Austin Wang | Louis Yu | Cheung Fai | Joris Janssens | Anna CY Chan | Low Kee Hong

Austin Wang (Taipei)
Director, Taipei Performing Arts Center


With a profound understanding of literature and the ability to exploit modern technology, Wang graces the theatre playground with his humor, insight and exuberance. He is one of a handful of theatre designers who could directly communicate with playwrights and convey his designing philosophy precisely with eloquence.

Wang received a BIAA award in Warsaw in 2004. In 2007, he sat on the judging panel of Prague Quadrennial of Performance Design and Space (PQ) and acted as the convener of the Taiwan team. The Taiwan Exhibition won the Gold medal for the best use of theatre technology that year. He was the director of stage design at 2009 Deaflympics in Taipei. In 2014, he received National Award for Arts from The National Culture and Arts Foundation in Taiwan.

Louis Yu (Hong Kong)
Executive Director, Performing Arts, WKCDA


Louis Yu Kwok-lit joined the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority in 2010 as the Executive Director of Performing Arts. He is responsible for steering the planning and development of the performing arts facilities in the district, and for overseeing the strategies, governance, programming and operating models for these facilities.

Since joining West Kowloon, Louis has played a pivotal role in leading the design and construction of the Xiqu Centre, Freespace and the Lyric Theatre Complex. The team is now looking at the next stage of development.

Louis has overseen the launch and co-organisation of several talent-nurturing and artistic development programmes for Dance, Drama and Theatre Arts, Music and Xiqu, including “International Workshop Festival of Theatre”, “New Works Forum” and “Producers’ Network Meeting & Forum”. These programmes bring together artists and arts administrators from the region and around the world, including mainland China, Taiwan, France, Germany and the UK, to help initiate artistic exchange and collaboration.

He has also led the production and co-presentation of a number of well received audience development programmes, such as “West Kowloon Bamboo Theatre”, “Freespace Fest”, “Freespace Happening” and “Rising Stars of Cantonese Opera”.

Under his leadership, exchange initiatives have been established with cultural organisations in mainland China, Japan, South Korea, Australia and the UK. A Letter of Intent has also been signed with the Shanghai Center of Chinese Operas to begin a long-term partnership of operational exchange and collaboration on artistic development.

Louis has over 28 years of experience in arts administration and management. Before joining West Kowloon, he was the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Arts Development Council and worked with the Hong Kong Arts Centre for 13 years, serving as the Executive Director from 2000 to 2007.

Cheung Fai (Beijing / Shanghai)
Founder & Chief Executive Officer, feverchina


Cheung has 30 years experience in the performing arts, cultural industry and media/marketing, of which 15 years were in China. He is Founder/CEO of feverchina and Shanghai Marvels Marketing, two cultural companies he founded in 2007; and Chief Strategic Officer of Beijing Artists Association. He was Artistic Advisor and Curator of Helsinki Festival’s China Focus Program; Artistic Advisor & Program Director of KunstenFestivaldesArts, Brussels; Associate Artistic Director of Franco Dragone Entertainment Group; CEO of Shanghai Zendai Himalayas Performing Arts Company and Artistic Director of DaGuan Theatre; Director of Production (Asia) of Jack Morton Worldwide; Producers of many international arts festivals, theatre/arts projects and touring, several big music festivals in China; Web Director of China.com Corp; Editor-in-chief of CrossOver Art Magazine; Founder of International Association of Theatre Scenographer, Architect and Technicians (OISTAT) Hong Kong; Founder of International Association of Theatre Critics (IATC) Hong Kong; Advisor of School of Technical Arts - Hong Kong Academy for the Performing Arts, etc.

Joris Janssens (Brussels)
Head of Research, Flanders Arts Institute


Flanders Arts Institute is the supporting organisation for the arts in Flanders. Since 2001, he has been working at the Vlaams Theater Instituut (VTi), first as researcher and later as director. In 2015, VTi merged with the institutes for visual art and music to become Flanders Arts Institute. Janssens holds a Ph.D. on Linguistics and Literature: Germanic Languages from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. From 1997 to 2001, he worked at the Department Literatuurwetenschap, Netherlandic Studies of KU Leuven. In 2001, he worked at the Department for Nederlandistik, University of Vienna. He has published and edited books and articles, mainly on performing arts practice, policies and literary history.

Anna CY Chan (Hong Kong)
Head of Artistic Development (Dance), WKCDA


Anna CY Chan is the Head of Artistic Development (Dance) of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority. She is responsible for shaping the district’s artistic direction and strategies for dance.

Under her leadership, a series of “New Works Forum” programmes have been launched and co-presented, including “Dance Dialogue with Wayne McGregor”, “Screendance” and “Writing Choreographic Process”, etc. These programmes explore innovative forms of creating and performing, and new ways of discussing and thinking about topics related to contemporary performances.

In 2007, Anna became the Vice-President (East Asia) of the World Dance Alliance Asia Pacific. Prior to this, she was the Head of the Performing Arts Education Centre at the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. During her tenure, the Centre created several successful community engagement projects, including “smARTS Journey” and “Performing Arts Marathon”. She was also the Chairperson of the Hong Kong Dance Alliance from 2006 to 2011.

Low Kee Hong (Hong Kong)
Head of Artistic Development (Theatre), WKCDA


Low Kee Hong is the Head of Artistic Development (Theatre) of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority. He is responsible for formulating the district’s artistic direction and strategies for Drama and Theatre Arts.

In this role, Kee Hong has overseen the launch and co-presentation of several projects, including the outdoor arts event series “Freespace Happening” and the world-wide exchange programme “International Workshop Festival of Theatre” – projects that have stimulated new discussion and discourse around contemporary modes of creation.

Before joining West Kowloon, Kee Hong was the Artistic Director and General Manager of the Singapore Arts Festival from 2009 to 2012. During that time, one of his key initiatives was the launch of “com.mune”, a year-long education and outreach programme designed to sustain the festival’s engagement with the public beyond individual shows. Kee Hong was also General Manager of the Singapore Biennale.

王孟超 | 茹國烈 | 張輝 | 約里斯‧簡森斯 | 陳頌瑛 | 劉祺豐

王孟超(台北)
臺北表演藝術中心籌備辦公室主任


畢業於南加州大學舞台燈光設計碩士,投入劇場近三十年。曾任雲門舞集的資深舞台監督和舞台設計師,也為台灣許多知名表演團隊擔任舞台及燈光設計,或擔任他們的海外巡迴技術指導,如雲門舞集、表演工作坊、屏風表演班、當代傳奇劇場、明華園等臺灣知名表演團隊。曾任 2009 年台北聽障奧運會開幕的舞台設計總監,2007 年布拉格劇場設計四年展評審委員及台灣參展召集人,台灣館獲得「最佳劇場技術運用金牌獎」;2004 年於波蘭華沙總統官邸獲頒「雪樹國際成就獎」,同年並獲頒國家文化藝術基金會「國家文藝獎」。

茹國烈(香港)
西九文化區管理局表演藝術行政總監


茹國烈2010年加入西九文化區管理局,出任表演藝術行政總監至今,負責規劃及發展文化區所有表演藝術設施,並監督其發展策略、機構管治、節目方向,以及營運模式。

在他的帶領下,文化區內各項演藝設施的設計工作及建築工程,包括戲曲中心、自由空間及演藝綜合劇場等,均進度理想。團隊已經開始考慮下一階段發展,檢視其他表演場地的規劃。

除了場地的設計工作及建築工程,團隊同時關注人才培育及藝術發展,舉辦一系列涵蓋舞蹈、戲劇、音樂及戲曲的項目,在「國際劇場工作坊節」、「新作論壇」及「製作人網絡會議及論壇」中,來自香港、中國大陸、法國及德國等全球各地藝術家及藝術行政人員獲邀參與工作坊、公開論壇或演出。

觀眾拓展方面,團隊先後推出包括「西九大戲棚」、「自由野」、「自由約」、「粵劇新星展」等節目,廣獲好評。

團隊亦與中國、日本、韓國、澳洲及英國等地文化機構進行交流,其中更與上海戲曲藝術中心簽訂交流合作意向書,就包括場地經營及藝術發展等事項互相交流學習。

茹國烈擁有逾28年藝術行政及管理經驗,曾任香港藝術發展局行政總裁,在香港藝術中心任職13年,並於2000至2007年間出任總幹事。

張輝(北京/上海)
飛凡文化有限公司創始人及行政總裁


具備 30 年與演藝、文化產業及媒體行銷等領域相關的經驗,其中 15 年經驗於中國累積所得。北京飛凡文化有限公司及上海名縱營銷策劃的創辦人、北京演藝人協會總策劃。曾任赫爾辛基國際藝術節「焦點中國」藝術顧問及策展人;布魯塞爾國際藝術節藝術顧問/節目總監;弗蘭克德貢娛樂集團副藝術總監;上海證大喜瑪拉雅演藝有限公司總裁及大觀劇場藝術總監;林兆華戲劇工作室總經理/總策劃;傑克莫頓環球亞洲製作總監;多個國際藝術節、演藝及巡演專案、中國大型音樂節的製作人;中華網網站總監;《越界》藝術雜誌總編輯;國際舞台美術家劇場建築師暨劇場技術師組織(香港分會)創辦人;國際演藝評論家協會(香港分會)創辦人等等。

約里斯‧簡森斯(布魯塞爾)
法蘭德斯藝術研究所研究部主管


法蘭德斯藝術研究所為法蘭德斯地區的藝術提供支援。自 2001 年以來 ,他曾在法蘭德斯戲劇研究所(Vlaams Theater Instituut)先後任職研究員及總監 。2015 年,戲劇研究所與視覺藝術及音樂研究所合併成為法蘭德斯藝術研究所。約里斯擁有比利時荷蘭語天主教魯汶大學的語言學及文學:日耳曼語博士學位。1997 至 2001 年間,他在荷蘭語天主教魯汶大學文學系進行尼德蘭文化研究工作。 2001 年,他任職維也納大學尼德蘭文化研究系,出版編輯書籍和文章甚豐,主要關於表演藝術實踐、政策及文學史。

陳頌瑛(香港)
西九文化區管理局藝術發展主管(舞蹈)


陳頌瑛現為西九文化區管理局藝術發展主管(舞蹈),負責制定文化區舞蹈發展的藝術方向及具體策略。

在她的帶領下,團隊推出一系列「新作論壇」,包括「與 Wayne McGregor 的舞蹈對談」、「光影舞蹈」及「肢體和聲音的舞動與敘事」等,探索全新創作及表演方法,研究當代演出相關議題。

2007年起,陳頌瑛擔任世界舞蹈聯盟亞太區分會東亞區副會長一職至今,她亦曾任香港演藝學院表演藝術教育中心主任,期間舉辦多項社區參與活動,包括「smARTS 演藝之旅」及「演藝馬拉松」等,並於2006至2011年間擔任香港舞蹈聯盟主席。
 

劉祺豐(香港)
西九文化區管理局藝術發展主管(戲劇)


劉祺豐現為西九文化區管理局藝術發展主管(戲劇),負責制定文化區戲劇發展的藝術方向及具體策略。

在他的帶領下,團隊推出一系列觀眾拓展及人才培育項目,包括戶外藝術節目「自由約」及國際交流計劃「國際劇場工作坊節」等,引發討論,刺激創作,開拓表演藝術全新領域。

劉祺豐曾於2009至2012年間出任新加坡藝術節藝術總監及總經理,期間引入為期一年的教育及外展項目「com.mune」,鼓勵公眾參與演出以外其他活動,他亦曾任新加坡雙年展總經理。