ACE will include the first exhibition centre set in a vibrant downtown art district, a hotel and rental offices together with embedded retail/dining/entertainment facilities

ACE at West Kowloon Cultural District will include the first exhibition centre set in a vibrant downtown art district, a hotel and rental offices together with embedded retail/dining/entertainment (RDE) facilities.  The exhibition centre will provide 47,045m² of art, commerce and exhibition space.  It serves to respond to a growing demand for space to accommodate the type of art fairs, exhibitions and conventions that are known to be seeking to expand in Hong Kong. Adjacent to the exhibition centre is a U-shaped site for 81,066m² of hotel and rental offices as well as 6,894m² of embedded RDE facilities. 

Proposed parameters of ACE

 

Use

Maximum Gross Floor Area (GFA)

(m²)

Maximum Building Height

(mPD)

Exhibition Centre

47,045

+50

Hotel/office

81,066

+57.5 / +100

Retail/dining/entertainment

6,894

Total

135,005

 

ACE – Commerce Enabled by Art

According to the Demand Study for New Convention and Exhibition Facilities in Hong Kong conducted by AMR International in 2015, the city needs an additional 132,000m² of convention and exhibition space to capture all unmet demand during the high season by 2028. The Hong Kong Exhibition and Convention Industry Association revealed that 56 international event applications were turned down in 2013 due to a shortage of space.

Despite that, the commercial art market in Hong Kong is growing faster than ever. As a result of the Government’s commitment to develop the creative industries, and following on from the success of Art Basel in Hong Kong, international galleries are lining up to set up their first Asian outposts. In response to the blooming art scene and rising demand for space for combining art activities with business matching events, ACE is designed to provide a medium sized, multi-purpose venue for exhibition, convention and performance purposes.

In addition, the multi-purpose venue allows flexible configurations to serve different needs. With a seating capacity of around 10,000 persons in concert mode, column-free and at least NC35 acoustic standard, it will also be suitable for staging various types of performances.

Development Model

ACE has packaged the exhibition centre with the hotel and rental offices as well as the embedded retail/dining/entertainment facilities in the adjacent U-shaped site in the BOT development to capture the synergy in design, construction and management. Private sector investors/ partners will be invited to tender for the right to construct and operate the facilities in the ACE package during the BOT period.  Unlike other BOT development packages under the arrangement, ACE will not be required to provide an upfront payment to the Government.

Tentative Development Programme for ACE

Milestone

Programme

Invitation for Expression of Interest and Prequalification

Q2 2019 – Q3 2019

BOT development tender issuance

2nd Half 2019

Tender award

Mid 2020

Commencement of construction

End 2020

Completion

2024 / 2025

西九文化區的ACE,擁有首個在充滿活力的市中心藝術區內設立的展覽中心,還有酒店和出租辦公室,連同當中的零售/餐飲/消閒設施。

西九文化區的ACE,擁有首個在充滿活力的市中心藝術區內設立的展覽中心,還有酒店和出租辦公室,連同當中的零售/餐飲/消閒設施。展覽中心將提供約47,045平方米的藝術、商業和展覽空間,以回應許多正欲擴充規模的藝術博覽會、展覽和會議的場地需要。展覽中心毗鄰一幅U形用地,可建成81,066平方米的酒店和出租辦公室,另提供約6,894平方米的零售/餐飲/消閒設施。

ACE的擬議發展參數

用途

最大

總樓面面積

(平方米)

最高

建築物高度

(主水平基準)

展覽中心

47,045

+50

酒店/辦公室

81,066

+57.5 / +100

零售/餐飲/消閒

6,894

總計

135,005

 

ACE – 藝術創發商業

根據AMR International於2015年進行的「香港新會議及展覽設施需求研究」,本港到2028年需要額外132,000平方米的會議和展覽空間,方能滿足旺季的所有場地需求。香港展覽會議業協會透露,業界於2013年已因場地不足而推掉了56宗國際活動租用申請。

縱使面對場地短缺,香港商業藝術市場的發展卻方興未艾。由於政府致力發展創意行業,加上巴塞爾藝術展香港展會效應的成功帶動下,國際畫廊紛紛落戶香港,設立其亞洲首個據點。為回應藝壇的蓬勃發展,以及藝術與商業結合的活動對相關空間的殷切需求,ACE擬提供一個能涵蓋展覽、會議和表演等不同活動的中型多用途場地。

此外,多用途場地容許靈活配置以滿足不同的需求。該場地在演唱會模式下可配置約 10,000 個座位、無柱及最少達到NC35音效標準,將適合舉辦不同類型的表演活動。

發展模式

ACE將展覽中心與毗鄰 U 形用地上的酒店和出租辦公室,連同當中的零售/餐飲/ 消閒設施納入「建造、營運及移交」發展組合,在設計、建造和管理上可產生協同效應。私營機構投資者/合作伙伴將獲邀競投於「建造、營運及移交」協議期間,建造和營運ACE組合內設施的權利。與安排下的其他「建造、營運及移交」發展組合不同,管理局無需就ACE組合向政府支付前期款項。

ACE暫定發展計劃

里程碑

計劃

招收發展意向書及資格預審

2019年第二至第三季

就「建造、營運及移交」發展進行招標

2020年第一季

判標

2020年第三季

開展工程

2021年年初

工程竣工

2025年/2026年