He Renke, Dean and Professor, School of Design, Hunan University

He Renke is currently Dean and Professor of the School of Design at Hunan University in China and is also Director of the Chinese Industrial Design Education Committee. He is also Vice-Chair of the China Industrial Design Association. From 1987 to 1988, he was a visiting scholar at the Industrial Design Department of the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts in Copenhagen and at North Carolina State University’s School of Design from 1998 to 1999. He co-wrote The Industrial Design History of the United States (1992) and authored A History of Industrial Design (2000) and A Centennial of Product Design (2005). He was trained in civil engineering and architecture at Hunan University.

 

Takayuki Higuchi, Associate Professor, Department of Design Science, Chiba University, Japan

Takayuki Higuchi currently teaches and researches in the areas of design studies, design theory and history, Japanese design culture and contextual design in the Department of Design Science at Chiba University. Before taking this post, he had worked as an interior architect at Shimizu Corporation and later established his own studio. Higuchi contributed several entries to the Encyclopedia of Design (2003) and published his research on the linguistic conception of design – specifically the meaning of isho (“design”) – in Meiji Japan (1868-1912) in the Bulletin of Japanese Society for the Science of Design (2008). Higuchi holds a doctoral degree in design from Chiba University.

 

Kim Sang-kyu, Professor, Department of Design, Seoul National University of Science & Technology

Prior to joining the Seoul National University of Science & Technology, Kim Sang-kyu served as curator of the Hangaram Design Museum at the Seoul Arts Center and executive director of Korea Design Foundation. He has curated several exhibitions on historical and contemporary design in Korea, including ‘Design in Korea: Industry, Culture, and History’ (Gwang-ju Design Biennale, Gwang-ju, 2005), ‘Reset: Korean New Wave Design’ (ARCO, Madrid, 2007) and ‘Selling Happiness 1960s-80s: Consumer Design in Korea’ (The Korea Society, New York, 2011). Kim contributed to &Fork (2007) and authored Good Design (2013). He also conducted research on design museum management for the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism in 2012. Kim received his MFA in industrial design at Kookmin University.

 

Yanta Lam, CEO, ChinaDesign Research Work-Group

Yanta Lam served as Head of Design Unit and Product Development Manager of Meyer Manufacturing Company Limited, one of Hong Kong’s longest-standing companies, before joining The Hong Kong Polytechnic University in 1985 and becoming Professor of Design in 1999. He was one of the key advisors to the first publication on Hong Kong’s industrial design development, The History of Industrial Design in Hong Kong (2012). Lam has actively promoted design in Hong Kong and China through holding various positions, including Honorary Museum Advisor (Design) of Leisure and Cultural Services Department of the HKSAR and the Hong Kong representative of China Industrial Design Association. Since retirement in 2011, he founded ChinaDesign Research Work-Group to explore design developments in Chinese history that might have contributed to the modern concept of “eco-sustainability”.

 

Jeffrey L. Meikle, Professor, Departments of American Studies and Art History, University of Texas at Austin

Jeffrey L. Meikle is Stiles Professor of American Studies and Professor of Art History at the University of Texas at Austin. His research interests as a cultural historian include industrial design and technology, visual representation in popular print media and alternative cultures from the 1950s to the present. He has written extensively on design history and history of technology; past publications include Twentieth Century Limited: Industrial Design in America, 1925-1939 (1979), American Plastic: A Cultural History (1995) and Design in the USA (2005). Soon to be published is a visual studies book on American landscapes and cityscapes as represented in postcard views from the 1930s and 1940s. Meikle obtained his PhD in American Studies at The University of Texas at Austin.

何人可湖南大學設計藝術學院院長暨教授

何 教授現任中國湖南大學設計藝術學院院長、教育部高等學校工業設計專業教學指導分委員會主任委員及中國工業設計協會副會長。他於1987至1988年間為哥 本哈根丹麥皇家藝術學院工業設計系訪問學者;1998至1999年間為北卡羅萊納州立大學設計學院訪問學者。他的著作包括《美國工業設計史》(合 著,1992)、《工業設計史》(2000)及《產品百年》(2005)。何人可畢業於湖南大學土木工程及建築學專業。

 

樋口孝之日本千葉大學設計科學系副教授

樋 口孝之目前於千葉大學設計科學系教授和研究設計學、設計理論與歷史、日本設計文化及情境化設計。在這以前,他是清水建設株式會社的室內建築師,後來更成立 了自己的工作室。樋口孝之曾為《設計百科全書》(2003)撰寫多個條目。此外,他在《日本設計科學學會研究論文集》(2008年)刊登了他對明治時代 (1868-1912)日本設計語彙概念的研究,特別是「意匠」(即「設計」)一詞的含意。樋口孝之於千葉大學獲取設計學博士學位。

 

金相圭,國立首爾科技大學設計系教授

金相圭在加入國立首爾科技大學之前,曾擔任首爾藝術中心Hangaram設計美術館策展人及韓國設計基金會執行董事。他策劃了多個關於昔日和當今韓國設計的展覽,包括「設計在韓國:工業、文化與歷史」(光州設計雙年展,2005)、「重置:韓國新浪潮設計」(馬德里ARCO,2007)及「行銷快樂——1960-80年代的韓國消費產品設計」(駐紐約韓國協會,2011)。金氏為《&Fork》(2007)撰文及著有《好設計》(2013)。2012年他為韓國文化體育觀光部從事設計博物館管理學的研究。金相圭畢業於韓國國民大學,並取得工業設計藝術碩士學位。

 

林衍棠中國設計研究工作室總監

林衍棠曾任職美亞製造廠有限公司(香港歷史最悠久的公司之一)設計部主管及產品開發部經理,其後於1985年加入香港理工大學設計學院,並於1999年升任為正教授。他曾是首本有關香港工業設計發展書藉《香港工業設計史》(2012) 的重要顧問之一。林氏致力推動香港和中國的設計,曾擔任多個職務,包括香港康樂及文化事務署博物館榮譽顧問(設計)及中國工業設計協會香港代表。2011年退休後,他創辦了中國設計研究工作室,探索中國歷史上的設計成就如何裨益「可持續發展」之當代理念。

 

Jeffrey L. Meikle, 美國德州大學奧斯汀分校美國研究系及藝術史系教授

Jeffrey L. Meikle是美國德州大學奧斯汀分校斯泰爾斯美國研究講座教授及藝術史教授;身為文化史學家的他致力研究工業設計與科技、普及印刷媒體的視覺表現和 1950年代迄今的另類文化等範疇。Meikle撰寫大量有關設計史和科技史的論文,過往著作包括《二十世紀有限公司:1930至1940年間美國工業設 計》(1979)、《美國塑膠製品——文化史》(1995)及《設計在美國》(2005)。他的下一部著作為論述二十世紀30及40年代明信片上所呈現的 美國風景和城市景觀的視覺研究書籍。Meikle於美國德州大學奧斯汀分校獲取美國研究的博士學位。