The Palace Museum

Situated in the very heart of Beijing, the Palace Museum is a UNESCO World Heritage Site renowned for its vast holding of over 1.8 million artefacts including paintings, ceramics, calligraphy, and antiquities belonging to the imperial collections. The Palace Museum houses many nationally protected valuable cultural objects, but due to its huge scale only a small fraction (around 0.6%) of this extraordinary collection is able to be displayed to the public at any given time.

In the Mainland, museum collections are classified into rare and general cultural artefacts. The rare cultural artefacts are further classified into three grades. Among the 4.01 million rare cultural artefacts held in all museums (around 4,100) in the Mainland today, about 42% (about 1.68 million) belongs to the Palace Museum’s collection. The collection includes over 367,000 ceramics, over 180,000 textile pieces, 53,000 paintings, 75,000 calligraphy, 19,000 lacquer items and over 23,000 jade objects. In 2016 the Palace Museum attracted a record of 16 million visitors.

The Palace Museum and Hong Kong

In 2007, in celebration of the 10th Anniversary of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government, the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) co-organised with the Palace Museum a two-part exhibition featuring 32 masterpieces of Chinese painting and calligraphy from the Palace Museum. This exhibition attracted an overwhelming 152,000 visitors despite the short duration and space constraints of the Hong Kong Museum of Art.

In 2012, LCSD signed a collaborative agreement with the Palace Museum under which annual exhibitions are co-organised to display the rich diversity of the Palace Museum’s collection. Since then, four exhibitions have been organized and each explored a theme within the collection. These exhibitions have been extremely popular with the public attracting a total of some 430,000 visitors.

故宮博物院

故宮博物院坐落於北京的心臟地帶,獲聯合國教科文組織列為世界遺產之一,以收藏逾180萬件繪畫、陶瓷、書法和歷代皇家珍品聞名遐邇。故宮博物院的珍藏中,屬國家重點保護的珍貴文物不勝枚舉,但每次可展示給公眾的只屬所有藏品的一小部份(約0.6%)。

在內地,博物館藏品分類為罕有和一般文化文物。罕有文化文物再分為三個級別。在內地約4,100所博物館合共藏有約400多萬件罕有文化文物中,約42%(約168萬件)屬故宮博物院的館藏。館藏包括逾367,000件陶瓷、逾180,000件紡織品、53,000件畫作、75,000件書法、19,000件漆器和23,000餘件玉石器。故宮博物院於2016年破紀錄地吸引1,600萬名訪客。

故宮博物院與香港

為慶祝香港特區成立十週年,康樂及文化事務署(康文署)與故宮博物院在2007年合辦分兩期舉行的展覽,展出32幅故宮博物院所藏的書畫珍品。雖然這展覽的展期較短而且在空間有限的香港藝術館舉行,但仍熱烈地吸引了152,000人次參觀。

康文署於2012年與故宮博物院簽訂合作協議,自此雙方共合辦了四個展覽,展出故宮豐富的文物瑰寶,而每個展覽圍繞館藏的不同主題。這些展覽深受公眾歡迎,合共吸引了約43萬人次入場參觀。