Every weekend, at least one professional dance production by a local or overseas company takes place somewhere in Hong Kong. With audiences for dance performances growing in terms of numbers and sophistication, the range of work being produced and presented in the city has also expanded to include many different forms of western and Asian contemporary, classical, traditional and popular dance, including ballet, modern dance, Chinese dance, ballroom dance, hip-hop, jazz, tap and regional forms of folk dance.

Dance practitioners in Hong Kong are committed, passionate, enterprising and pioneering in their determination to take dance into new contexts. The Hong Kong dance sector is also ambitious, outward looking, and eager to grasp new opportunities. 

Our vision for dance at West Kowloon is to promote excellence and global collaboration by enabling artists from diverse disciplines and cultures to come together to share creative experiences and produce innovative new work. The Lyric Theatre Complex that is scheduled to be completed in 2021 will provide meeting and performance spaces that function as a creative laboratory for local and international dance companies – spaces where artists can develop and present world-class dance works.  

In the run up to the opening of the Lyric Theatre Complex, we will be organizing a number of different dance projects – the New Works Forum, artistic research and development programmes, international exchange programmes, learning and participation programmes, and so on – with the aim of positioning West Kowloon as a leader in supporting expert dance work development.

See also

近年香港本地及海外的專業舞蹈演出非常活躍,舞蹈觀眾人數持續增加,觀眾質素也在不斷提高,鼓勵了更多元化的舞蹈製作和演出類型,從西方及亞洲各種當代舞作,至古典、傳統和大眾化的舞蹈;更有現代舞、中國舞、社交舞、hip-hop(嘻哈)、爵士、踢躂,以及民族舞,應有盡有。

香港的舞蹈藝術工作者對舞蹈充滿承擔與熱情,帶著無比創意,開拓舞蹈的彊界,展開更多對話。香港舞蹈界既積極也開放,以前瞻的步伐投入面前每一個新機會。

西九對於舞蹈藝術抱持宏觀視野,致力推動藝術水平發展和國際間之合作,讓來自不同領域與文化的藝術家匯聚一堂,交流經驗,孕育創新的作品。預計於2021年落成的演藝綜合劇場,將成為本地與國際性的舞團一個重要創意平台,為藝術家提供充足的交流與表演空間,創作和展示世界級的舞蹈作品。

演藝綜合劇場將屆開幕,我們亦陸續推出一連串舞蹈活動,包括新作論壇、藝術研究及發展項目、國際交流活動、藝術教育及體驗活動等。在發展優秀舞作這一點上,西九矢志承擔起領導者的角色,跟藝術家一起前進。

相關內容