The seeds for Our Death Won’t Hurt Anybody were sown in 2015 during an encounter between Tang Shu-wing, Artistic Director of Tang Shu-wing Theatre Studio in Hong Kong, and Barcelona based dramaturg and anthropologist Enrique Vargas, the Founder and Artistic Director of Teatro de losSentidos. The meeting, a workshop organised by the West Kowloon, created a desire to collaborate on a work based on an investigation of the human conditions through the intersection of physicality and the senses; a work that also embraces uncharted connections between non-linear and non-coherent images and narratives, and emphasises the importance of triggering the imagination of the audience, as Schopenhauer states: letting the viewers complete the last part of their aesthetic journey.

Our Death Won’t Hurt Anybody is based on Sunzi’s The Art of War, an ancient treatise on military tactics from around the 5th century BC, a time when a number of states in China were in conflict, and a text both Tang and Vargas were drawn to given the absurdities and contradictions of contemporary world we live in. Struggle is a constant part of our existence; from the battles we encounter navigating our relationships with the people around us, to wars between nations, and our own internal struggles. Freely inspired by ten major tactics outlined in the classic text, the work delves into the thinking behind these strategies, and reflects on their relevance to situations we face in our everyday lives.

Our Death Won’t Hurt Anybody is also a collaboration between two cities – Hong Kong and Barcelona – that both exhibit similar shifts in the political and cultural landscapes.

Our Death Won’t Hurt Anybody – Freely inspired by the Art of War by Sunzi (Part 1) is co-commissioned by the GREC Festival de Barcelona and the West Kowloon Cultural District, Hong Kong, and is a collaboration between Tang Shu-wing Theatre Studio and Teatro de los Sentidos. After the premier in Barcelona, the show will be back in Freespace of West Kowloon in 2019.

Special thanks to Mr Hon Chi Fun, Ms Mavis Lam, Ms Hwei-Ru Ni, Mr Len Tsou, Mr Frankie Chan and School of Theatre and Entertainment Arts of The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. 

Artistic & Production Team

Director & Dramaturg: Tang Shu-wing
Adviser & Teaching: Enrique Vargas (Artistic Director of Teatro de los Sentidos)
Associate Director: Arianna Marano
Performers:
 Jane Chan, Stephane Laidet, Arianna Marano, Ivy Pang, Eva Perez, Giovanna Pezzullo, Enrique Vargas, Wong Chun Him, Masu Wong, Rocky Wong
Assistant to Director: Jacky Chan
ScenographerGabriella Salvaterra
Lighting Design: Pancho Garcia
Costume Design: Patrizia Menichelli
Sound & Music Design: Stephane Laidet
Technical Director: Karl Sørensen
Stage Manager: Fanny Lo
Production Assistant: Lisa Mercury
Seamstress: Patra Ariño
Costume Assistant: Victoria Cretenze
Set Production: David Batignani
Video Design: Ella Productions 
Video Documentation: Milo de Prieto 
Student in Practicum: Paula Pascual de la Torre
Producers: Bobo Lee, Carlos Calvo

 

 

Dates:
6–8 July 2018 (Friday–Sunday)

Time:
6:00pm (GMT+2)

Venue:
Centre de Cultura Contemporania de Barcelona

Language:
Spanish, Catalan, French, Italian , English and Cantonese with Catalan surtitles

Ticket:
18€ 

Remarks:

  • The organiser reserves the right to make changes to the show and performers.
  • Interaction time with the audiences is included as part of the 270-minute show.
  • Please arrive at the venue 15 minutes before the show starts.

BUY NOW 

Co-commissioned by:

A Collaboration between:

Tang Shu-wing
Director, Dramaturg

Former Dean of the School of Drama of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, Tang Shu-wing is a renowned theatre director and educator in Hong Kong. He has received training of acting in l’Ecole de la Belle de Mai and his Maîtrise Diplôme in Theatre Studies from the Université de la Sorbonne Nouvelle in Paris. He is the Artistic Director of Tang Shu-wing Theatre Studio, an Honorary Advisor of Hong Kong Arts Development Council and Hong Kong Dance Company, a member of the Consultation Panel of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority and the Hong Kong-Taiwan Cultural Co-operation Committee. Tang sees theatre as a way to experience life through self-discovery where the Actor’s body is the primary means of expression of theatrical arts. He is renowned for interpreting dramatic texts with a minimalist aesthetics. He has been dubbed by the media as “Alchemist of Minimalism” and “one of the most talented theatre directors in Hong Kong”. Tang has directed over 50 productions of stage works including drama, dance-theatre and opera, of which Titus Andronicus, Titus Andronicus 2.0, Thunderstorm, Macbeth, Datong, Antigone, Peach Blossom Fan and Les Contes d’Hoffmann are his essential works of late, and which have all been toured to many cities. Tang’s major awards include three-time Best Director in Hong Kong Drama Awards, l’Officier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication, Award for Arts Achievement (Drama) by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council, Chief Executive’s Commendation for Community Service Award, Outstanding Achievement in Direction for Dance of Hong Kong Dance Awards, Best Artist of the Year Award (Drama) of Hong Kong Arts Development Council (2013), Honorary Fellow of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and Lingnan University of Hong Kong.

Arianna Marano
Associate Director, Performer  

Arianna Marano has been a member of Teatro de los Sentidos since 1999, being a co-creator of its shows created from this year on. Originally trained as an actress and dancer studying in Paolo Grassi Academy based in Milan she started her career in 1987 with Dario Fo's theatre company. Since 2003 she is working as” clown doctor” in different hospitals in Italy fo Theodora onlus foundation. Simultaneously, she has been directing “Chapiteau” a nice tiny show for children, she has been collaborating with Anna Ruchat and the suisse tv as voice in documentary and with Kidzdream project

 

See more

春秋戰國與21世紀。香港與巴塞隆拿。香港劇場工作者鄧樹榮及西班牙戲劇顧問、人類學家晏爾奇・芳卡斯在它們之間找到共通點。《就讓世界黑下去吧》受公元前五世紀春秋戰國時代兵書《孫子兵法》十個主要軍事戰略啟發。兩千多年戰略背後,與我們當下日常生活可有關連?

創作團隊看見,今日香港及巴塞隆拿作為地區,跟其國家的語言、身份認同、政治地位的拉扯何其相似。現今荒謬的社會,令人想起春秋時代的動蕩不安。戰鬥成為日常:國與國之間的戰爭、人與人之間的摸索、理性與感性之間的掙扎。

《就讓世界黑下去吧》的創作源於2015年「鄧樹榮戲劇工作室」藝術總監鄧樹榮及「感官劇場」創辦人及藝術總監晏爾奇・芳卡斯在香港的相遇。兩人一同出席了西九國際劇場工作坊節,激發合作的想法,促成作品誕生。作品透過身體及感官的互動交流,探索人類不同存活狀態。以非綫性、非統一的影像及敘述,打開全新未知的關聯。作品強調激發觀眾的想像力,正如叔本華所說,讓觀眾自行完成美感經驗旅程最後的部分。

《就讓世界黑下去吧》──自由探索《孫子兵法》(第一部)由GREC Festival de Barcelona及西九聯合委約及製作,並由鄧樹榮戲劇工作室及感官劇場聯合創作。演出於巴塞隆拿首演後,將於2019年回到西九自由空間演出。

鳴謝: 韓志勳先生、林灒桐女士、倪慧如女士、鄒寧遠先生、陳詠俊先生、香港演藝學院舞台及製作藝術學院。

藝術及製作團隊

導演及劇場構作鄧樹榮
指導及教學:晏爾奇芳卡斯(感官劇場藝術總監)
副導演:Arianna Marano
表演者:Jane Chan、Stephane Laidet、Arianna Marano、彭珮嵐、Eva Perez、Giovanna Pezzullo、晏爾奇・芳卡斯、黃雋謙、黃兆輝、黃玨基 
導演助理:陳翊麒
舞台設計:Gabriella Salvaterra
燈光設計:Pancho Garcia
服裝設計: Patrizia Menichelli
聲音及音樂設計:Stephane Laidet
技術總監:Karl Sørensen
舞台監督:盧月芳
製作助理:Lisa Mercury
裁縫:Patra Ariño
服裝助理:Victoria Cretenze
佈景製作:David Batignani
影像設計:Ella Productions
影像記錄:Milo de Prieto
實習生:Paula Pascual de la Torre
製作人:李筱怡、Carlos Calvo

 

日期:
2018年7月6日至7月8日(星期五至星期日) 

時間
晚上 6 時(GMT+2)

地點
Centre de Cultura Contemporania de Barcelona

語言:
西班牙文、加泰隆尼亞文、法文、意大利文、英文及粵語演出,附加泰隆尼亞文字幕

門票:
18€

備註:

  • 主辦單位保留更改演出內容及表演者的權利。
  • 270 分鐘演出包含與觀眾互動部份。
  • 請於演出開始前15分鐘到達表演場地以安排入座。

購票  

聯合委約:

聯合創作:

鄧樹榮
導演及劇場構作

香港演藝學院戲劇學院前院長、著名導演及戲劇教育家,曾於巴黎Ecole de la Belle de Mai接受演員訓練,在新索邦大學獲戲劇碩士,現任「鄧樹榮戲劇工作室」藝術總監、香港藝術發展局及 香港舞蹈團的榮譽藝術顧問,西九文化區諮詢會及港台文化合作委員會成員。他認為劇場是一種透過自我發現去感受生命的方法,確認身體是最核心的表達工具。他擅長以簡約美學及形體劇場的方法演繹戲劇文本,媒體稱他為「簡約劇場煉金術士」及「香港最具才華的 劇場導演之一」。曾導演超過五十項舞台演出,包括戲劇、舞劇及歌劇,近年主要作品包括《泰特斯》、《泰特斯2.0》、《舞·雷雨》、《馬克白》、《大同》、《安提戈涅》、《桃花扇》及《荷夫曼的故事》,均於世界各地演出。他的主要獎項包括香港舞台劇獎三屆最佳導演獎、法國文化部「藝術及文學軍官勳章」、香港藝術發展獎藝術成就獎(戲劇)、行政長官社會服務獎狀、香港舞蹈年獎最值得表揚劇作指導獎、 香港藝術發展獎年度最佳藝術家獎(戲劇)(2013)、香港演藝學院及香港嶺南大學榮譽院士。 

Arianna Marano
副導演及表演者

1999年加入「感官劇場」(Teatro de los Sentidos),曾參與創作多個演出。於米蘭Paolo Grassi Academy接受演員及舞蹈訓練,1987年畢業後於Dario Fo 劇團開展其事業。Arianna熱衷兒童戲劇工作,自2003開始為意大利慈善基金的醫院擔任小丑醫生,同時為兒童表演節目《Chapiteau》擔任導演。她曾經與Anna Ruchat合作,為瑞士電視台的記錄片及兒童節目作聲音演出。

 

查看更多