On 29 June 2017, a Collaborative Agreement was signed by the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority and the Palace Museum on the development of the Hong Kong Palace Museum (HKPM).  The HKPM will display artefacts of Chinese art and culture from the imperial collection of the Palace Museum.  In addition, it will provide a valuable opportunity for collaboration with other museums in research and education, thereby strengthening Hong Kong’s position as a leading cultural metropolis.

As an important art and cultural facility that will be integral to the District, the Hong Kong Palace Museum will be operated and managed solely by the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority. The project has been made possible thanks to a generous donation from the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust.

The museum will have 7,600 square metres of gallery space dedicated to gold, bronze and jade items, paintings, and ceramic objects, as well as displays on life in the Imperial Court which will greatly enrich the District's visitor offering. Other museum facilities include a 400-seat lecture theatre, activity rooms, a restaurant and shop.

Based around a contemporary interpretation of classic Chinese visual and spatial aesthetics, the museum design builds on a concept of linked courtyards translated into a vertical series of atriums that draw the visitor upwards. Located adjacent to the Art Park and facing Victoria Harbour, the Hong Kong Palace Museum will provide a distinctive cultural bookend to the District at its western end that echoes the Xiqu Centre, with its focus on traditional Chinese theatre, at its easternmost point.

Design Consultant: Rocco Design Architects

2017年6月29日,西九文化區管理局與故宮博物院就興建香港故宮文化博物館簽訂合作協議。香港故宮文化博物館將展示來自故宮博物院的中華文化藝術宮廷藏品,並將提供與其他博物館在研究和教育方面合作的寶貴機遇,從而鞏固香港作為文化大都會的領先地位。

香港故宮文化博物館將會由西九文化區管理局自行營運和管理,並成為文化區重要的文化藝術設施。香港故宮文化博物館得以落實,有賴香港賽馬會慈善信託基金的慷慨捐助。

博物館將有7,600平方米的展廳,用於展出金器、銅器、玉器、書畫、陶瓷,以及有關宮廷生活的文物,讓文化區的訪客獲得更豐富的文化體驗。其他博物館設施包括一個400個座位的演講廳、活動室丶餐廳和商店。

博物館的設計將中國傳統的視覺與空間美學以現代手法重新詮釋,庭院相連的概念化為縱向一層又一層的中庭 ,引領訪客向上參觀 。博物館鄰近藝術公園 ,在文化區西邊入口 ,面向維多利亞港,更與位處東邊入口、同樣以中國傳統文化為本的戲曲中心遙相呼應。

設計顧問:許李嚴建築師事務所