“What Is Stage: Dynamics of Seeing”– Workshop on Jan Versweyveld’s Aesthetic of Scenography

The highlight of the “What Is Stage” series is a four-day workshop with renowned scenographer Jan Versweyveld, the Head of Design & Photography at Toneelgroep Amsterdam.  From 3 to 6 September, participants can exchange ideas, discuss the works and explore the possibilities of space and time design with Jan Versweyveld exclusively.

To ensure an in-depth level of discussion, participants should have extensive knowledge of Versweyveld’s work. Interested applicants are required to attend a minimum number of Screening and Discussion as below. Twenty-five participants will be selected by the West Kowloon Culture District and Edward Lam Dance Theatre.

Required Screening and Discussion attendance:

  • At least two screenings/discussions from Session 1, as well as
  • At least two screenings/discussions from Session 2, and
  • At least two screenings/discussions from Session 3

Workshop participants are strongly encouraged to attend all screenings if possible. Due to copyright arrangements, no other viewings will be provided.

Date:
3-6 September 2017 (Sunday to Wednesday)

Time:
2:00pm – 6:00pm

Venue:
Studio Theatre, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (1 Gloucester Rd, Wan Chai)

Speaker:
Jan Versweyveld

More speakers to be announced

Moderator:
Low Kee Hong (Head of Theatre, Performing Arts, West Kowloon)

Co-moderator:

Edward Lam

Language:
Conducted in English

Number of Participants:
25

Registration:
Details will be announced at Screening and Discussion

Enquiries:
Ms Lam: (852) 2200 0804, pa1@wkcda.hk

The organiser reserves the right to change the programme content and speaker. All changes will be announced on the website.

Oversea participants must shoulder their own travel and accommodation expenses.

Inclement Weather Arrangement:

If a black rainstorm warning or a typhoon signal no.8 or above is still in force 3 hours before the event starts, the workshop will be cancelled and postponed to the following day. For enquiries, please contact Ms Lam (9am - 6pm) at 2200 0804.

About the Speaker

Jan Versweyveld

Scenographer and lighting designer Jan Versweyveld trained at the Sint-Lucas Institute in Brussels and at the Royal Academy in Antwerp. In 1990, he became the regular scenographer of the Zuidelijk Toneel theatre group, and in 2001 he joined Toneelgroep Amsterdam as head of scenography and regular designer and photographer. He has worked on numerous productions including dance and opera.

Awards include the Bessie Award in New York for his scenography for Drumming Live, the Obie Award for Hedda Gabler, and the Prosceniumprijs and the Amsterdam Prize for Art for collaborations with Ivo van Hove. His scenography for Scenes from a Marriage at the New Theatre Workshop was recognised with the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Scenic Design. He won the Knight of Illumination 2016 Award for his lighting design of Song from Far Away

Jan has been a guest lecturer at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam and is one of the co-founders of the scenography training programme in Antwerp.

About the Moderator

Low Kee Hong (Hong Kong)
Head of Theatre, Performing Arts, WKCDA



Low Kee Hong is the Head of Theatre of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority. He is responsible for formulating the district’s artistic direction and strategies for Drama and Theatre Arts.

In this role, Kee Hong has overseen the launch and co-presentation of several projects, including the outdoor arts event series “Freespace Happening” and the world-wide exchange programme “International Workshop Festival of Theatre” – projects that have stimulated new discussion and discourse around contemporary modes of creation.

Before joining West Kowloon, Kee Hong was the Artistic Director and General Manager of the Singapore Arts Festival from 2009 to 2012. During that time, one of his key initiatives was the launch of “com.mune”, a year-long education and outreach programme designed to sustain the festival’s engagement with the public beyond individual shows. Kee Hong was also General Manager of the Singapore Biennale.

About the Co-moderator

Edward Lam



Artistic Director and Theatre Director of Edward Lam Dance Theatre. He founded Zuni Icosahedron with friends in the early 1980s, and established Edward Lam Dance Theatre during his residence in London (1989 to 1995). Since returning to Hong Kong in 1995, he has devoted himself to theatre and directed 57 original works. His most recent work, Finding Loveless Land, premiered in Hong Kong in 2017. Lam was awarded the Best Director in Modern Drama Valley’s One Drama Award in 2010 for his work Men and Women, War and Peace, and in 2012 for The Doppelgänger.

Recent books include Leading Ladies of the Mandarin Cinema (2014), and his first book on directing, Who is Afraid of Edward Lam, published by Performing Arts Review in Taiwan in 2016.

「什麼是舞台:空間會說話」恩.瓦斯維費爾德(Jan Versweyveld)藝術家工作坊

「什麼是舞台」系列的重點活動。西九文化區邀請了恩.瓦斯維費爾德舉行藝術家工作坊,一連四天的工作坊將於9月3至6日舉行。參加者將與他互動交流、討論其舞台作品及劇場空間的可能。

為了令參加者對恩.瓦斯維費爾德的作品有一定程度的了解和看法,並更能與他深入討論及透過不同切入點了解他的創作意念,觸發想像。有意參加藝術家工作坊的申請者,除了必需參加演出放映及討論,並要達到以下最低出席率以進入「藝術家工作坊」的遴選。是次活動策劃單位西九文化區及非常林奕華會挑選出25名參加者。

  • 至少觀看並參與了組別一兩部作品的放映及討論
  • 至少觀看並參與了組別二兩部作品的放映及討論
  • 至少觀看並參與了組別三兩部作品的放映及討論

(由於機會難得,主辦單位鼓勵參加者盡量參與所有放映活動。礙於版權等因素,將不會安排任何其他形式的借閱。)

日期:
2017年9月3日至6日(星期日至星期三)

時間:
下午2時至6時

地點:
香港演藝學院實驗劇場(灣仔告士打道1號)

講者:
恩.瓦斯維費爾德

其他講者待定

主持:
劉祺豐(西九文化區管理局表演藝術主管(戲劇))

聯合主持:

林奕華

語言:
英語

人數:
25

報名:
詳請將於演出放映及討論時公佈。

查詢︰
林小姐 (852) 2200-0804, pa1@wkcda.hk

主辦單位保留修改或變更內容及講者之權利,各項變更將於網站公佈。

海外參加者需負擔有關行程機票及住宿開支。

惡劣天氣安排:

若黑色暴雨警告、八號或以上烈風信號於活動前三小時仍然生效,活動將會順延一天。如有查詢,請於上午9時至下午6時內致電:2200 0804 (林小姐)。


關於講者

恩.瓦斯維費爾德 (Jan Versweyveld)

恩.瓦斯維費爾德是一位舞台美學家和燈光設計師。曾在布魯塞爾的Sint-Lucas Institute和安特衛普皇家藝術院受訓。在1990年,他經常為Zuidelijk Toneel theatre group擔當舞台美學指導,而在2001年,他更成為阿姆斯特丹劇團 (Toneelgroep Amsterdam) 的舞台美學總監,以及設計師和攝影師。他亦參與過許多作品,當中包括舞蹈和歌劇的製作。

恩獲獎無數,包括作品Drumming Live的舞台美學贏得紐約舞蹈與表演藝術獎、海達.珈珼珞 (Hedda Gabler) 獲得外百老匯奧比獎,以及連同伊沃.凡.霍夫 (Ivo van Hove) 合得荷蘭舞台大獎 (Prosceniumprijs) 及阿姆斯特丹藝術獎(Amsterdam Award for the Arts)。他為New Theatre Workshop的Scenes from a Marriage作的舞台美學指導,更贏得露西爾羅特爾獎(Lucille Lortel Award) 的最佳佈景設計獎,而他為Song from Far Away的燈光設計,獲得2016年的英國劇場投影設計大獎 (Knight of Illumination 2016 Award)。

恩是阿姆斯特丹的Gerrit Rietveld Academy的客席講師,亦是安特衛普舞台美學訓練項目的創辦人之一。

關於講者

劉祺豐(香港)
西九文化區管理局表演藝術主管(戲劇)



劉祺豐現為西九文化區管理局表演藝術主管(戲劇),負責制定文化區戲劇發展的藝術方向及具體策略。

在他的帶領下,團隊推出一系列觀眾拓展及人才培育項目,包括戶外藝術節目「自由約」及國際交流計劃「國際劇場工作坊節」等,引發討論,刺激創作,開拓表演藝術全新領域。

劉祺豐曾於2009至2012年間出任新加坡藝術節藝術總監及總經理,期間引入為期一年的教育及外展項目「com.mune」,鼓勵公眾參與演出以外其他活動,他亦曾任新加坡雙年展總經理。

關於聯合主持

林奕華 




「非常林奕華」藝術總監,劇場導演。80年代初與友人組成前衛劇團 「進念.二十面體」。1989至1995年旅居倫敦,期間成立「非常林奕華舞蹈劇場」。1995年回港後致力推動舞台創作,編導已達57齣原創作品。2010年與2012年各憑《男人與女人之戰爭與和平》與《紅娘的異想世界之在西廂》獲上海現代戲劇谷「壹戲劇大賞」年度最佳導演獎。近年著作包含2014年《是銀幕不是螢幕,是放映不是播映—當女性明星還是大女明星》。2016年台灣PAR表演藝術雜誌社為林氏出版第一本導演學《Who Is Afraid of 林奕華》。2017年最新舞台力作為《機場無真愛》。