協會領導這方面的工作。他自1959至2008年的建築意念,收錄在建築協會於2012年出版的《L.A.W.U.N. Projects #19》中。

Michael Webb是建築師及Archigram成員。他於倫敦綜合工藝學院(現為威斯敏斯特大學)修讀建築,後於1965年移居美國。繪圖在其職業生涯占據重要位置,奠定其「Temple Island」研究(1987年由建築協會出版)及「Drive-In House」系列的發展。其文章見於《Architectural Design》、《Daidalos》和《Journal of Architectural Education》,作品曾於庫柏聯盟學院、哥倫比亞大學、Storefront for Art and Architecture、紐約建築聯盟及Art Net展出。2011年於加拿大建築中心擔任梅隆資深學人。由Ashley Simone編輯的專著《Michael Webb: Two Journeys》已於2018年由Lars Muller Publishers出版。


演講及對談

 

繪造社,《正陽門下》,2018年 © 繪造社繪造社,《正陽門下》,2018年,© 繪造社

李涵是繪造社創始合伙人,他以敘事數碼繪畫探索和呈現他對居所、城市及城市環境的批判式觀點。其作品融合了普普藝術丶後現代主義和當代流行文化等元素來描繪都市景觀。他在2018年獲由世界建築節、約翰・索恩博物館及Make建築師合辦的建築製圖獎總冠軍。他畢業於北京中央美術學院和皇家墨爾本理工大學,著作包括《一點兒北京》丶《一點兒北京・大柵欄》及《胡同蘑菇》。


 

非常建築,《 吉首美術館》,2019年 ,攝影:田方方,© 非常建築非常建築,《 吉首美術館》,2019年 ,攝影:田方方,© 非常建築

張永和於1993年在北京創立非常建築工作室,並擔任主持建築師。工作室自成立以來,一直透過研究和實現大型都市設計乃至裝飾藝術項目,致力追求跨領域的建築實踐,並強調設計工藝。張永和於中國及美國接受教育,現為同濟大學建築與城市規劃學院教授。他曾任麻省理工學院建築系系主任,現仍為該系教授。他還創辦了北京大學建築學研究中心,曾任職其主任及教授。


 

家琨建築,《隨風》, 2013年,攝影:謝盛通© M+,香港家琨建築,《隨風》,2013年,攝影:謝盛通,© M+,香港

劉家琨是成都建築師事務所家琨建築的創辦人及主持建築師,其設計關注社會現實、尊重地域文化及民間工藝。他過往的建築及裝置項目包括:鹿野苑石刻藝術博物館、《隨風》、第一屆成都雙年展「十字路口」展覽、再生磚、西村大院,以及2018年蛇形美術館的首個北京展亭。他曾參加2016年威尼斯建築雙年展及2015年威尼斯雙年展等眾多國際展覽。劉家琨畢業於重慶建築工程學院。


 

都市實踐,《 中國深圳城中村研究崗廈村模型(2004至2005年) 》,2005 年, M+,香港,© 都市實踐都市實踐,《中國深圳城中村研究崗廈村模型(2004至2005年)》,2005年,M+,香港,© 都市實踐

孟岩是建築師,也是位於上海和北京的設計事務所兼智庫組織都市實踐的創始合伙人,孟岩的建築項目專注於中國都市發展的重要議題,包括羅湖美術館、大芬美術館、華・美術館,以及多個有關城市改造的研究專案。他曾擔任2010年上海世博會深圳案例館的總策展人,並且是2017年深圳的深港城市\建築雙城雙年展的策展人之一。孟岩畢業於清華大學及邁阿密大學。


 

MAD建築事務所,《 2008年意大利威尼斯建築雙年展「超級明星—移動中國城」紐約明信片》,2008 年, M+,香港,© MAD建築事務所MAD建築事務所,《2008年意大利威尼斯建築雙年展「超級明星—移動中國城」紐約明信片》,2008年,M+,香港,© MAD建築事務所

馬岩松是建築師,亦是北京MAD建築事務所之創始人兼主持建築師。他以設計實踐丶展覽和出版物探索城市與環境的概念,追求自然與科技之間的平衡。他於MAD的項目豐富多樣,規模不一,包括夢露大廈丶鄂爾多斯博物館丶哈爾濱大劇院丶胡同泡泡32號及盧卡斯敘事藝術博物館。馬岩松畢業於北京建築工程學院及耶魯大學。

「M+ 寰遊 × 上海當代藝術博物館:Archigram城市」酒店夥伴為有在。