13 January (Sunday) Programme Rundown

15:00-15:30

Workshop 1

17:15-18:00

Workshop 2 and Performance by The Condors Dance Company

Programme Description
The first WE Dance session of 2019 promises lots of fun and surprises with the zany all-male Condors Dance Company from Japan and a lively new take on the traditional Bon-odori circle dance!

Traditionally Bon-odori is performed in summer during Obon – the Japanese Hungry Ghost festival – to welcome the spirits of the ancestors. This contemporary version, presented by the Condors and created by troupe leader Ryohei Kondo, is perfect for any time of the year! Combining traditional folk dance gestures with easy everyday movements, the new Bon-odori transforms a formal solo dance into a quirky partner dance.

To find out just how much fun it can be, come along to our free workshops and let the “Shar Squad” – our energetic local partners who learnt the dance with the Condors – show you the moves. The Condors Dance Company will also be on site to present an exciting new contemporary performance!

Free admission. No registration required.

About The Condors Dance Company
The all-male dancers of the Condors troupe come in all shapes and sizes. Known for their zany mix of traditional moves, comedy sketches, retro rock music and storytelling, they perform a unique style of exuberant high-energy dance. Besides being dancers, the troupe members all lead creative professional lives as university lecturers, bar owners, martial arts masters, musicians and more, giving a quirky edge to their contemporary dance and performance. Since 1996, the Condors have performed regularly to sold-out houses and much critical acclaim, not only in Japan but also across the globe.

About Unlock Dancing Plaza
Founded in 2002, Unlock Dancing Plaza is a modern dance company devoted to liberating dance from the constraints of the stage and offering dancers and audiences new ways to appreciate and experience movement. With the “Unlock Body Lab” the company explores dance through the lens of the body, and the organic combination of body movement and self-consciousness. Unlock’s work has manifested in text, video, Body-in-Progress works, as well as creative dance education in schools and communities. Recent productions include Phoenix III – Read the World with Your Heart, Wanderer and Boy Story. The work Reborn was recognised with the Hong Kong Dance Award in 2009, 2015 and 2016.

About CUHK Modern Dance Society
Established to promote dance culture among students, CUHK Modern Dance Society is a student-run platform that organises workshops, performances and competitions with a focus on street dance and modern dance. Believing that dance is a unique channel for communication, they hope to connect young people through the activities they host. The society has received awards from Intra-Vasity Dance Competition and Joint University Battle Session.

About WAO!Singers
Formed in 2014, the community-based choir WAO!Singers is passionate about music and the society. With the goal of nurturing artistic talent and inspiring creativity, the group connects with local communities through flash mob events and performances in schools, shopping malls, and other public venues. WAO!Singers also provides a platform to help youngsters develop their interest in the performing arts. Bringing together people of all backgrounds and creating harmony through music, the team promotes unity, care and mutual help within the community.

Collaborating Partners:

Unlock Unlock
CUds We are one

Other events

1月13日(星期日)節目表

15:00-15:30

工作坊(一)

17:15-18:00

工作坊(二)及「東京鷹」演出

節目簡介
WE Dance 誠意邀請你學習新式日本盆踊舞,一同慶祝2019年到來。

盆踊舞源於日本盂蘭盆節,是夏日的重要節慶。祭典上,群眾以盆踊舞歌頌生命,感謝祖先。近藤良平帶領的「東京鷹」有感這個傳統日漸式微,為盆踊舞加入互動元素和日常動作,連結傳統與現在。

「東京鷹」除了會與充滿活力的本地夥伴(簡稱為「Shar Squad」)教授新式盆踊舞外,還會為大家帶來同樣以日常生活為靈感的當代舞作品。

免費入場,無需登記,歡迎即場參與。

有關東京鷹
一身高校生裝扮的全男班當代舞團東京鷹,以奇特多變的強烈風格獨樹舞壇,成員燕瘦環肥各具特色,顛覆觀眾對舞者身材的刻板印象。在舞台上他們熱力四射;在生活中,他們在大學教書、開酒館道館、玩樂隊、寫小說、教瑜伽。自1996年起,他們將形體、電影、動畫和戲劇元素融入舞蹈演出,強調每位舞者的特性,深受年輕觀眾歡迎,創下表演門票開賣後十四分鐘售罄的驕人紀錄。他們不只紅遍日本,足跡更遍及美洲、歐洲、亞洲三十多個國家。

有關不加鎖舞踊館
不加鎖舞踊館成立於2002年,為香港風格獨特的現代舞團。舞團積極與不同媒介藝術家合作,透過互動創作,解放舞台的束縛,為觀眾開闢嶄新的現代舞欣賞體驗。
舞團同時積極以 Unlock Body Lab開展一系列舞蹈和身體密切關係的硏習,探索身體外顯的展現方式與內在的有機結合,並將硏習的成果以文字、錄像、示範演出及舞蹈教學推廣到學校和社區。舞團近年作品《用心看世界--火鳥延續篇》、《游弋蒼穹》及《男生‧男再生》分別榮獲2009、2015及2016年香港舞蹈年獎。

有關香港中文大學現代舞學會
香港中文大學現代舞學會由中文大學學生籌辦和管理,致力宣揚舞蹈文化,為學生提供接觸及欣賞舞蹈的機會。學會以推動街舞及現代舞文化為主軸,為學生提供不同類別的舞蹈課程、表演平台及比賽,活躍於校內及大專聯校舞蹈界,深信舞蹈能夠成為表達自己的語言,拉近人與人之間的關係。學會曾於全港大專聯校舞蹈邀請賽(Intra-Vasity Dance Competition)及Joint University Battle Session獲取多個獎項。

有關 WAO!Singers
WAO!Singers成立於2014年,打破傳統社區合唱團的固有模式,走進社區嘗試不同的街頭互動及快閃表演,帶來新的音樂氣象。 WAO!Singers 致力為年青人提供平台,分享表演藝術的樂趣,鼓勵他們通過音樂打破人與人之間的隔閡 ,將不同年齡和階層的人凝聚起來,並以藝術無限的空間 ,在有限的環境下創造共融、和諧和獨特的聲音,宣揚關愛、互助和團結的訊息,為社區注入正能量。WAO!Singers活躍於不同的社區表演,也曾受邀與不同團體或藝術家合作,推廣社區藝術。

合作夥伴:

Unlock Unlock
CUds We are one

相關活動