SAMSON YOUNG: SONGS FOR DISASTER RELIEF WORLD TOUR

Samson Young: Songs for Disaster Relief World Tour is a new presentation following Hong Kong’s participation in the 57th Venice Biennale, in which Samson Young created a body of work that attempts to reframe the popularisation of ‘charity singles’—purpose-made recordings for specific charitable causes. Since the early 1980s, charity singles have been used to raise funds for specific cases of international disaster relief and famine relief, memorials, and medical and social welfare. The charity song is a genre in its own right, with its typically uplifting spirit and positive messages that motivate our emotions. The long list of celebrities who perform charity singles all but guarantees air time and a place at the top of the charts, which usually bring commercial success.

The success of charity singles in the 1980s was a global phenomenon with a lasting effect in our memories. In 2014, Bob Geldof and a large group of artists attempted a remake of the classic 1980s single ‘Do They Know It’s Christmas?’ to support West African nations in their fight against Ebola. As a musician and composer, Young was not convinced by this replication of a great song, which sounds similar to the version recorded three decades earlier, and is accompanied by an emotional performance in a music video reminiscent of the original video. Young felt that the remake was obsolete and out of time, and this reaction set him on a journey to explore issues that arose through the recording of charity songs. He produced a rich body of work for the exhibition in Venice. Additional newly commissioned works have been incorporated into the Hong Kong version, as Young creates a more holistic experience in a more contextualised setting.

The exhibition can be viewed as a musical album unfolding in a physical space. Connecting rooms serve as host to works with different characteristics. Through deliberate repurposing and creative misreading of the well-known charity singles ‘Do They Know It’s Christmas?’ (1984), ‘We Are the World’ (1985), and the Cantonese version of ‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’ (1991), Young has created objects, performances, and sound installations that together constitute a distinct audiovisual experience.

The first two rooms of the exhibition form the Palazzo Gundane (homage to the myth-maker who fell to earth). This is a video and sound installation that takes its point of departure from the artist’s discovery of a fake news article on the internet about a South African musician named Boomtown Gundane, who reportedly made a song titled ‘Yes We Do’ in response to ‘Do They Know It’s Christmas?’ This satirical song act would have provided a much-needed voice from the developing world, to challenge the image of the West as passionately philanthropic. Young determined to realise the myth by creating the song and the world tour. In Young’s fictional recreation, Boomtown Gundane is a musician making his living as a miner in an oil town. He loves jazz and Christmas songs, and is a big fan of Tom Mix, the most iconic cowboy actor of early-twentieth-century Hollywood Westerns.

As we enter the foyer that sets the scene for us, we are immediately greeted by a large statue inside a vitrine. It is a digital collage of disparate elements, including the Winged Victory of Samothrace with its wings seemingly melted to the ground, busts of Pythagoras and Ronald Reagan, and a military bugle intersecting a space station. The giant trophy-like sculpture can be seen as the key promotional visual for Boomtown Gundane’s non-existent single. This strange composition, acting as a preface to the exhibition, reflects the breadth of the artist’s research, which combines an array of different sources and concepts that at first glance are unrelated to the subject of charity singles. Ronald Reagan was one of the leading politicians in the 1980s, pushing for a market-driven society along with privatisation and deregulation—a policy now called neoliberalism—in a period that coincided with the unprecedented success of charity singles. The presence of Pythagoras refers to acousmatic sound—sound one hears without seeing the source. Pythagoras is said to have taught from behind a curtain so that his students could more easily concentrate on his teachings.

By mixing various objects, sound, video, and a fictional narrative with his own personal histories, Young gives shape to the fake-news protagonist Boomtown Gundane. Connected by a curtained room, a phantasmagorical music video of the fictional figure, recorded in the once-booming American oil town of Williston, North Dakota, near the United States– Canada border, is shown with a selection of complementary objects and furniture that portray the life and interests of this imaginary character. Meanwhile, a television shows animations of a boy and a girl taken from the original ‘Do They Know It’s Christmas?’ album cover, dancing endlessly and attempting to perform magic, with neither target nor audience. No matter how hard they try, their effort and energy seem to be in vain—a failed aspiration.

The next doorway leads us to the artist’s appropriation of another iconic charity song. Titled We Are the World, as performed by the Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions Choir, this work features a muted performance of Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie’s ‘We Are the World’. The technique of muted performance entails suppressing the sound-producing part of the act of performance while nevertheless performing with the usual energy, so as to reveal the concealed layers of sound. Young handpicked the Kwan Sing Choir of the Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions (HKFTU) to perform the iconic title. While the gesture itself carries a subversive undertone, given the HKFTU’s history, its sonic qualities suggest a gentle tenderness.

Passing through a glass door, we enter a recording studio that contains two works. Lullaby (World Music) is a video piece in which the artist’s performance takes its cue from the long tradition in Hong Kong of calling in to televised charity shows. As callers make pledges, their details are displayed as scrolling names and numbers that fly across the bottom of the television screen. To the people of Hong Kong, Simon & Garfunkel’s ‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’ is the melody of one of the city’s most iconic charity songs, ‘Many Hearts Prevail’, released in 1991 as a response to the eastern China flood. Recording the video at the confluence of China’s and Hong Kong’s marine territories, with his back facing the camera and his gaze apparently directed towards a distant lighthouse, Young attempts to capture the tension between the two unreachable territories. The song, meanwhile, points to a bygone era in which natural disasters in China invariably triggered heartfelt charitable responses from the people of Hong Kong.

Before leaving the space, we are confronted with Carillon, a self-playing piano, which echoes the muted choral performance in the previous room. Our attention is drawn to the bodily act of piano playing, and the transfer of energy from movement to sound.

Inspired by a famous quotation from Mao Zedong, Risers is a neon sign in the courtyard that reads, ‘The world is yours, but also ours, but basically yours’. In contrast to the works inside the exhibition space, which provide a sonic experience, this muted piece offers a thoughtful break from the audio sensations, but again reminds us of the misalignment of original intentions with eventual outcomes. It invites the viewer to reflect on and rediscover the past, as well as to reconsider present associations and aspirations.

Samson Young: Songs for Disaster Relief World Tour is a project that started from curiosity and the desire to better understand something that did not seem right that troubled the artist’s feelings. A rigorous, elaborate research process and reinterpretations of the subject matter allowed Young to create a body of work that prompts reflection, reimagining, and rethinking of our past and our current ways of life. It may be that no results or conclusions are reached, as this could be just one small piece of a larger puzzle. We hope viewers are inspired to initiate their own research, and to find other missing pieces of the puzzle.

Ying Kwok
Guest Curator

Downloads

「楊嘉輝的賑災專輯 世界巡迴演」是繼香港參與第57 屆威尼斯雙年展後舉行的後續展覽;楊嘉輝為威尼斯雙年展創作了一系列全新作品,重新審視曾經風行一時為善舉而灌錄「賑災單曲」的現象。自八十年代初以來,賑災單曲一直被用來為世界各地天災、饑荒、紀念活動、醫療和社會福利籌集善款。賑災歌曲本身自成一種音樂類型,典型特色是勵志激昂,充滿振奮人心的積極信息。一眾名人的參與成為播放率的保證,令這些歌曲登上流行歌曲排行榜的榜首,並帶來商業上的成功。

八十年代賑災單曲的成功是一個全球性現象,在我們的腦海中留下深刻印象。2014 年,Bob Geldof聯同多位歌手重新灌錄八十年代慈善名曲《Do They Know It’s Christmas?》,為西非各國對抗伊波拉疫情籌款。身為音樂人和作曲家,楊嘉輝並不認同這種重新灌錄慈善金曲的做法,它聽起來與三十年前的舊作如出一轍,音樂錄像中的激昂演出,也令人想起原有版本。整件事予他一種強烈的「不合時宜」、「過時」的感覺,促使他開始探索製作賑災歌曲所衍生之問題及概念。他為威尼斯雙年展創作了一系列意涵豐富的作品,並在這次香港的展覽加入新的元素,為觀眾提供更詳盡的背景脈絡,營造更全面的體驗。

這個展覽猶如一張在空間中展開的音樂專輯。相連的房間中展出不同類型的作品,各具特色。楊嘉輝刻意重構經典賑災單曲《Do They Know It’s Christmas?》(1984年)、  《We Are the World》(1985 年)以及廣東話版的《Bridge Over Troubled Water》(1991 年),透過舊曲新用和創意誤讀,創作出一系列物件、表演和聲音裝置,組成一種獨特的視聽體驗。

由展館首兩個房間組成的《Palazzo Gundane (homage to the myth-maker who fell to earth)》,是一件錄像和聲音裝置作品,其出發點源於藝術家在網上發現的一則假新聞,有關一位名為 Boomtown Gundane 的南非音樂家創作了一首慈善單曲《Yes We Do》回應《Do They Know It’s Christmas?》的故事。這項充滿諷刺意味的音樂行動本可為發展中國家發出期待已久的聲音,質疑西方國家熱心慈善的形象。楊嘉輝決意將錯就錯,令傳說成真,創作這首歌並重現傳說中的世界巡迴演唱會。在楊嘉輝重塑的這個虛構故事裏, Boomtown Gundane 是在石油小鎮當礦工維生的音樂人,熱愛爵士樂和聖誕歌曲,並且是二十世紀初荷李活西部電影中最經典的牛仔明星 Tom Mix的忠實影迷。

踏入為往後的內容作鋪墊的前廳,迎面而來是一尊陳列於玻璃櫥櫃內的巨大雕像。它是一件「數碼拼貼」的作品,由各種截然不同的元素構成,包括翅膀快要融化在地上的展翅勝利女神、畢達哥拉斯和列根的半身像,以及軍號與太空站的混合體。這尊狀如獎盃的巨大雕塑,是 Boomtown  Gundane 那首不曾存在的歌曲的視覺宣傳品。這個為展覽拉開序幕的奇怪組合,結合各種圍繞慈善單曲這個主題但乍看之下互不相干的來源和概念,反映出藝術家研究之廣泛。八十年代是賑災單曲盛極一時的年代,列根正是當時推動市場主導型社會和倡導私有化及放寬管制(現稱「新自由主義」)的主要政治領袖。畢達哥拉斯則是用來指涉無聲源的聲音,即只聞其聲而不見聲源;據說畢達哥拉斯躲在布簾後面授課,用意是要學生專心聆聽。楊嘉輝通過混合各種物件、聲音、錄像、虛構的敘事和個人自身的經歷,塑造出假新聞主角 Boomtown Gundane 的具體形象。在隔壁圍着布簾的房間內放映的虛幻音樂錄像,攝於鄰近美加邊境曾經繁榮一時的北達科他州石油小鎮威利斯頓;房間內精心佈置的家具擺設,展現出這位虛構人物的生平和喜好。與此同時,一台電視機正在播放一部取材自《Do They Know It’s Christmas?》原作唱片封套的動畫,片中一名男孩和一名女孩,在沒有觀眾的情況下,漫無目的地不停跳舞,甚至嘗試表演魔法。然而,不管他們多麼努力,一切都是徒勞無功,彷彿就是他們抱負落空的寫照。

下一道門廊帶引觀眾進入藝術家挪用另一首經典慈善歌曲的創作。在這件名為《We Are the World, as performed by the Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions Choir》的作品裏,工聯會群聲合唱團以「消音」方式演唱 Michael Jackson 和Lionel Richie 的名曲《We Are the World》。「 消音表演」要求表演者竭力壓抑「發聲」的部分,而所付出的精力與普通表演毫無二致,以便突出隱藏在底層的聲音。楊嘉輝特別挑選工聯會群聲合唱團重新演繹這首名曲。雖然此舉本身帶有顛覆意味,但鑑於工聯會的歷史,這首歌曲特殊的音質反而予人一份溫柔細膩的感覺。 

穿過毗鄰的玻璃門,我們便會進入一間錄音室,裏面有兩件作品。《Lullaby (World Music)》是錄像作品,藝術家的演繹是取材自香港人觀看慈善籌款電視節目時致電捐款這悠久的傳統。每當收到來電捐款,電視螢幕下方便會飛快地滾動播放出捐款人的姓名和捐款金額。對香港人來說,為響應 1991年華東水災賑災而改編自 Simon & Garfunkel 作品《Bridge Over Troubled Water》的《滔滔千里心》,是本地極具代表性的慈善歌曲。此錄像攝於中港水域交界,藝術家背對鏡頭,凝望遠方的燈塔,憑歌寄意,表達兩地既遠且近的緊張關係。昔日中國的天災每每喚起香港人同舟共濟的精神,這首歌可算是對一個逝去年代的總結。

在離開這個空間之前,我們會看見一座自動演奏的鋼琴《Carillon》,與前一個房間裏的合唱團消音表演遙相呼應。引人注目的是鋼琴自動演奏的動作,以及從行動過渡到聲音的能量變化。

位於中庭的霓虹燈裝置《Risers》上的字句「世界是你們的,也是我們的,但是歸根結底是你們的」出自毛澤東的著名講話。有別於室內的作品為觀眾提供的聆聽體驗,這件「無聲而有言」的作品特意為觀眾提供歇息的空間,暫別聲音的感覺,但卻再次提醒我們初衷和最終結果之間的落差。它邀請觀眾思考和重新發現過去與當下的連繫,以及對未來的抱負。

「楊嘉輝的賑災專輯 世界巡迴演」的創作起點始於藝術家的好奇心,試圖透過創作去深入了解那些看似有誤、令他感到困擾的事情。楊嘉輝的創作經過嚴謹詳盡的研究,他對課題的重新詮釋,促使我們思索、重新想像和審視我們的過去及現在的生活方式。它所呈現的也許只是拼圖的一角,未必可以達致任何結果或結論。我們希望觀者能因此而受到啟發,展開研究之旅去尋覓自己的拼圖中缺失的板塊。

郭瑛
客席策展人 

下載