As the first architecture exhibition organised by M+, Hong Kong's new museum for visual culture in West Kowloon Cultural District, this landmark exhibition showcases the winning design by Herzog & de Meuron, with TFP Farrells and Ove Arup & Partners HK, alongside the first acquisitions and donations to the M+ architecture collection.

About the M+ Building

Starting with an overview of the processes by which the design was selected by an international jury—including a presentation of the other shortlisted design proposals — the exhibition will reveal the ongoing development of the 60,000 square-metre M+ building as it progresses towards its scheduled completion in late 2017.

An installation organized in collaboration with Herzog & de Meuron will feature models, diagrams, renderings and projections that highlight the project’s core features. These include a two-level entrance zone from the Park, the waterfront and new Artist Square that incorporates a Learning Centre, an area dedicated to moving image, and a café; a dramatic “found space” at the lower level above the existing Airport Express tunnels that will anchor the building while affording unique opportunities for large-scale installations; a horizontal podium providing a diverse array of exhibition and display spaces around a central plaza which include a space dedicated to contemporary ink art, topped by a large public roof terrace. Rising above the centre of the podium is a slender vertical ”tower” where a research centre and offices are located on the lower levels, with a sky garden floor above and restaurants offering views out over Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island.

A newly-produced video and other materials will lend additional insight into the architects’ design process, the M+ building, and the many ways in which it will engage and contribute to Hong Kong’s cultural and urban landscape.

About the Collection

In its first 10 months of collecting architecture, M+ has acquired, or is currently in the process of acquiring, nearly 1,000 architectural models, drawings, photographs, installations, videos and other materials that help document, uncover and interpret the 20th and 21st century global narratives of architecture from the perspectives of Hong Kong, China and Asia. The selection of works previewed in “Building M+” describe the museum’s initial emphasis on architecture from post-World War II Hong Kong and contemporary China, but also including materials from other times and places.

Concurrently, the exhibition will also present the inaugural showcase of the museum’s growing architecture collection—the first of its kind in Asia, presenting over 100 works and materials, many previously unseen, by more than 35 architects, firms and artists from Hong Kong, China, Asia and beyond, dating from the 1920s until now. Together, they provide a snapshot of the museum’s groundbreaking approach to collecting, understanding, and thinking about architecture.

A large number of the works have been generously donated by leading architects and designers from Hong Kong and China, representing the strong backing the museum holds within the community.

Represented in the show will be important Hong Kong architects including Chung Wah Nan, Tao Ho, Eric Lye Kum-chew, Jackson Wong Chack-sang and Rocco Yim; mainland Chinese architects and firms Atelier FCJZ (Yungho Chang), Ai Weiwei, Jiakun Architects (Liu Jiakun), MAD (Ma Yansong, Dang Qun, Yosuke Hayano), O.P.E.N. Architecture (Li Hu and Huang Wenjing), Urbanus and Studio Pei-Zhu; as well as architects ranging from Frank Lloyd Wright and Paul Rudolph to Steven Holl, Bernard Tschumi,and Office for Metropolitan Architecture (Rem Koolhaas and Elia Zenghelis).

In keeping with M+’s multidisciplinary nature, these will be joined by resonant works from the museum’s visual art holdings, including pieces by Cao Fei, Andreas Gursky, Aernout Mik, Stanley Wong aka anothermountainman and MAP Office.

「構。建M+:博物館設計方案及建築藏品」是香港視覺文化博物館M+的第一個建築展,透過今次展覽,公眾可細賞由世界知名的瑞士建築師事務所Herzog & de Meuron聯同香港TFP Farrells香港奧雅納工程顧問公司的設計,以及預覽亞洲地區首個建築藏品系列──M+一直增建中的建築藏品之選粹。

關於M+大樓

展覽將回顧國際評審團對M+大樓設計方案的評選過程,包括簡要介紹其他入圍設計方案,並進一步揭示60,000平方米的M+大樓怎樣逐步發展完善,直至預計在2017年年底完工。

是次展覽由M+及Herzog & de Meuron聯合策劃,將採用模型、圖解、效果圖和投影的方式,呈現M+大樓的亮點,其中包括毗連公園和海濱,以及藝術廣場的地面公共入口處,樓高兩層,並附設教育設施、一個專門展示影像藏品的展區及咖啡館;一個引人注目、位於現有機場快綫隧道上方的「found space」展區,這將是M+大樓的地下展區,可放置大型藝術裝置展品,提供獨特的展覽體驗。此外,館內還有一個提供多樣化展覽空間的展廳,其中包括展示當代水墨藝術的專區和一個可直通所有展區的中央廣場。博物館還有一個大型的屋頂平台。位處平台的豎向「板樓」,低層將有研究中心和辦公室,並有一個空中花園,還有可坐擁維多利亞港和港島美景的餐廳。

通過最新製作的錄像和其他資料,觀眾可以更瞭解建築師的設計過程和M+大樓的構造,以及這個建築將如何融入並豐富香港的文化和城市景觀。

關於M+建築藏品

M+著手開始收藏建築藝術品的首10個月,已購置或正在購置的藏品數百件,包括建築模型、圖紙、照片、裝置、錄像和其他材料,這些藏品幫助保存、揭示並解讀20世紀和21世紀香港、中國及亞洲的全球建築藝術視野。「構。建M+」的展品選擇體現了博物館對二戰後香港和當代中國建築藝術的重視,但也涵蓋了其他時代、其他地區的展品。

同時,是次展覽將展示亞洲地區首個建築藏品系列──M+建築藏品,挑選出共100多件作品,其中很多是首次面世。這些展品來自香港、中國內地、亞洲及其他地區的35位建築師、事務所和藝術家,貫穿1920年代至今的建築歷史。通過這些展品,觀眾可以體會M+如何用突破傳統的方式來收藏、理解和思考建築。

M+很多建築藏品是由香港及中國內地的知名建築師和設計師慷慨捐贈,彰顯了M+博物館在建築藝術界的號召力。

是次的參展作品來自多名舉足輕重的香港建築師,包括華楠、何弢、黎錦超、王澤生嚴迅奇;中國內地建築師/藝術家和事務所包括非常建築(張永和)、艾未未、家琨建築設計事務所(劉家琨)、MAD(馬岩松、黨群、早野洋介)、OPEN建築事務所(李虎和黃文菁)、都市實踐朱錇建築事務所;此外還有著名的國際建築師包括Frank Lloyd WrightPaul RudolphSteven HollBernard Tschumi,以及Office for Metropolitan Architecture (Rem Koolhaas Elia Zenghelis)

為了體現M+的「跨界」特質,除了上述建築作品之外,本展覽還將展出一些異曲同工的視覺藝術藏品,包括曹斐、Andreas Gursky、Aernout Mik黃炳培(又名「又一山人」) MAP Office 的作品。