Ming Wong’s live performance Looking at the Stars is the latest chapter in his ongoing research into the seemingly opposite realms of Cantonese opera and science fiction. Rooted in Wong’s interest in exploring the meeting of cinema, theatre, gender representation, and the intricate dance between language and translation, the performance draws inspiration from Andrei Tarkovsky’s genre-bending cinematic classic Solaris (1972) to tell a new kind of story. It also serves as an experimental exploration that will inform Wong’s staging of a full-fledged sci-fi influenced Cantonese opera production in the coming year. 

Looking at the Stars is a collaborative effort developed through workshops between Wong and a group of Hong Kong-based collaborators – young Cantonese opera actors, musicians, and specialists with whom he aims to further engage for the next phase of his research. With the help of a team of theatre lighting and sound designers, the resulting collection of gestures, images, and specially-written Cantonese opera passages – performed by female actors as a nod to traditional cross-gender roles – are staged with the atmospheric intensity of the deserted space station in Solaris. Moving in and out of different languages and styles, Looking at the Stars is an experimental piece that explores the idea of ‘live performance’ beyond a defined context or genre, and probe into the possible overlap between two different art forms.

Date: 
12 and 13 December 2015 (Saturday and Sunday)

Time: 
12 December, 8pm
13 December, 5pm

Venue: 
Multimedia Theatre, School of Creative Media (Run Run Shaw Creative Media Centre, 18 Tat Hong Avenue, Kowloon Tong )

Language:
Cantonese and English (with English and Cantonese subtitles)

Free admission with limited capacity. First-come, first-served. 

REGISTER NOW

Application will be closed by 7 December 2015 

Enquiries: 
(852)2200-0135 (Ms So), liveart@wkcda.hk

Adverse Weather Arrangement:
Programme will be cancelled if a black rainstorm warning or a typhoon signal no. 8 or above is still in force 2 hours before the event starts.

*The organiser reserves the right to change the programme and artists. All changes will be announced on the website.

Artists:

Ming Wong (Singaporean, born 1971)

Ming Wong studied Chinese Art at the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts, Singapore, and Fine Art Media at the Slade School of Fine Art, University College London. Wong’s videos and installations explore the intersections of language, identity, and performance. In his signature methodology, he casts himself as every character in a story—playing male and female roles as well as characters of different ages and races—and mimics various behaviours, right down to learning different languages. Though untrained as an actor, he has embarked on an artistic practice that is at once highly influenced by cinema and is in constant dialogue with measures of performativity, gender, and difference. For our Mobile M+: Live Art commission, Wong has created a new piece based on research he is conducting in Hong Kong surrounding Cantonese opera. This performance, the newest chapter in his ongoing investigation into merging science fiction with Chinese opera traditions, features actors, musicians, and scholars that Wong has identified as potential collaborators for his full-scale Cantonese opera staging scheduled for completion in 2016.

Venue Partner:

cityU_30th logoSCM_logo_2013

Venue

See also

黃漢明的新作《仰望星空》是他近年對粵劇和科幻這兩個看似對立的領域的最新探索,並扎根於他長久以來對電影、劇場、性別表現、語言以及翻譯間複雜關係的關注。本次表演的靈感源自安德烈・塔可夫斯基深具哲理思維的經典太空科幻作品《星球梭那里斯》(1972),以實驗探索的精神,黃漢明挪用電影中不同的元素來訴說出一段全新的故事。這次的演出將讓觀眾一窺藝術家準備在來年上演的一齣科幻粵劇全本式創作。

本作品為黃漢明與一眾香港的年輕粵劇演員、音樂家,以及粵劇專家共同透過工作坊的方式所發展出來的創作,也同時為他下一個階段的研究與創作鋪路。藝術家更將與協製團隊中的舞台燈光和聲音設計師合作,以光和聲音的效果在舞台上重塑《星球梭那里斯》中荒廢太空站的氛圍。作為一項跨界的實驗,《仰望星空》通過角色的身段、專門編寫的粵劇對白和傳統戲劇中的反串元素,遊走於不同的語言和風格之間,旨在突破「現場演出」的既定內容和概念,從中探索兩種截然不同的藝術形式間的可能性。

日期
12月12日至13日(星期六及星期日)

時間 
12月12日晚上8時
12月13日下午5時

場地
創意媒體學院多媒體劇場 (達康路18號邵逸夫創意媒體中心)

語言:
粵語及英語 (附英語及粵語字幕)

免費入場,名額有限,先到先得

請即登記

截止登記日期為  2015 年 12 月 7 日

查詢﹕
蘇小姐 (852) 2200-0135, liveart@wkcda.hk

惡劣天氣安排﹕
若活動前兩小時黑色暴雨、八號風球或更高風球訊號仍然生效時,活動將會取消。

*主辦單位保留更改節目及表演者的權利,請留意本網頁的最新公佈。


藝術家

黃漢明(新加坡,生於 1971 年)

黃漢明曾分別於新加坡南洋藝術學院和倫敦大學學院修讀中國藝術和媒體藝術。他的錄影和裝置藝術探索語言、身份和表演之間的交集。而將自身化作故事中的角色正是他常用的表達手法,扮演故事中的不同的性別、年齡和種族的角色,並模仿不同的行為,甚至各種語言。雖然他未曾接受過任何演員的訓練,但他的表演卻受到了電影的深遠影響,並從其差異中找出了遊走於表演性和性別定位間的創作。黃漢明根據他近年在香港所進行的粵劇研究,為「M+ 進行:藝活」創作一件全新的委約作品,也是他現正進行中的長期計劃的一部份,探索如何將科幻小說與粵劇傳統結合的最新作品;他目前也正在籌備於 2016 年完成一齣全本的粵劇演出。

合作夥伴﹕

cityU_30th logoSCM_logo_2013

查看更多

地點

相關內容