Autumn is the best season for being outdoors. So, this November we are transforming the West Kowloon Nursery Park into an open-air cinema and presenting two inspiring films based on the lives of great musical talents. The Touch of Light (I), on 11 November, tells the story of how blind piano prodigy Huang Yu-siang from Taiwan overcame the odds to become a successful pianist. The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble, on 12 November, offers an intimate glimpse into the life of world-renowned Chinese-American cellist Yo-Yo Ma, and the musicians behind the international performance collective, the Silk Road Project.

Live music continues to form the heart of Freespace Happening. Partnering with Kwang Hwa Information and Culture Centre as part of the Taiwan Culture Festival, Sangpuy and ABAO (Aljenljeng) will bring you the best music of indigenous Taiwan. On stage we have lots of local favourites, including Teriver Cheung’s jazz quintet, featuring Grammy award-winning saxophonist Eric Marienthal, Jason Kui, Choi Sai-ho x Kenneth Tsang x Jing Wong and returning guests WAT DE FUNK.

Around the park you can join free literature-themed activities hosted by House of Hong Kong Literature, be part of an African drum-dance, quench your thirst at Mak’s Craft Beer Academy, browse the “Hoikokdaytan 2046” handicraft market and pop-up store, and take part in all kinds of DIY workshops, like making miniature lion dance heads and bamboo flower plaques, to learning how to create eco-enzymes to make your own organic detergents, fertilisers and pet shampoos!

Plus, on Sunday, we have exciting WE Dance showcases and workshops, where you can learn Argentine Tango with our partner Otrotango Dance Company. And, don’t forget, we will also be selling copies of our first, limited-edition Freespace Mixtape Vol. 1 – with recordings by six of the local independent groups who took part in last season’s Freespace Happening.

So, bring your picnic mats and dancing shoes, and make the most of the great open spaces of the Nursery Park!

Date and time:
11 November 2017 (Saturday), 2:00pm–10:10pm
12 November 2017 (Sunday), 2:00pm–10:00pm

Venue:
Nursery Park, West Kowloon Cultural District

Free admission
Registration applicable to selected workshops

JOIN FACEBOOK EVENT PAGE

Events take place every second weekend of each month. Applications now open for Hoikokdaytan 2046 market stalls. And don’t forget to download our mobile app for updates as they’re announced.

Artists’ Application:
If you are interested in performing at Freespace Happening, please fill in the form and return it to freespacehappening@wkcda.hk.

About Freespace Happening:
Between August 2015 and March 2017, Freespace Happening attracted over 120,000 visitors to West Kowloon Nursery Park with a fun variety of free outdoor music and art activities. Our current season runs from September 2017 to March 2018 and offers audiences a mix of music, dance, street performances, markets, workshops and more. Events take place every second weekend of each month.

Upcoming Freespace Happening Events:
10 December 2017 2:00pm – 7:00pm
14 January 2018 2:00pm – 7:00pm
11 February 2018 2:00pm – 7:00pm
10 March 2018 2:00pm – 10:30pm
11 March 2018 2:00pm – 7:00pm

Programme Partners:

 

WE Dance Collaborating Partner:

 

Media Partners:

See also

秋季絕對是戶外活動的最佳季節,在苗圃公園的草地上,戶外電影院將會重臨「自由約」,放映兩齣以音樂題材為背景的電影,透過主角的經歷,讓你重拾追夢滋味!11月11日播映,改編自真人真事的台灣電影《逆光飛翔》,講述天生失明的鋼琴家黃裕翔,與夢想成為舞者的女孩,互相鼓勵、勇敢追夢的旅程。而11月12日播映的紀錄片《樂滿天下:馬友友絲路合奏團》則講述傑出華人大提琴家馬友友於2000創立「絲綢之路合奏團」的心路歷程,導演摩根尼維利以長達五年時間走訪世界各地,揭示樂手背後鮮為人知的動人故事。

除電影之外,當然不少得精彩音樂陣容。11月的「自由約」與香港光華新聞文化中心舉辦的「台灣月」合作,為觀眾帶來台灣原住民音樂人桑布伊和阿爆(阿仍仍),呈現台灣多元且豐富的音樂樣貌;香港結他手及作曲家Teriver Cheung與格林美大獎得主、國際知名爵士色士風手Eric Marienthal將破天荒合作演出;加上搖滾結他手Jason Kui、WAT DE FUNK,以及一眾本地音樂單位如蔡世豪 x 曾皿堅 x 黃靖等,為你送上源源不絕的音樂饗宴。

同場還有香港文學館的文學主題活動、非洲敲擊舞蹈展演及工作坊、麥子的「精釀啤酒學堂」、「海角地攤 2046」手作市集和pop-up store,以及各式DIY工作坊——歡迎你參與製作小型獅頭、傳統花牌,以及可用作天然清潔劑、有機肥料,並用於狗隻身上的環保酵素。

好動的朋友可於週日參加「WE Dance 展演及工作坊」,由Otrotango Dance Company帶領你感受阿根廷探戈的風情和節奏。「自由約」首張《Freespace Mixtape Vol. 1》卡式帶專輯亦將於活動當日推出,當中輯錄了於上季「自由約」進行跨類別合作的六組本地獨樂壇新星的全新作品,大家請勿錯過!

約定你,帶備心愛野餐到苗圃公園,一起「玩」轉「自由約」!

日期及時間:
11月11日(星期六),下午2時至晚上10時10分
11月12日(星期日),下午2時至晚上10時

地點:
西九文化區苗圃公園

免費入場
部份工作坊須預先登記

加入 FACEBOOK EVENT 專頁

每月逢第二個週末舉行精彩活動,「海角地攤 2046」檔主招募現正接受報名。請下載「自由約」手機程式 ,隨時隨地接收最新節目資訊。

自由約」表演申請:
如你有興趣於「自由約」表演,請填妥申請表,並電郵至freespacehappening@wkcda.hk

有關「自由約」:
西九文化區於 2015 年 8 月至 2017 年 3 月舉行免費戶外節目「自由約」,廣受大眾歡迎,吸引超過 120,000 名觀眾來到西九,參與各項精彩、互動的藝術活動。新一季「自由約」於 2017 年 9 月起載譽重臨苗圃公園,每月逢第二個週末舉行,為觀眾帶來精彩活動,包括音樂、舞蹈、市集、工作坊等。

「自由約」活動預告:
2017 年 12 月 10 日,下午2 時至晚上 7 時
2018 年 1 月 14 日,下午 2 時至晚上 7 時
2018 年 2 月 11 日,下午 2 時至晚上 7 時
2018 年 3 月 10 日,下午 2 時至晚上 10 時 30 分
2018 年 3 月 11 日,下午 2 時至晚上 7 時

項目夥伴:

 

WE Dance 合作夥伴:

 

媒體夥伴:

相關內容