Whether you are into music, dance, crafts, books or pets we can all agree that this is the perfect time of year to enjoy whatever you love outdoors. So come join us for Freespace Happening in November – as always it will be a blast!

On stage, in partnership with Kwang Hwa Information and Culture Center as part of Taiwan Arts Festival, we present Constant & Change and shallow levée with their blend of post-rock, emo and Taiwanese folk. There’s also local jazz from the Patrick Lui Jazz Orchestra, and hard rock meets classical from indie band Cow Head. Plus, Connect, a band founded by young musicians with visual impairments, join us to wow you with their musical talents. We also have Solar Sound System returning with a new DJ line-up and music powered entirely by solar energy and the pedal power of guests on bikes!

The Hong Kong Bird Watching Society presents two fun events that tell the story of the black-faced spoonbill, a local migratory bird now heading south for winter. You can also visit the House of Hong Kong Literature’s popular literary fortune-telling booth, borrow a book at the “Reading on the Grass” book crossing, or get your own “Literature Gachapon” capsule toy inspired by our poem of the season.

Through the afternoon, WE Dance presents lively workshops and showcases of the traditional Malaysian dance Zapin, with professional dancers from Malaysia guiding you through some easy-to-learn steps.

Dog lovers can enjoy a relaxed picnic date with a special dog at the “11.11 Doggie Speed Dating” and learn from volunteers and staff from the Society for Abandoned Animals about the best way to approach unfamiliar dogs. You can also bring your pet along to the booth and design a special 3D photo frame.

Around the park, you can browse our regular handicraft market and join our hands-on workshops. This month, our market partner, a nice place to presents “Natural Botanical Print Workshop” and “Hand-sewn Tissue Box Cover Workshop”. There are also arts workshops presented by Arts With the Disabled Association Hong Kong, where you can experience how people with disabilities enjoy the arts.

Before you come, don’t forget to download our updated Freespace Happening app which lets you check out what’s on at our handicraft market and listen to great music any time you want on the new Music Player!

Date

Time

Venue

11 November 2018 (Sunday)

2:00pm–7:15pm

West Kowloon Art Park

Free admission
Registration applicable to selected workshops

Upcoming Freespace Happening events
8–9 December 2018 (Saturday & Sunday)
13 January 2019 (Sunday)
10 February 2019 (Sunday)
9–10 March 2019 (Saturday & Sunday)

Freespace Happening is West Kowloon Cultural District’s regular free outdoor event. Between August 2015 and March 2018, Freespace Happening attracted over 170,000 visitors to West Kowloon.

Calling handicraft makers
Freespace Happening features a regular handicraft market where makers can showcase and sell their unique, original work. If you are interested in running your own stall at Freespace Happening, please fill in the application form here.

Want to perform at Freespace Happening or have ideas for collaborations?
Fill in this form and send it with the required attachments to freespacehappening@wkcda.hk.

Can’t wait for the next event?
Freespace Mixtape Vol. 1
, a recording featuring the creative results of the cross-genre musical collaborations initiated by Freespace Happening, is available for sale. Find out more here. To hear the bands talk about their experience, watch our short video interviews. Freespace Mixtape Vol. 2 is currently in the making – stay tuned for more information!

“Of Pastures Wild and Wide”, our new publication featuring works by 24 major Hong Kong writers inspired by the plants cultivated at West Kowloon, is now available in major bookstores around town. Produced in collaboration with The House of Hong Kong Literature, “Of Pastures Wild and Wide” is available in Chinese only.

And don’t forget, West Kowloon remains open all year round. Head over any time to relax on the grass with friends, family and pets, ride a bike, enjoy a picnic, watch sunsets or just lie back and look at the stars. See opening arrangements

Join our Facebook event page for updates as they're announced

JOIN FACEBOOK EVENT PAGE

Programme Partners

arts with the disabled association hong kong a nice place to go cup
hong kong bird watching society the house of hong kong literature society for abandoned animals limited
solar sound system

WE Dance Collaborating Partner:

ask dance company hong kong dance federation  

Supported by:

kwong hwa information and culture center taiwan arts festival  

 

See more

輕風吹拂,秋意漸濃。藝術公園草坪上,一起發掘音樂、舞蹈、文學、市集、寵物、人文與自然。

十一月「自由約」音樂舞台將與光華新聞文化中心的「台灣月」合作,邀來淺堤及康士坦的變化球兩隊台灣樂隊,讓你細聽台灣文藝聲音。同時展示本土的爵士、indie及band sound的力量,包括雷柏熹爵士大樂團、Cow Head等等。由多位視障音樂人組成的樂隊快樂小生,以音樂細談生命。「太陽能音響系統」以全新DJ組合回歸,讓你淺嚐以太陽能及單車動能發電,以腳踏「共創」音樂!

香港觀鳥會為「自由約」策劃兩個項目,帶你認識季候鳥的生態:「琵琵遷徙小故事」中的黑臉琵鷺邀請你加入和琵琵一同飛往南方過冬;「玩轉視覺:看遷徙鳥類的故事」則透過不同濾鏡觀察遷徙鳥類的故事。

香港文學館就在草地上辦「文學占卜」,邀請懂星座命理的作家為你透視未知。「草原圖書閣」與你一起漂書,當中更放置「文學扭蛋機」,可隨機抽出以季度詩為本創作而成的「文學扭蛋」,帶來充滿詩意的驚喜。

自由生活市集由好地方工作室策劃,本月主題為「現在和未來的事」,囊括本地製造的創意精品。同時亦帶來植物拓染工作坊及手縫布藝紙巾套工作坊,帶領大家發掘藝文綠色生活。香港展能藝術會更與展能藝術家合作,舉辦藝術工作坊,嘗試代入不同能力人士的角度欣賞藝術。

WE Dance繼續邀請大家在大草地上一同起舞。十一月邀來馬來西亞的舞者,帶領大家學習的馬來舞Zapin。他們還會示範將不同傳統舞蹈揉合其中的現代舞作品《Eclectic Shift》。

保護遺棄動物協會將帶來待領養狗隻,與你共進野餐,鼓勵以領養代替購買。同時歡迎大家攜同寵物自由約,親手為寵物創作3D相架。

記得下載全新「自由約」手機應用程式,一覽所有手作地攤詳情,以及開啟新增的音樂播放器功能,隨時隨地收聽多首好歌。

日期

時間

地點

2018年11月11日(星期日)

下午2時至晚上7時15分

西九藝術公園

免費入場
部份工作坊須預先登記

「自由約」活動預告:
2018年12月8至9日(星期六及星期日)
2019年1月13日(星期日)
2019年2月10日(星期日)
2019年3月9至10日(星期六及星期日)

「自由約」是西九文化區定期免費戶外節目,由2015年8月至2018年3月,已吸引超過170,000名觀眾參加。

如果你是手作愛好者:
每月「自由約」皆設「自由生活市集」,讓你親手造的創意作品展示人前。每次市集攤位將於舉辦日期前兩個月接受申請,如你有興趣成為檔主請按此

如你想於「自由約」舞台上演出或與我們合作:
請填妥此表格並將表格及所需附件電郵至freespacehappening@wkcda.hk

如果你已急不及待期盼「自由約」重臨:
過去「自由約」造就多個音樂單位攜手合作,帶來不少精彩演出,部分收錄於《Freespace Mixtape Vol. 1》音樂專輯,請按此回顧有關音樂短片。與此同時,製作團隊正密鑼緊鼓製作《Freespace Mixtape Vol. 2》,敬請密切留意發布日期。

座落於鬧市的西九文化區生態多樣,24位香港作家每人以一種區內植物為靈感,創作成新詩、散文、劇本等不同形式的文學作品,結集成新書《自由如綠》,現已於各大書店發售。《自由如綠》 由香港文學生活館主編,西九自由空間策劃及出版。

西九園區繼續天天開放,歡迎大家與親朋好友和寵物來草地野餐、賞日落、躺在草地上看繁星,或者索性什麼都不做。查看最新開放安排

更多節目詳情請瀏覽Facebook活動專頁

加入 FACEBOOK EVENT 專頁

項目夥伴:

香港展能藝術會 好地方工作室 走杯
香港觀鳥會 香港文學館 保護遺棄動物協會
太陽能音響系統

WE Dance 合作夥伴:

ask dance company  香港舞蹈總會  

支持單位:

光華新聞文化中心 台灣月  

 

查看更多

其他活動在自由約(2018-19)